We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscany Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tuscany Tranquility”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at il Palazzo dei Diavoli as a base for exploring hill towns of Tuscany and Umbria. It is conveniently located one to two miles from Montepulciano and is in the country. Upon arriving, we were were warmly welcomed by Teresa who owns this 250 year old farm house with her husband. They mainly grow grapes for wine, olives, and figs.

There are two apartments and one suite on this combination farm and guest house. We stayed in Il Gelso with a kitchen-living room fully stocked with dishes, pots and pans; a bedroom; and an ensuite bathroom. Also included were satellite TV, wireless internet, and access to the laundry room. Stunning views of the countryside, Montepulciano, and Montefollonico are seen from the terrace. The country location was very quiet with beautiful sunsets.

Teresa had a fresh bowl of figs, fig jam, and a large carafe of her homemade wine waiting for us. She was extremely helpful with information about the local sites, maps, and navigation from place to place. She identified many sites and attractions in the local area--more than we could possibly visit in our limited time (4 nights). We used this farm house as a base for day trips to Contona, Civita, Assisi, Orvieto, Montepulciano, and Montefollonico.

Upon our departure, Teresa invited us into her home and was very gracious and friendly. We highly recommend Il Palazzo dei Diavoli for independent visitors with a car looking for a base for travel to hill towns in Tuscany and Umbria.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExoticExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diavoli_11, Proprietario at Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank so much!!
Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
102
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here for one week in September - our 6th time at Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli. We love the place so much and for many reasons. Teresa is very welcoming and helpful in every way. The accommodations are spotless and the property is beautiful. The view of the valley and of Montepulciano are stunning, and the sunsets are amazing. We would highly recommend Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli and we will be back again sometime soon.

B&J Canada

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Green_Eyes_Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diavoli_11, Proprietario at Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank so much!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at the two bedroom apartment, IL SORBO for two days in July and it was a glorious experience. Not only was the farm beautiful, but it was only a couple of minutes from downtown. Not only was the apartment immaculate, but the view was breathtaking and Teresa was the most amazing host. Originally, I had made arrangements for myself, my husband and our 6 month old son. However, last minute our son became ill and we didn't feel comfortable travelling with him, so my mother, best friend and her father took their places on our vacation. In the craziness of changing all of our plans, I had failed to email Teresa of the new arrangement. When we arrived, she had our bed, a crib and high chair all ready to go and of course, we surprised her without having the baby (or my husband) present. She was extremely accommodating and even brought out an additional bed (so my friend didn't have to sleep in a bed with her dad. Additionally, she went through a list of activities and made reservations for us at the most amazing and local restaurants. She even taught us all how to make Italian coffee and let us have a bottle of her wine and olive oil. It was truly an amazing visit and we all can't wait until our next vacation and return to Palazzo dei Diavoli. :)

Room Tip: IL Sorbo not only had two bedrooms and two bathrooms, but a nice little kitchen as well!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andriamaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diavoli_11, Proprietario at Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank so much!!
As a rule , my guests MUST to be at Palazzo dei Diavoli like at home
When it happens i'm happy
Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Amazing location, just a 5 minute-drive from montepulciano! Stunning views, and very quiet! Just what we needed for a romantic agrituristic experience in wonderful Tuscany! Renovated and very clean rooms! The only thing we would change is breakfast: it could be more tuscan and traditional.
Teresa, the owner, was very friendly and willing to help with anything we needed!
Thank you so much Teresa!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diavoli_11, Proprietario at Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank so much for your very nice review!
About the breakfast i know and i'm conscious that is a small problem , but unfortunately i haven't the licence to catering service .or to cook ..and so ..i can give to my guest only prepacked food , good , many , FREE , .but not handmade .
Local food are bread coffee , milk ....fruits , plum jam .....and they there were !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Think endless green landscape, flowers, trees, butterflies, a two minute drive into Montepulciano centre, elegantly designed accommodation and you have il Palazzo dei Diavoli!

We stayed with Teresa for a week in early July (La Camelia) and tried to think of every excuse not to leave. The location is ideal and we were able to visit Pienza, Siena, Chianti, San Gimignano, Montisi and various other neighbouring villages and towns.

Aside from the bottle of wine Teresa had kindly left for us with some breakfast/nibbly items too, she had proactively looked to see what events were happening the week we were there, plus gave us 'local' tips on where to eat - 13 Gobbi in Montefollonico is a must. Teresa is a lovely lady, so friendly and accommodating and her English is perfetto!

Fantastic value for money, ultra clean, well maintained and a delight.

We also made some friends while staying at il Palazzo and when we return to Montepulciano, we will be knocking on Teresa's door!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARAH L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diavoli_11, Proprietario at Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank so much for your very nice review and thank also for its title and
" the new denomination ": Agri-chic!
About my English ...it is unfortunately very bad ..but very important is not fail in communication
with my guests!
I will try to improve
Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

As we stood on the patio of Il Sorbo surveying the view, we couldn't even comprehend it. The more- than-180-degree panorama starts at San Biagio church, moves across sheep farms, olive vineyards, haybales, rolling hills, and TWO Tuscan hill towns. Sunrises AND sunsets with magic Renaissance lighting. Really: is it even possible for a setting to be this beautiful? It's like a cliche of landscape painting.

Teresa was like your sister who just wants you to go have fun. She annotated maps for us, and we took her advice on everything from wine and grocery stores to which towns would have fewer visits. You could NOT do better

Room Tip: Il Sorbo is perfect for a couple, although theoretically two couples could stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diavoli_11, Proprietario at Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank for your very kind review ..!!!
I will try of course, to uphold ever this reputation ..
Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We enjoyed a two night stay in Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli and only wish we could have stayed longer!
Our room, La Camelia, was very comfortable with a lovely view out to the countryside. Teresa is a wonderful host – we were lucky her English was much better than our non-existent Italian! It was a pleasure to chat with her, and she was very helpful and generous – a bottle of wine left in the room, making sure our laundry was washed and dried – couldn’t ask for better!
Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious, with breakfast table and provisions for us to have at our leisure. The location was great – out in the beautiful Tuscan countryside yet only minutes to Montepulciano. Excellent value and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmhs_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
1.6 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo Nobile
Agriturismo Nobile
#2 of 76 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo la Corte Del Cavalierino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli

Property: Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli
Address: Via delle Colombelle 3, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful small farmhouse in Montepulciano , South of Tuscany , famous for its monumental palaces and for its " NOBLE wine. Is an ideal place to enjoy the wonderful, amazing Tuscany landscape ...A quiet and nice holiday , tasting a good wine and a good tipical food!Nice , quiet , with familiary management...Is a perfect place to stay ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing