We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for the Tuscan region”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Etruria Resort & Natural Spa
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good base for the Tuscan region”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for two nights as part of our four night Tuscan trip. Retrospectively we wish we would have used this hotel as our base as it was well located close to Montepulciano and the spa was a lovely break from all of the sightseeing. Our room was very spacious and it had a nice view. The shower was a pod structure which was a bit peculiar and took a while to get used to. We had pre dinner drinks at the bar there which was very nice at an outdoor setting. The spa facilities were excellent and the treatments we had were very good as well. We didn't eat there as we found the prices to be quite a bit higher than the restaurants in town but the breakfasts were more than ample.

If I were to do Tuscany again I would definitely come back to Etruria.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    224
    102
    43
    30
See reviews for
57
394
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My wife and I started our trip to Italy in Montepulciano with a four night stay at the Etruria Resort and Spa and we had a very nice stay. Our room was big, comfortable, lovely view and very quiet. The shower was small, kind of a pod shape but we made due. There was a complementary breakfast each morining that was outstanding. The resort has a very nice pool and work out center, that we made use of and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Wifi was available in our room, you just need to ask for the longin and password information at the front desk.

The village of Montepulciano is wonderful and about a 10 minute walk up the hill from the resort. We didn't have dinner at the resort, opting to try a different restaurant in town and Montepulciano has many great places to dine.

I highly recommend renting a car if you are visting this area. There are limited things to do in town and there many lovely villages in the area you will want to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My husband and I traveled to Italy for our honeymoon and made Montepulciano one of our stops because we are big fans of the wine in the region. We spent 3 nights at Etruria Resort & Spa in the Nido d'Amore, and I think that if we hadn't had a room with a hot tub in it we might not have had such an amazing time. The room itself was large, has a big ol' hot tub in the bedroom, and then has a tiny tiny bathroom with a tiny tiny shower. And no bar soap, lotion or conditioner, just all-purpose shampoo. But the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and there was a HOT TUB in the room! This was really the main selling point of the place. The complementary breakfast was also good, and although the ability to use the spa is nice, the hours are a bit restrictive and you have to tell them in advance whether you're coming in the morning or in the afternoon, you can't just decide to go to the spa and then show up.

A couple of things that were somewhat disappointing:
- my husband and I decided to get massages and wanted to get them together in the same room, but you can only do this if you get a "couples massage". We wanted deep tissue, so we had to be in separate rooms. The massage itself was only ok, and was not nearly as good as what I get from the Chinese massage parlor in my neighborhood in NYC for less than half the price.
- the spa is a series of various luke warm pools of water and none of them were actually hot. But the steam room and sauna were pretty good.
- the outdoor "hot" tub is also not particularly hot, and they would not adjust the temperature for us.
- although they say that the outdoor pool is available for use any time, they put away all of the lounge chair cushions at about 7pm.
- the on-site restaurant is a bit over-priced and you'd be much better off venturing into Montepulciano. The only reason we had a meal at La Corte di Bacco besides breakfast was that we got caught in a freak hail storm.

BUT our experience there was really very positive. The staff are friendly, there's free water in the fridge and it's in one of the most beautiful places on earth.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

It is definitely a mixed bag - it is in a good position and is nicely decorated (still very new), the staff are very friendly and helpful, but there are some very annoying things about it. For example, we arrived at about 5pm after travelling all day, and were told there was absolutely nowhere for us to get a drink before 7.30pm! The room was really basic: only 2 pillows on the bed, the smallest wardrobe ever - couldn't even close the door once we put hanging items in it, air conditioner that didn't work, shutters that didn't allow you to get air in while keeping out insects, a fridge that was so noisy we had to unplug it at night, TV without any non-Italian channels, strange shower pod which was very small. When we arrived, it was stressed to us that we were on a room only package and that meant we couldn't use the outdoor pool unless we paid 30 Euros each per day for the spa package! We did use the gym once, but there were no instructions and the equipment was odd and difficult to use. So, although it was a nice place and the restaurant was very good (though expensive) for dinner, I really wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueandDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed in this amazing magnificent hotel and spa! After busy days of touring in Tuscany, we spent two peaceful healthy days in the spa and one night in the hotel. Every thing about this hotel is gorgeous! The service was beyond fantastic! The spa was very well-designed & beautiful! The restaurant was great too! you must try the Corte alla Flora wines made just 5 km away! I definitely would recommend this hotel to any adult who is seeking an amazing spa resort & It's a walk away to the town of Montepulciano! What more could you ask for in life?

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedVelvetVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Very nice situation. With a car no problem. Food OK in general. WiFi only in the lobby!
Very impressive indoor spa (outside not tested, weather too cold, just before Eastern). Room OK but bathroom flooded after each shower... Very friendly staff and the boss is always present to greet you. Extra compliments for the lady in charge of the breakfasts. Under certain conditions I would come back amd recommand it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHA340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in September and had a mixed experience.
The hotel is reasonably well located within 15 minute walk of the town walls (although it is uphill!) and it's quite close to the bus station as well. The grounds of the hotel are nice, with places to sit and take in the great views of the surrounding countryside. There is a lovely outdoor pool with a bar attached to it and the spa is very good with a large pool and several steam rooms, saunas, etc.
Now the downsides...
The room was quite basic and the bed was small and not particularly comfortable. The bathroom was very large but it had a shower that was impossible to use. It was like a pod that you had to sit in with a roof and there was hardly room to stand in. Bizarre is the only way to describe it! The breakfast was also quite basic.
The biggest problem was the service in the hotel. Even though it was still early September and hardly off-season, the place was very quiet. Despite this, the hotel still gave the impression it was severely short-staffed. Service in the restaurant was non-existent and one day ourselves and another couple waited nearly half an hour to order lunch. The bar by the pool was unstaffed and the bar in the hotel seemed to share its staff with reception and the restaurant with one or two people running between each place. The staff that were there were all very friendly and helpful but all in all not the sort of service one expects from a hotel that is quite expensive to stay in.
The big pluses though are the location and the outdoor pool and spa and if we were returning to Montepulciano we would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Attempt to get a room with a standard shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pignbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montepulciano
9.8 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
15.2 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etruria Resort & Natural Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etruria Resort & Natural Spa

Property: Etruria Resort & Natural Spa
Address: Via Elio Bernabei 32, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Etruria Resort & Natural Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etruria Resort & Natural Spa is a charming hotel in the heart of the Vino Nobile of Montepulciano land, in Tuscany. The Villa, built in 1800, was inhabited by a noble family of Montepulciano up to mid 1900s. It was surrounded by a park where the trees, that still today shade the secret labyrinth of the garden with its wonderful hedges, were planted, at the foot of Montepulciano's hill.A wide range of elegant and comfortable choices, each with different furnishings and accessories, makes for a pleasant selection Classic, Deluxe, Junior Suite, and the wonderful apartments among the different types of accommodation. "La Perla", wellness area, with its suggestive room with brick vault, is located in the old cellar of the Villa, where the barrels of precious Vino Nobile di Montepulciano were kept: an ideal place to rejuvenate. For all guests a path that shows corners of rare beauty, lights, soft music and soothing aromas, water, warmth, thalassotherapy and a wide range of the latest equipment, natural cosmetics, personal treatments entrusted to the capable hands of the best therapists, to discover the true essence of wellness. The restaurant “La Corte di Bacco”, inside the charme hotel, gives an intense trip that tastes and smells of a time.The pursuit of excellence is the goal of our chefs, who specialize in traditional cuisine, famous throughout the world with extra virgin olive oil and Red and Nobile di Montepulciano. A Tuscan cuisine revisited by the skilled hands of the Chef, that blends the flavours in a perfect equilibrium of biological, natural, fresh and selected foods. Children are welcome. The Resort offers special spa treatments designed for children accompanied by parents, pool spa dedicated to them and a playground outside. Moreover, within the Resort there is the indoor area "Il Girotondo" ("ring-around-the-rosey"). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Etruria Resort & Natural Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing