We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent food and wine experience”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Montepulciano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

t3bike
Prescott, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent food and wine experience”
Reviewed 7 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Pamela is an Italian cook book author and is very knowledgeable about Italian food and wine. She recommended a lunch at a nearby winery and it was fantastic. Also amazing was a wine tasting dinner she hosted at a restaurant in a nearby town. Pamela knows the restaurant owner and we were able to go into the kitchen for a cooking demo and then had a wine lesson while we ate excellent food with 7 different wines. Both meals were a highlight of our trip. We did have some issues with our apartment because the house is an old Villa, and the apartment was on the ground floor so it was cold and dark and did not have a view. We did have a nice outdoor patio and the bathroom was nice. I would stay upstairs where it seemed to be lighter and have a view. We had difficulty with consistent Wi-Fi service in the room, but it worked pretty well outside and we spent more time outside as the room was so dark. The grounds are pretty with interesting yard decor. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and Pamela had great shopping recommendations in the nearby towns. They have 2 wonderful dogs and several cats on the property. The breakfast was continental and sometimes you get a treat leftover from the cooking class. We did not take a cooking class but the other guests who did said they were great. Stay here for the food and wine experiences!

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The recommendations for winery lunch and wine tasting dinner.
Liked least: The apartment was cold and dark and did not have a view.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin A
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
568 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tuscan Experience”
Reviewed 6 February 2012 for a stay in May 2010

My husband and I stayed at Poggio Etrusco a couple years ago, and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We were greeted by the family dog, Johnny Johns (quite an artist) and their beautiful and gregarious daughter. It was warm enough to lay by the pool and catch some early rays of sun. Our room was actually a couple rooms, although we only used one, and never used the kitchen, which was also available. We did however, really enjoy our morning coffees, the delicious breakfasts and one day I was fortunate enough to partake in Pamela's cooking school. We toured the facility where the olives picked at Poggio Etrusco are made into their wonderful olive oil, and we sent home a case of it, which unfortunately cost more to ship than buy, and yet a nice memory of our great vacation when it finally arrived.

Date of stay: May 2010
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our wonderful hosts and our central location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Each day was a new experience in Tuscan daily life.”
Reviewed 6 February 2012 for a stay in February 2010

Our family’s off-season week at Poggio Etrusco was a link back my grandparents life in Italy. Each day was a new experience in daily life in the Tuscan mountain top towns of Montepulciano, Sienna and Pienza and our experiences were brought back to Poggio Etrusco’s kitchen where Pamela turn them into culinary lessons for us. The Picci dinner in Pienza was a precursor to learning to make the pasta the next day. The Ribollita soup enjoyed in Chiusi we made for lunch the next day in Pamela’s kitchen. We took over a pizzeria one night to learn making Neapolitan pizzas. The local olive oil crush and processing plant, visiting the iconic Biondi-Santi winery, the dairy farm making Pecorino and Ricotta cheeses, the museums, and the village shops and open air markets are cherished experiences lock in my memory forever.

Date of stay: February 2010
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners and operators
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill H
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
1 review
“Wonderful accomodations, cooking class, and hosts!!!”
Reviewed 5 February 2012 for a stay in June 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay for 5 days at Poggio Etrusco! We had a lovely 2 BR/2BA apartment with a kitchen that we shared with friends in beautiful Tuscany surrounded by olive trees, grape vines, and garden fresh herbs and vegetables! Pamela and Johnny were wonderful hosts and helped us with recommendations for sight-seeing as well as restaurants in the nearby towns. They are American, so language was no barrier for us! One day we went to market, picked out our food and came back for an Italian Cooking School Day. What fun! We rolled pasta, gathered herbs for our food in the garden, cooked with olive oil from their oive trees, and sipped on wine made from their grape vines. Their 2 dogs were friendly and greeted us everytime we came 'home' and would leave their throw toys by our front door for a quick fetch game when we were available! We had a washing machine for our clothes and beautiful weather to line dry them in the fresh Tuscan air! It was centrally located to visit neighboring towns each day and come back to the countryside to relax at days end!

I would highly recommend Poggio Etrusco for a quiet, intimate place to stay! Thank you Pamela and Johnny for your hospitality!

Date of stay: June 2010
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cooking school
Liked least: My shower ceiling was a little low - we are tall!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimplyAma...
info@simplyamalfi.com
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical place, extraordinary hospitality”
Reviewed 5 February 2012 for a stay in July 2010

We found Poggio Etrusco to be the perfect Tuscan countryside getaway where we had all the perks of being on holiday while feeling right at home. Pamela and Johnny make you feel perfectly at ease, the setting is to die for and the apartments (especially the bedrooms) are magical. For a stay in Tuscany, you can't ask for more !!

Date of stay: July 2010
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Atmosphere and friendly hospitality
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanfordF
Falmouth, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting, a wonderful place.”
Reviewed 5 February 2012 for a stay in November 2010

My whole family really loved this place. It is the midst of olive groves and anciet Tuscan towns which we could walk to. The owners are wonderful and offer warm hospitality and great breakfasts. Can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: November 2010
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R
Port Townsend, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“The Italian Villa we envision in our dreams - that's Poggio Etrusco!”
Reviewed 5 February 2012 for a stay in September 2011

We were fortunate to have stayed at Poggio Etrusco in September and would love to go back again for a longer stay and one of Pamela Sheldon Johns' cooking schools. Our friends who have stayed there several times recommended the villa when they heard we were traveling to Tuscany, and it was wonderful! Strolling in the olive groves under that warm Tuscan sun was heavenly! Breakfasts were delicious, and sharing them with the other guests, we felt like a family. Our initial arrival in Montepulciano was a bit harrowing with a rental car clutch that went out as night fell, and we called Pamela. She was so calming ,and although dining with her family at the time, she sent a taxi to find us and bring us to the villa. As hungry travelers unknown to the area, the dear taxi driver stopped off at a local restaurant so we could get a yummy pizza to take to our beautiful room! Then, on a weekend, we were without a car, and Johnny took us into Montepulciano and picked us up after we enjoyed our day there. They are the perfect hosts, and we felt so welcomed!

Date of stay: September 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The perfect Tuscan setting.
Liked least: Loved everything about it.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.