We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful, quality and friendly boutique hotel/ B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergo Il Marzocco
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2007

Had trouble finding this hotel, despite the clear directions.
This was because there is just a simple gold name plate by the buzzer. I was told this was due to planning restrictions in Florence.

I've been all over the world and can safely recommend this place as great value for money (esp. in Florence!!). This listed building has been restored over 2 years and the rooms we were staying in were subtly different and to a very high standard. Beds were extremely comfortable, bathrooms beautifully decorated, with all furniture being period and blending in with the pleasant frescos(15th century I think?).

Breakfast consisted of good quality cappuchinos, various pastries and the usual juice/rolls/cereal etc.
The location was about a 3 minute walk to the Santa Marie (central) station and about 10-15 mins walk to the Duemo (Dome), considered the center of the city.
The owner of the hotel, Marco, really couldn't do enough for us. Very pleasant, interesting and was happy to assist when he could.
If you like intimate and reasonable hotels rather than pricey 500 room chain types then this place is for you.
Enjoy,
Ross (Ireland) & Uly (Australia)

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank degrabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilmarzocco, Direttore at Albergo Il Marzocco, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to write a review about Albergo Il Marzocco.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again in Montepulciano.

Best Regards and Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Albergo Il Marzocco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2006

Il Marzocco is located in the old town of Montepulciano, and as the name gives away the town is located on a hilltop (most towns in this area are) so be aware that several hotels that says they are in Montepulciano are not on the hilltop. That means either long walks back and forth or extensive use of car. Since Montepulciano is a major winetown it is a shame not to enjoy the local Nobile, so good to know that this hotel is walking distance from all the cellars.
The hotel is old and have a victorian feel (just look at the view from our room), and is family run. All of them very helpful even though english is not allways spoken.
Il Marzocco is old but very well kept and rooms are large and nicely decorated. The baths looked spotless at both rooms.
Yes, we had to change room because they didn't have room with balcony for all nights. But with that superb view it was worth changing. No minibars but we got a excellent wine at the reception to enjoy at the balcony.
So if plans to book doublecheck availability of rooms with balcony. Breakfafst was very good, they did eggs after your liking, just don't get too LA when you order.
We will definately stay at this hotel again when we're going back. Great value.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Jumper71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilmarzocco, Direttore at Albergo Il Marzocco, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to write a review about Albergo Il Marzocco.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again in Montepulciano.

Best Regards and Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2006

Came accross this delightful, old hotel by chance. Reception is on the first floor. The owners/staff are delightful and whilst we could not speak Italian and they could not speak much English, we managed just fine. Our en-suite room was lovely and spacious. In the evening we sat out on our balcony to sip some of the local wine and admire the view.
Breakfast consisted of fresh orange juice, bread, croissants, real coffee, cereal, cheese, yogurt and eggs. We arrived by car and the hotel has designated parking spaces. The town itself is charming and we dined at a local restaurant called Acquacheta di Ciolfi on the Via del Teatro. Try the local dishes but watch out for the 1K. T bone steak.
This is no five star hotel but it is a little gem of a hotel - you feel you are staying in someones large home and the location is excellent. Our room had no air conditioning but we slept with the windows open and spent two very comfortable nights here.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilmarzocco, Direttore at Albergo Il Marzocco, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to write a review about Albergo Il Marzocco.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again in Montepulciano.

Best Regards and Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2006

We were there early in the season with just a few other guests at the beginning of March, 2006. The room was immaculate and the bathroom was large by Italian standards. While it is true that there is no elevator, we did not find this to be a problem. If you are traveling as a two-some ask for a terrace room. The view out the back is wonderful. Since we were traveling with our teenage son, they offerred us the option of using two rooms for the same price as our one. There was convieniant parking very near to the entrance and many restaurants and wine tasting rooms were close by. The prima calazione (breakfast) was absolutely superb. I know this sounds crazy but I have never had srambled eggs that tasted as good as those which were prepared for us at Il Marzocco. I am a pretty good cook and I have tried to think through what could have possibly made such an extraordinary difference. It wasn't too buttery or too creamy but the texture and flavor were just amazing. My conclusion is that it just had to be the eggs. Of course there was the selection of breads and cheeses and meats, fruits, cereal, yogurt etc. But, we had spremuta (Sp?) fresh orange juice from blood oranges and it was fantastic and became our choice of beverage everywhere it was an option. Of course we had some great wine as well. All I can say is that we had very nice service and it was an easy hotel to use as a home base for a couple of days. Early in the season we had their full attention and we felt spoiled...and it was great. We left with a few snow drops and had a magical meandering day and we headed south towards Roma.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CorrineAtlantaGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilmarzocco, Direttore at Albergo Il Marzocco, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to write a review about Albergo Il Marzocco.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again in Montepulciano.

Best Regards and Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2005

Reservations were made the evening before our two night stay, Fri. and Sat. nights. The hotel is well located within the old city walls of Montepulciano. Our room, No. 24, was clean, spacious, and quiet. It has a terrace with a spectacular view of the countryside surrounding the city. The bathroom included both shower and tub and abundant hot water. Staff were helpful and pleasant, but only Italian is spoken. Room rate included a good breakfast - cereal, eggs to order, yogurt, cold cuts, etc. We would be more than happy to stay again at Il Marzocco and would recommend it. We should note, however, that it is on four floors and there does not appear to be an elevator. This might be a problem for some.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kylyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilmarzocco, Direttore at Albergo Il Marzocco, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to write a review about Albergo Il Marzocco.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again in Montepulciano.

Best Regards and Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2004

Hotel was crummy to say the least. No lift had to walk up 4 flights of stairs just to get to the reception desk. Not a word of english spoken. Crummy room no air conditioning. Lucky we had only one night here. Never again.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilmarzocco, Direttore at Albergo Il Marzocco, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Dear Guest,

We haven't got elevator because the building is very old (XVI sec.) and is not easy install an elevator.

Best Regards and Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2004

The hotel was a typical Italian, family run hotel...You won't get the Holiday Inn in Tuscany. Lovely marble floors and sizable rooms that looked over the town. Breakfast a cut above the usual... not just coissants and coffee...they will cook your eggs to order

8  Thank toxiclaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilmarzocco, Direttore at Albergo Il Marzocco, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your time to write a review about Albergo Il Marzocco.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again in Montepulciano.

Best Regards and Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.4 mi away
Albergo Duomo
Albergo Duomo
#9 of 28 in Montepulciano
308 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
#11 of 28 in Montepulciano
272 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
281 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Il Marzocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Marzocco

Address: Piazza Girolamo Savonarola 18, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range: £80 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Il Marzocco 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind the Medicean column there is the Hotel Il Marzocco, the oldest in town. It was built in 1500 as a farm of the nearby convent. In 1860 it became a hotel and since the early 1900s it has been run by the same family. The hotel looks like a large house where the atmosphere of the old times is still kept. Its bedrooms open on wide lounges that, like the reading room and the sitting room, are furnished with genuine XIX century pieces. Some bedrooms have balconies or terraces with a view on the valleys, other ones have their windows over the Renaissance houses of the old town. The hotel has had important guests like actors, writers, politicians, all of whom are fond of the great view from its terraces. A free parking area is available, as well as comfortable relaxing spaces and a wide dining room where breakfast is served from a rich buffet with home-made bread and cakes, jams and pies. Among the roses of the garden, the Canada creeper climbs until the terraces and creates a pergola up to the roof, at first green in summer, than all red in September and yellow during the autumn. Red geraniums at the windows, together with the old lace curtains, add to the building a perfectly romantic touch. Wi-Fi Connection. We accept pets. Free Indoor garage for motorbikes and bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albergo Il Marzocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Marzocco Montepulciano
Il Marzocco Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing