We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique vineyard”
Review of Avignonesi

Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Chianciano Evo Oil and Montepulciano Wine Tour...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come visit Avignonesi, where our motto is "terroir speaks; we listen." Visit our cellars, taste our wines, talk to our people, learn about the philosophy behind our winemaking. Please contact us by email with any questions. Reservations are necessary for tours but not to taste our wines and make your purchases in our Cellar Door!
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

This vineyard has a special method of growing grapes. One example is a circular area where all of the vines are strategically planted forming triangles allowing the large wheeled harvesters to move through.
They also use cow horns filled with quartz and manure, buried in the ground.

1  Thank Jared F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages
All reviews
"wine tour"
in 58 reviews
"our waiter"
in 11 reviews
"course meal"
in 14 reviews
"wine paired"
in 8 reviews
"gourmet lunch"
in 9 reviews
"drying room"
in 8 reviews
"dining room"
in 14 reviews
"glass of prosecco"
in 7 reviews
"multi course"
in 5 reviews
"cooking class"
in 18 reviews
"five star"
in 5 reviews
"great tour"
in 15 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful location"
in 6 reviews
"amazing lunch"
in 6 reviews
"bought bottles"
in 6 reviews
"hour tour"
in 5 reviews

46 - 50 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

We had a large group and thought we had registered for a wine tour and lunch. Unlike others posting here, our "lunch" consisted of bruschetta, bread, a few slices of meat and cheese. While the tour was interesting and the wine tasty, we felt a bit disappointed and hungry after spending over 600 euro for the group. So perhaps we chose the wrong Potok and there is a larger more substantial meal available. I'd say be sure you know what you are getting!

2  Thank Garciajaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvignonesiTeam, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Avignonesi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear sir,
We're very sorry to hear that your visit at Avignonesi didn't turn out to be what you expected.
I inquired about what happened and it appears that your disappointment could have been caused by a miscommunication with your travel agent; to whom we offered either the midday tours followed by the wine lover's lunch or the simplified version of wine tasting with Tuscan cold cuts. The later was confirmed, though.
We do realize how frustrating it could have been when you were expecting something, and you were given something else.
Nonetheless, you had the opportunity to taste our most expensive wines. We hope you enjoy them and look forward to your next visit. To avoid any misunderstanding in the future, do not hesitate to deal directly with our hospitality desk at info@avignonesi.it ; our staff will ensure that your expectations will be met.
Best regards,
Avignonesi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Irene took us on an well-delivered tour of the vineyard; it was very interesting to hear about the vineyard's philosophy as well as their viticulture process. Irene spoke excellent English, of which we were very appreciative!
We also had the light lunch offered by the vineyard; we had both the vegetarian and non-vegetarian platters, both were incredibly tasty!
The tasting was very good, and the wines superb.
It was a very pleasant and enjoyable afternoon.
Highly recommend.

2  Thank HamzahPasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Of the beaton track, the winery offers excellent wines and it additional there is a choice of a light meal or a food and wine pairing. The latter requires booking and a few hours. The wines are excellent from a pure Sangiovese, a pure Merlot, which is as good as the grape variety can get. Two other wines stood out, or should I say three. There is a 50:50 which is made with another estate, being a half blend of Merlot from Avignonesi and half Shiraz from Capannello. Even years stored at Avignonesi and odd at the other winery. The Vin Santo is a must, they have a red and a white. The white shows peaches, honey, dried flowers and caramelised dates. The red is more leathery, oriental spices, maple syrup and cigar. Both are excellent.

2  Thank Roedig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

We visited as a party of 8 friends and family for winery tour and lunch with wine tasting. The winery has been situated on this hilltop with commanding views in all directions since at least 1882, the date we spotted on one of the buildings. The grounds are beautiful and the wine production area was really interesting. The winery is organic and the lunch was all organic and locally sourced.
It's hard to exaggerate what an amazing lunch we had, seated outside with views of the Italian countryside and served one excellent course of food and wine after another. The service was also over-the-top and the entire experience well worth the cost, would do it all again!!!

1  Thank flyincoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avignonesi also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena

Been to Avignonesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing