We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience - highly recommend!”
Review of Osteria del Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Osteria del Borgo
Ranked #11 of 44 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience - highly recommend!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We bounced around Italy for a week and a half in October 2013 (Venice, Florence, Cinque Terre, Rome and Montepulciano) and this was our favorite place, both hotel and city, that we stayed. We decided to add Montepulciano to our trip itinerary at the last minute and were so glad we did. Osteria del Borgo is charming, beautiful and cozy and the family that runs it could not be more welcoming. They were eager to answer any of our questions and accommodated us in every aspect. Their fantastic service and accommodations made us fall in love with the area - we will definitely be back! Highly suggest taking a day to just wander around Montepulciano and check out all of the wine cellar tours. Also, eat one of your meals at the Osteria del Borgo restaurant as well - the food was fantastic!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    55
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
104
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Richland, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had reserved online and confirmed our reservation (through Venere.com) in August for a November stay. When we contacted the hotel as requested to provide our time of arrival, we were told our reservation had been lost and our room already rented. They promptly found us a room in a very nice hotel down the street, and offered us free breakfast and discounts in their restaurant and wine shop. We had an outstanding dinner with great service, they have an excellent wine selection.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Pros:
- Fantastic hospitality, very friendly and helpful when we were lost driving into Montepulciano (spoke great english)
- Located right by the main square in the heard of Montepulciano, very close to shops and restaurants (although Montepulciano is quite small and most places would be walking distance anyway). B&B comes with free parking which is very close by - about 100metres away. You can park out the out front to drop your bags off first and then drive down to the car park. The hotel will provide you with a parking ticket which you display on your dashboard to allow you to drive and park within the ZTL.
- Large, elegant rooms which are traditionally furnished in a beautiful old building. Our room had a sitting room which had magnificent views over the valley.

Cons:
- The room we booked had a bathroom which are located next door to our room. Only the residents of that room had access but it was inconvenient to have to unlock the bathroom door every time we wanted to use it.
- Rooms are located about 3 stories upstairs. Walking up with our baggage was ok for us but if you are older or have mobility issues (or children) it wouldn't be ideal.
- Not sure if it gets hot enough to use but the room didn't have air-conditioning. We were there in October and didn't need it but maybe get hot in summer.

Overall, highly recommended B&B in the heart of Montepulciano for those without mobility issues.
Keep in mind, Montepulciano is very hilly. Although distance wise the B&B is very close to shops and restuarants it's a big uphill walk back from the street where most restaurants are located (and obviously downhill on the way there).

Room Tip: Ask for the room without the separate bathroom. Also the building is very old and we had a black sco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piggy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in the family suite and had a perfect place for my wife and I, and our two grown sons. The location is great, the hosts welcoming, and the restaurant on site delicious with a beautiful view of the countryside. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at the Osteria del Borgo for two nights at the end of 3 week Mediterranean vacation. It was perfect! We were given parking close to the hotel. As others have mentioned, there is no elevator but that is part of the charm of this old Tuscan building. We were booked for a two bedroom unit but came to find out it was actually three so we had more room to spread out. The simple breakfast is perfect for starting your day...prosciutto, bread, jams, toast and delicious cappuccino. What more could you ask for?

Be prepared for long leisurely walks uphill to reach the Osteria after your day of exploring. It is located at the top of Montepulciano in the Piazza Grande. But well worth it for the comfort and value! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgholloman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

On family vacation of sight seeing in Tuscano, our first Stay was in the unique town of Montepulciano. Since there is limited driving allowed on the street where the hotel property is located seemed tricky to get to by car. After phoning the property, one staff member was able to meet at our waiting location and had us follow him on his scooter to the front of the property... a very nice service! He showed us where to park for the night and helped us Check in and showed us a tour of the apartment for our overnight stay. We rented the three bedroom with the wood rafter ceilings and brick accents on the walls, and had several flights of stairs to reach our top floor, to Apartment 5. Although there was no Air Conditioning, the place kept a comfortable temperature on our summer night stay. We did not have the Tuscan hill view, but could hear the beautiful singing from the near by school, which made it a memorable Italian experience.
We did not use the kitchen much, but did appreciate & use the frig. The shower downstairs was tight, tubelike, a bit comical trying to wash hair and not hit elbows on the sides, but was do-able for a night. The upstairs bath offered a bathtub only (no shower curtain), two sinks, and a skylight offering natural light, towels and toiletries for use.
The staff was very nice. The front entry picnic style tables were inviting. We did wine tasting offered by the staff there,and they even had a fancy wine dispenser they seemed proud of ! They were observant enough to notice our teenager was a "Twilight" fan. He graciously shared an authentic Twilight script book for our teen to look over. He shared some filming facts with our teen, and told her how some of the crew stayed in the apartment we rented. Of course, she was thrilled with all this information, and it was such a nice gesture for the staff to include her and entertain her with the Twilight book !
The morning breakfast was a private food spread (we were the only guests at that hour of breakfast). The table was preset with tortas, bread, crostini, jam, proscuito, salami, aqua, and of course we ordered cappuccini before we hit the road.
Great hospitality by the staff, graze ! We would stay at this comfortable property again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night, and had a fabulous stay. Montepulciano is a beautiful little town, if very very steep! The hotel is in the best location, right next to the square (a stones throw from where Twilight New Moon was filmed, for any fans!), our windows looked right onto it. We only booked a standard room with external bathroom, but were shown to a huge apartment with full living room, kitchen, bedroom, and bathroom with a jacuzzi bath! it was lovely decorated in rustic Tuscan style, and very comfortable, the rooms are so quiet we had the best sleep of our week!
The restaurant has a patio with the most amazing views over the surrounding countryside and vineyards! Breakfast was lovely, especially the cakes!
Would love to one day return to this amazing place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitleybay1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo Duomo
Albergo Duomo
#10 of 28 in Montepulciano
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
#11 of 28 in Montepulciano
271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Il Marzocco
Albergo Il Marzocco
#19 of 28 in Montepulciano
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
#3 of 44 in Montepulciano
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Nobile di San Donato Luxury B&B Residenza d'Epoca
Palazzo Nobile di San Donato Lux...
#12 of 44 in Montepulciano
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osteria del Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osteria del Borgo

Property: Osteria del Borgo
Address: Via Ricci 7, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Osteria del Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osteria Del Borgo Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing