We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Self catering at its best”
Review of Osteria del Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Osteria del Borgo
Ranked #11 of 45 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Self catering at its best”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

A group of colleagues rented two apartments right in the middle of Montepulciano, and it was a great experience. Our apartment had two double bedrooms and a cute attic single, each with ensuite and ti y private sitting rooms.The other apartment had three doubles. The views were to die for, the kitchens well equipped, the decor charming, the beds comfy. A basic breakast is provided in the bar, and parking spots ( like gold in Montepulciano) are provided.minor complaints concerned burnt out light bulb not replaced etc. Otherwise a fabulous place to stay with family or colleagues.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_souter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    53
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
101
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We were just amazed with our luck as soon as got up the stairs and he opened the door for us. Our flat was enormous! Myself, my wife and our teenage daughter: 2 bedrooms upstairs with double-beds each and another bedroom downstairs with a double-bed. 2 bathrooms: upstairs with a jacuzzi bathtub and joining doors to both bedrooms; downstairs with a tiny shower with horizontal jets.

The kitchen was a lot more than a kitchenette with a full stove and amenities. A nice dining area where we ate often.

There is a big living room with 2 sofas where we spent most of our time. An old television is in the room with a fuzzy satellite reception. But that's not why we were there on holiday.

The windows look directly over the road leading to the Piazza Grande (via Ricci) with a great view of the Piazza itself. On one of our nights there was a big exclusive show at the Piazza which was closed off to any but paying customers. We got to watch the show from the comfort of our window sill, for free, right up to the fireworks!

Montepulciano, and this apartment, are not for the weak-legged. The town is nothing but hills, very steep ones, and the hotel/piazza is on the top which means it's always an uphill walk home and then we had about 4 flights of stairs as our apartment was at the top.

Breakfast is included and is a very simple affair (orange juice, biscuits, Italian croissants and your choice of real coffee prepared on demand). We had capuccino each morning and took it up to the tables with an amazing view over the hills.

The staff was one extreme or the other: either they spoke excellent English or they could not speak or understand a word of it.

Free parking is also included which is priceless as Montepulciano is impossible for parking. We left the car in the parking for most of the week, a 2-minute walk down the street at the piazza Francesco, and appreciated not having to worry about it.

Free wireless Internet, working throughout the apartment, is also included and we had iPads, iPhones, iPod Touches and laptops all working.

We left a day earlier than expected and "la Padrona" was kind enough to knock off a night from our bill which was already very reasonable (200 Euros per night, in high season, for the week).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCEFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

My wife and I made a trip through the Toscana and we stayed at various places. Among the different hotels we had chosen the Osteria del Borgo was the absolute highlight.

First of all Montepulciano is one of the loveliest and most romantic places in the Toscana: a small medieval town, perched on the top of a hill. Most people will know it (or better its Palazzo Comunale) as stand in for the city of Volterra in the blockbuster movie "Twilight: New Moon".

Secondly, the Osteria del Borgo is right at the centre of this fantastic place. It offers four spacious flats. Ours had a full-fledged kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom with jacuzzi. The rooms were clean and furnished with antique looking furniture which gave the room a cosy, yet elegant feel. Montepulciano is very calm at night so that we caught our well deserved sleep.

The room rate (we payed EUR 100 per night) included Italian breakfast, i.e. coffee and cake, brioches. The Osteria is not a restaurant, but offers simple, yet very good dishes (sandwiches and pasta).

The Osteria offers free parking about 100 yards down the road in front of a church, but travellers beware: Montepulciano is a maze of one-way streets and our GPS receiver got it all wrong.

We had two wonderful nights and enjoyed Montepulciano and all the wonderful locations nearby.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robodog11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

We stayed here for only one night and wished we could have stayed longer. Our wonderful room was simply gorgeous and down one step was a small living area with the most beautiful view of the the Tuscan hills out of two nice-sized windows. The people were very warm and friendly and the food in the restaurant on the terrace with the same gorgeous views was some of the best we had in Tuscany. The room was only 80Euros a night. We stayed in Radda at a place that was 4 times as much and offered neither the views, the charm and the great food of the del Borgo.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saipanlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Our apartment was very roomy and cozy and had a sleeping room and two bathrooms, one with a jacuzzi. It seems very recently renovated. Initially we had booked for two days, but liked the apartment so much that we extended the stay for two more days.
The upper apartment has a view, and the sunset in the restaurant terrace was spectacular.
The place is run by a small family. They do not speak English very well, so you will probably need to get directions and tips from another place.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agnesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
#9 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
#3 of 45 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Locanda di San Francesco
La Locanda di San Francesco
#1 of 45 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Carletti
Palazzo Carletti
#6 of 45 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osteria del Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osteria del Borgo

Property: Osteria del Borgo
Address: Via Ricci 7, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Osteria del Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osteria Del Borgo Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing