We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Montepulciano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Podere Le Manzinaie
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Gem in Montepulciano”
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Podere Le Manzinaie was recommended to us by friends from Ottawa who have stayed here during their visit to Tuscany. The place surely met more than our expectations. We arrived with 2 other couples and we were immediately impressed with the cypress-lined entrance and the warm welcome extended to us by Alice, Marzia and Fiore. Before we could even see our Villa they offered us wine, capuccino,and water... we felt immediately at home with our hosts.

Villa Iris is well appointed with comfortable beds, sparkling clean bathrooms, and a well-equipped kitchen. It's perfect for 3 couples. The grounds and pool are well maintained--we love the patio for our "Happy Hours". We noticed that our fridge was stocked with goodies when we arrived...there was a basket of bread and sweets on the counter, and a bottle of wine awaiting us--so welcoming. Fiore invited us to enjoy the fruit from their orchard and the vegetables from the garden...we certainly did...had fruit salad with yogurt every morning and fresh salad at night when we ate in. Just wonderful!

One of the highlights of our stay was the 9-course meal that the family prepared for 25 guests including friends of ours who came to visit us. Marzia extended an invitation to them....now that is hospitality plus!!

Alice has been so helpful anwering our questions from the time I started corresponding with her until the time that we had to say "Arrivederci" Podere Le Manzinaie.

We highly recommend this gem of a place in Montepulciano to anybody who wants to visit Tuscany. It's central and with easy access to places of interest in Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
101
140
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

If you're looking for a nice, rural location in Tuscany, this is the place.

The family who runs the Inn renovated it after it had been abandoned for 25 years, so everything is fresh and new. Our apartment/suite was 3 rooms: A kitchenette/dinette/sitting area combo, a bedroom and a very large bathroom with shower and whirlpool tub. A very comfortable size for a one week stay -- a size you're unlikely to get for the same price in a nearby town.

The grounds are well maintained and include outdoor eating areas (with grill) and a large swimming pool (with plenty of deck chairs).

What really sets this Inn apart; however, is the service. It is owned/run by a couple and their daughter who live on the premises and seem to genuinely enjoy the hospitality business. They seemed to think of everything. For example, our room was stocked with breakfast items for the first day when we arrived. Thus, we didn't have to deal with searching for breakfast while dealing with the jet lag. Also, they were more than happy to help us with dinner recommendations and reservations, buying train tickets online and buying other tickets online (e.g. The Vatican Museum which will save you a TON of time). Their approach to hospitality was truly refreshing in this day and age of corporate hotel chains.

Finally, the location was convenient for all sorts of day trips. One day we drove 5 minutes to a train station for a day-trip to Siena. Very easy. Another day we drove 20 minutes to a train station for a day-trip to Rome. Not quite as easy but not difficult.

I can't think of one improvement to suggest. The only reason not to stay here is if you have your heart set on staying in a Tuscan town or city. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHMPLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Have just returned from Le Manzinaie and can't praise the location and owners enough - it is a delightful spot and nothing is too much trouble for Marzie, Fiore and Alice, even to the extent of all the guests being invited to a meal with the family each week (we were there for 2 weeks so were lucky enough to have two meals with them!). Any destination you wanted to visit was provided with full directions, which were very helpful since the sineage often petered out some way from your goal. This was our second visit and we enjoyed it just as much as the first.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandgtyreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed at Podere Le Manzinaie for eight wonderful and enjoyable days. Our hosts couldn't do enough for us even cooking us a delicious late lunch because everything was closed for siesta. We stayed in a 2 bdrm, 2 bath villa with our friends and it was so homey and beautiful. Alice gave us directions for everywhere we traveled. Marzia and Fiore made a family dinner for their guests (13 of us) and the drinks and food flowed all evening. It felt like being with family. We would definitely return one day for a longer stay. We can't say enough good things about it. If we were to do it again, we wouldn't do the large cities. Pienza and Montepulciano were our favorites. We wouldn't recommend Firenze or even Siena. The medieval towns were the best with their winding streets and beautiful views. This was our best vacation. Try it, you'll LOVE IT.
Jeannette and Ron from Boca Raton, FL

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandmaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2010

So much more than a vacation rental, staying with Grazia, Fiore & Alice at Le Manzinaie makes you feel less like a tourist and more like a close family friend. Dinner with the family & other guests was the highlight of our 1 week in Tuscany.

Their trip itineraries are very helpful and the directions provided are excellent, we were able to make our way around Tuscany's famous towns without GPS. Although Siena & Florence are within 1 hour's drive of the farmhouse the nearby medieval hill town of Montepulciano is a great place to go wine tasting and get an authentic & relaxed Tuscan experience. We were luck enough to catch the annual Barrel rolling race & candle lit procession.

But beyond seeing the sights what made this trip especially memorable was staying with such wonderful hosts. You will be really cared for & looked after at Le Manzinaie.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimpliciousChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2010

A lot has been written extolling the virtues of the beautiful Podere Le Le Manzinaie. Our stay there was everything we wished for and more! The reviews that you will read on the Internet are spot on. This is truly a wonderful place to stay in fantastic Tuscany. This is all due to the friendliness and attention to detail of Alice, Marzia and Fiore. The accommodation are amazing and the ambience so hospitable. Rufus (the family dog) was a particular hit! We hope to return one day to continue our Tuscan adventure.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_from_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
622 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed here for a week, and can really recommend La Manzinaie.

To echo what others have said this is genuine Italian hospitality from the owners. The parents and Alice the daughter run the place. They go further than one would even hope in terms of making you feel welcome. If you want to go to Rome or Sienna on the train, they will book your tickets for you online, and arm you with driving instructions and parking instruction to get to the correct stations. We did a day trip to Rome and another to Sienna by train.

We arrived at 1am, the ferry from Spain was late, and we were greeted by Alice without any hassle. If you are sitting in the garden, you will be offered a cup of cappuccino (free I ought to add), and the weekly dinner (also free) was a high point for us with about 12 guests and the 3 family members enjoying a home cooked Italian dinner.

They have a vegetable garden and invite you to help yourself - it was tomato, bean and courgette season when we were there.

The building is an old farm house that they bought as a ruin and converted it themselves (ask to see the photo album of the restoration) . And all is now done. The building is well out of Montepulciano so you will have to take the car to get to a restaurant.

All in all me enjoyed our stay, and not only is La Manzanaie a great place to stay, but this area of Tuscany is one unspoilt medieval village after another. So book now!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
8.8 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
248 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
418 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
464 reviews
7.6 mi away
Agriturismo Nobile
Agriturismo Nobile
#1 of 78 in Montepulciano
199 reviews
4.6 mi away
Relais Villa Grazianella - Fattoria del Cerro
Relais Villa Grazianella - Fatto...
#1 of 2 in Acquaviva di Montepulciano
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Le Manzinaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Le Manzinaie

Property: Podere Le Manzinaie
Address: Via Lauretana Nord 31, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday farm Le Manzinaie is located in Montepulciano, Tuscany: a wonderful base for exploring Southern Tuscany and Umbria. The property is composed of fully equipped self catering apartments and independent villas, a swimming pool set in a large garden, gazebo, barbecue and parking. The accommodation are completely hand-decorated and embellished by trompe l'oeil to offer the guest a refined, cosy and exclusive atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Podere Le Manzinaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Le Manzinaie Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing