We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view, overrated room”
Review of La Pievina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Pievina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The location of La Pievina is absolutly amazing. The view from the garden is really beautiful, and with a book and glass of wine very relaxing.

In our opinion the room wasn't so great. It was hot, dusty and moisty because it is hard to ventilate.To keep the warmth out you have to leave the double doors closed during the day. These doors are the only way to ventilate the room. At night you can open the doors for some fresh air, but then you shouldn't be afraid of all the bugs and insects that like to visit your room
Next to that problem the bed was very old en not very comfertable.

The fact that the owners of La Pievina didn't speak a word of English made it hard to communicate. Any questions that we had could not be answered. With some help and the little Italian that we speak there were no problems, but we missed just a little bit of communication.

Maybe we have the wrong idea about 'agriturismo', but we found that the only 'agri-part' was the location. The farm next to La Pievina produces wine and olive oil (we think), but there was no possibility to see, taste or buy any of their products. The language barrier was maybe part of that...

All toghether our three days in La Pievina were okay, for the biggest part because of the location.
The accomodation was oke, but by far not as great as we tought...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

Only left this morning 25/7...3 nights here was very relaxing. The view at Sunset over a glass of wine is very peacefull. The room was a good size, very clean and a big bathroom. Breakfast is minimal bu nice homecooked cakes, freshly made capucinos, cereal, fruit and yoghurt. The hosts are lovely, we had our 13 year old with us in a single bed and it fitted in easily. No wifi, but who needs it with that view. 10 minute drive to Montepulciano. Would recommend to everyone and what a great price

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeGOAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

La Pievina was the perfect setting for an introduction to Tuscany. Just minutes outside of Montepulciano, it provided us the tranquility and beauty of the countryside with the creature comforts of home but the excellent restaurants of Montepulciano nearby if we chose to eat out.

Our 2 bedroom apartment was extremely clean, well-appointed, and comfortable. The kitchen had everything needed for cooking full meals, and the oil, spices, coffee and sugar provided were most welcome for our short stay. Linens provided were ample and of top quality. The views from the terrace and bedrroms are stupendous. Only things to be aware of...no wifi reception that we know of...but we were supposed to be taking a break, right? And remember this is a working farm so you pretty much have your place to yourself, which we really enjoyed. We had a few chilly nights and the heating worked beautifully.

We enjoyed taking our breakfast in the very small breakfast room, where the home-made goods are exceptional and the cups of coffee get refilled as many times as needed to get you started right for the day. If the room is too small to your taste, you can take your breakfast to the patio or your apartment if you prefer.

We can't wait to come stay here again. Mille Grazie!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klondike01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Our apartment was spacious, comfortable, nicely furnished and well equipped. The location is excellent, tranquil rural setting, but close to Montepulciano and other hill towns/attractions.

Breakfast was delicious: fresh coffee, cakes and homemade jams.
The owner was warm, welcoming and friendly!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My husband, 2yr old son, and my husband's parents all travelled together in Italy in October 2011 and we spent 1 wonderful week in the 2 bedroom apartment at La Pievina. The apartment was perfect for our family and the addition of Sonia's wonderful homemade wine and olive oil and a few extra treats made it even better. We loved this location as it allowed us to easily do day trips to Montepulciano, Pienza, Montalcino, and even Sienna. With a 2 year old it was great to have our own kitchen and space so we could come back for his nap in the afternoon. The family that runs this agroturismo is just lovely and gave us a warm welcome. I was so glad that Sonia was ready and waiting when we arrived from the airport even though it was after 11pm.

The apartment was beautiful and had all the amenities we needed to cook and Sonia provided the basics for coffee. There's a grocery store just in town where we were able to stock up as we like to cook. We had our own outdoor space where we could grill, enjoy a meal or just a glass of wine and watch the sunset. The beds were very comfortable and Sonia provided a "pack and play"/crib for our son to use (we requested that in our reservation). The bathroom and shower were also great.

The farm which is run by Sonia's husband's parents was a great treat for my son also. He got to feed the cows, see a pig, and pet some rabbits all of which he was really excited to do. In the afternoon he always wanted to see the "Mukas"! Sonia doesn't speak a lot of english but it was not a problem for us as my father-in-law is from Italy. I would go back without him in a second though as I know we could muddle through with a phrasebook etc to communicate the basics. Sonia is so great that I wouldn't worry much about the language barrier if you're even the slightest bit adventurous!

We can't say enough nice things about La Pievina and the wonderful family who run it. The next time we visit the hill towns of Tuscany we will be sure to try and stay here again.

Room Tip: There are 2 one bedroom hotel type apartments below which have breakfast included and served at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlsnowbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Felipe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
447 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli
1 mi away
Agriturismo Nobile
Agriturismo Nobile
#2 of 78 in Montepulciano
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Podere Le Manzinaie
Podere Le Manzinaie
#3 of 78 in Montepulciano
332 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agriturismo la Corte Del Cavalierino
Agriturismo la Corte Del Cavalie...
#10 of 78 in Montepulciano
50 reviews
1.5 mi away
Agriturismo Villa Mazzi
Agriturismo Villa Mazzi
#11 of 78 in Montepulciano
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pievina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pievina

Address: Via di Totona 32, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Montepulciano
Price Range: £67 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pievina is a small family-run farmhouse that belongs to a farming business estate set into the tuscan countryside, 3 km away from the enchanted historical center of Montepulciano, one of the most important small town of the tuscan Renaissance overlooking a huge, unique, scenic view on the whole surrounding hills and churches. The family farming business estate of la Pievina is constituted by 24,7 acres of vineyard, orchad, olive tree grove, vegetable garden and is based mostly on cattle breeding. La Pievina farmhouse, is placed in a panoramic location and it is simple to reach by a paved road. La Pievina farmhouse is constituted by 1 apartment (IL PERO) for 4/6 guests and two separate private access bedrooms (GLI ULIVI and I CIPRESSI), 2 guests each. "Il Pero" is formed of: 1 living room with a fireplace, 1 well-equipped kitchen, 2 double bedrooms, 1 bathroom with shower. It is possible to get additional sleeping accomodations for 2 other persons. "Gli Ulivi" and "I Cipressi" are both constituted by: 1 double bedroom and 1 bathroom with shower. All rooms are stocked with towels and sheets. In the outside there is a spacious furnished area where to stay or have a barbecue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Pievina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing