We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice place to stop, savor, and look” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Il Marzocco

Trattoria Il Marzocco
Ranked #48 of 97 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Carpentras, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very nice place to stop, savor, and look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

very nice place to stop, savor the local food, and look around at the passers-by. Relaxing outdoor tables and chairs, shady, if you pick the right table for the time you are there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    55
    20
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
“very fine place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

we ate here several times. very nice 'atmosphere', service, food & wine; 100 characters: very nice 'atmosphere', service, food & wine

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelggSFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant time with good quality dine in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had very good choice of local original Tuscan cuisine. Good local red wine (did come as a surprise). Anywhere in Tuscany wine was very good. Enough about wine, claro!

The food was well prepared, sauces where testy, wild boar meet was delicious, pork shank was out of this world and can't go wrong with salad "caprice". Fresh mozzarella was delicious, olives of a great taste (but it's very individual: I like them little in the bitter side).

Service was fast, unusual for south Europe, very friendly and of a high quality. One of those when you don't see server a front of you all the time, but as soon as you need her she was right there. Ta-daaa!

Budget wise was very reasonable!

Nothing, but positive experience, highly recommend to anyone who likes good times with tasty foods.

Great job Guys, keep up good work, don't change your chef and crew!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergey N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
306 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stopped to eat a quick lunch before touring the city. Service was quick and our waiter was very pleasant. The food we had was very good. The bean and the vegetable soups were good. I had pasta with a boar's meat sauce that was very good. Others at the table enjoyed their food. It was a good place for a quick lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eidsberg, Ostfold, Norway
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great location, good and reasonable food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We noticed that the prices were lower than omong the competitors nearby, but decided to try it. We had salad, ladagna and wild boar with polenta. Pleasant surprise! What impresses us most was that when we had ordered a Montepulciano Nobile, he brought the bottle and a decanter to the table, opened the bottle and decanted it on the spot. I have not seen this done in a resturant before, and remain impressed!
Lunch for three, sharing the said bottle, came to €23 per person. Nice!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HalvorJohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Il Marzocco also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Trattoria Il Marzocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing