We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in time, in a good way”
Review of Palazzo Carletti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Carletti
Ranked #7 of 44 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2013

It is not your usual hotel with a non-descript front desk and plastic people welcoming you. This feels like someone's home without the loving-hands-at-home smells and sights, a perfect combination of state-of-the-art bathroom with an immaculate and large guestroom. We stayed in #4 and after a day's driving we were exhausted but Christian's warm welcome and restaurant suggestions were on the spot. The breakfast in the large room the next day was delicious and just the right amount of everything. Parking is something Christian is working on as they have a new lot and he will be posting the map to all new guests. Elegant, friendly, user-friendly and just plain terrific. We will be back.

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are pretty spectacular. Hard to go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyKLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2013

It took ua a bit until we have found this incredible hideaway Hotel in the upper floor of the old palace.
After the warm welcome we where very impressed from our lovely room, being a great mixture of
modern design and beautiful style of the old Palace.
I have loved the paintings. Our room was very well equiped with espresso maschine, minibar with a good sortiment, large flat-TV and luxury bathroom with light design.
Breakfast was very nice. Location central and the Hotel carpark close to walk.
The view out of some rooms was stunning.

Room Tip: Take the room with the view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seehofzellamsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This hotel was the best thing about our 10 days Italy trip. I strongly recommend it.

The cleanest bathrooms ever. Wonderful service. Christian was an excellent host.

Me and my family, we stayed in the rooms Double Superior Alfieri and Leopoldo III. Both rooms are spacious, very clean and decorated with elegance. High floors, painted ceilings... It felt like a palace. The breakfast was excellent and the silver cutlery was a nice detail. Parking facility is a plus.

Montepulciano is a lovely, perfect town but Palazzo Carletti is even better than Montepulciano.

Room Tip: Even the cheapest room, Double Superior Alfier is heavenly in terms of space, cleanliness and luxury...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gizemshakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying with Christian at Palazzo Carletti and highly recommend it if you intend to stay in Montepulciano. Christian was an excellent host and made us feel extremely welcome and provided insight on the town and the surrounding areas. The Palazzo is conveniently located on the main street and with dedicated parking nearby it is easy to access via car. The room itself was grand with frescoes on the walls and ceiling and all of the expected modern necessities. The common area was thoroughly appealing and has an outstanding district view. We look forward to staying with Christian again when we are next in Montepulciano.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Palazzo Carletti and Montepulciano are our perfect getaway and base for touring Tuscany. We loved it so much that we had to return 2 years after our first visit. Everything here is perfect. From the minute you walk in to the reception and lounge are with its high ceilings and beautifully restored frescoes ceilings you are then taken to your room which takes your breath away - stunning frescoes on the ceiling and exquisite furnishings and details to the room, including a gorgeous bathroom and upstairs annex for our two teenagers. The attention to detail is wonderful and Christian is a delight to deal with. Hopefully we can return again in another two years. To make the visit complete you must dine locally at Osteria Acquacheta for the best steak Florentine you will ever have.

Room Tip: We had the only room suitable for a family of 4 and it was sensational. We all loved it,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lburnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Palazzo Carletti was recommend by some friends so we had some idea of how wonderful it was. In fact,on arrival it was even better than we expected. A unique hotel with only 5 rooms but within a former residence within the town of montepulciano, it is a perfect place to be based for few days to explore Tuscany, knowing that at the end of each day you return to your own private oasis with restored frescos on incredibly high ceilings and a lounge area that is extremely relaxing. The hotel manger Christian is a pleasure to deal with and we will definitely be returning as soon as we possibly can. The one thing to be aware of is hat it is up a couple of flights of stairs so access may be an issue for some. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We recently returned from Italy and stayed at this wonderful place as part of our trip. Montepulciano is a lovely hill town in Tuscany and our stay at PaLazzo Carletti made our trip even better. It is a small place with only about 5 rooms, but the rooms are excellent. The bathrooms are modern even though the rooms have retained a historic look and feel. Overall, our room was big and comfortable, and also beautiful. We also greatly appreciated the free wi fi in our room. All the other hotels we stayed in on our trip required that we pay for wifi. Breakfast was included along with free beverages from the mini bar.

This is the perfect place to stay! it is a steep walk up the hill to reach it, but everything in Montepulciano is a steep walk. We didn't mind the walk at all, we needed it after eating way too much pasta! We hope to return next year!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midmichtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0 mi away
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
#11 of 28 in Montepulciano
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
#2 of 44 in Montepulciano
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Il Tosco
Il Tosco
#1 of 44 in Montepulciano
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Locanda di San Francesco
La Locanda di San Francesco
#3 of 44 in Montepulciano
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residenza Fabroni
Residenza Fabroni
#17 of 44 in Montepulciano
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Carletti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Carletti

Address: Via Dell'Opio Nel Corso 3, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range: £117 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Carletti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing