We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved La Falconara”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montepulciano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agriturismo La Falconara
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Corvallis
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved La Falconara”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

La Falconara was my favorite of the five places we stayed on our 3 week trip to Italy. The location just outside Montepulciano is very convenient, and the grounds, view and local area are beautiful. The farmhouse is surrounded by olive orchards and vineyards and has a lovely garden and pool. Our apartment was spacious, charming and comfortable and equipped with everything we needed. But the highlight was the hosts, Alex and Ingrid. They are very warm, welcoming, delightful people. They speak good English, and they were extremely helpful with recommendations for restaurants, places to go, and things to do. They made dinner reservations for us several nights, and they provided maps, guidebooks, and itineraries for the areas around Montepulciano. They were fun and interesting to talk with. I was really sad when we had to leave and wished we were staying longer. There is a lot to see in that area, and we didn’t have time to see it all. I highly recommend La Falconara if you are looking for an agriturismo in Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alifeyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renton
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We made our first visit to La Falconara in 2008, and found it to be nothing short of perfect. The location is beautiful, the apartment was charming and comfortable. Alex and Ingrid took care of our every need, from arranging train transportation, and for a car rental and having the attendant be there during "off" hours to greet us. Montelpuciano is centrally located to many of the other nearby hill towns, but we found that Montelpuciano is our favorite. The farmhouse, with its magnificent view of surrounding vineyards could be the cover photo for a travel magazine. We are looking forward to going back again in 2015. We could not have been happier with our hosts and their lovely home!

Room Tip: You'll be happy with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RibbitRenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our first trip to Italy and we were fortunate to have found La Falconara. The owners were so helpful, warm and gracious. They welcomed us like family and were always available to provide recommendations and helpful hints. Our apartment was well equipped and comfortable, the grounds were lovely and well groomed and the view is spectacular.

La Falconara is only minutes away from Montepulcino and centrally located for touring the Tuscan countryside and the many surrounding hill towns. We were provided with a wealth of information including maps, directions and suggested itineraries for our stay. They go out of their way to make sure you get the most out of your visit.

Thank you Alex and Ingrid for making our stay in Tuscany so memorable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northsider345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is our third visit to La Falconara and Montepulciano! It was wonderful to see Alex and Ingrid again and this time we brought our two kids and our grandson. Alex could not have been a more gracious host and our grandson loved the vineyards and Alex's tractor! We thoroughly enjoyed Montepulciano and had some wonderful meals and much too much gelato!

We highly recommend this wonderful location and Alex and Ingrid's warm hospitality and lovely accommodations! We're already planning a Fall trip back to La Falconara. We truly left our hearts in the beautiful countryside and consider it our home in Tuscany. Dennis & Renata Clark

Room Tip: Put yourself in Alex's hands for all information on the best time to visit, local festivals, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nampa, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

It was 2005 when we happened to make our first La Falconara reservation. Having found the correct turnoff from the paved road leading to Montepulciano, we crept in awe through hundreds of rows of heavily freighted Sangiovese vines; we rolled past the huge Italian Stone Pine (Pinus pinea) to our right on the knoll above our destination, then down into the little parking area surrounded by roses and genista, not far from the stone house. Partly our leisurely progress was that we didn't want to arrive (rudely) in a cloud of road-dust, partly it was that the scenery still had us completely wide-eyed.

And suddenly there was Alex, animated, matter-of-factly pruning rose bushes, now walking across to greet us and invite us into our apartment. Let me insert an observation here about the nature of apartments: My opinion is that no matter how skilled any luxury hotel's maid, you as guest somehow know that you are one of hundreds of visitors, that your room is one of dozens she or her team has processed that day. At La Falconara agriturismo there are three apartments (all of which we've inspected, two of which we have enjoyed over the years), each of which is tended with grace and affection. Each place demonstrates the essence of Tuscan hospitality.

Between drives to Siena or Cortona, or maybe down the highway to Pienza or on into Umbria, plan to reserve time for a midday trek through vineyards and olive groves and past country homes, up to Montepulciano. Take a day for it (open-ended, to allow you time to enjoy coffee or gelato, to savor the evening's passagiata, at least two hours for supper... and still find your way back). Maybe two miles each way of a gently climb. Ask about the farmers' market day.

Find prices and seasons on their site; it's La and Falconara run together, but with It instead of Com after the period. And when you go, do give Alex and Ingrid our warmest regards (Eric & Michele).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CynSwave
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I had the pleasure of staying with Alex and Ingrid this summer while my two girlfriends and I toured Italy. Alex and Ingrid are two warm, caring, knowledgeable and wickedly funny people. My favorite part of our trip was our time spent with them in Montepulciano.

Alex took us on a vineyard tour, as well as an olive oil tour- and did an amazing cooking class our last night. You will never tire of their witty stories!

The room was quite comfortable and the kitchen was well stocked with a market close by. If you are staying in Tuscany, this is the place! Gorgeous landscapes, a pool, grapevines and olive trees -plus Alex's lovely roses make for a Tuscan heaven!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynSwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed with Alex and Ingrid for a week. The weather was cool but the hospitality provided by Alex and Ingrid could not have been warmer. Alex took the time to provide us a lesson on wine, olive oil, the vine yard and all the fine things Italian. He gave us great advice on off the beaten path villages and places to visit. Alex even gave us a cooking lesson including fresh pasta, sage and his homemade tomato sauce. We loved walking around Montepulciano and driving the back roads getting from place to place. Alex and Ingrid are worth the trip to Montepulciano.

Nick and Michelle

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niko1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
3.6 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
249 reviews
3.6 mi away
Agriturismo la Corte Del Cavalierino
2.2 mi away
Agriturismo Nobile
Agriturismo Nobile
#1 of 78 in Montepulciano
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Agriturismo La Terra
Agriturismo La Terra
#4 of 44 in Montepulciano
103 reviews
5.5 mi away
Podere Le Manzinaie
Podere Le Manzinaie
#3 of 78 in Montepulciano
316 reviews
2.7 mi away
Agriturismo Il Casalone
Agriturismo Il Casalone
#13 of 78 in Montepulciano
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo La Falconara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo La Falconara

Property: Agriturismo La Falconara
Address: Via delle Badelle 3 | Via delle Badelle 3, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privileged and strategic geographic location of the La Falconara, very close to Montepulciano in central South Eastern Tuscany, permits you to visit the many marvellous places on day trips (Pienza, San Quirico, Cortona, Arezzo, Montalcino, Perugia, Siena, Firenze). During your stay at La Falconara, we offer you plenty of material regarding suggestions and itineraries, the "secret roads", guides and maps to the towns and cities. Including information (and the reservations) to the many Thermal Baths and Beauty Centres. Plus our restaurant recommendations. Encircled by the gorgeous hills of the province of Siena, our guests can tour our many world renowned wineries that produce only Estate Grown Wines, the prince of which is Vino Nobile di Montepulciano DOCG. Amusements and Comforts of La Falconara:- An attractive swimming pool (60 mt2), with a beautiful view (shallow part is 1,20 mt or 4 ft. deep)- Bocce field - Barbecue area, with tables and benches, which can be lit by night - Old wood oven- Kites, badminton, mountain bikes - Children's playground (toboggan and swing). We are pet friendly: your dog is welcome! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing