We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, what a perfect place and perfect host!”
Review of Montorio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Montorio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wow, what a perfect place and perfect host!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Occasionally, very occasionally, you get something that is way beyond your expectations, even when your expectations are set really high. So it was for us with Montorio.

From the moment we arrived after a 650km car journey from France we were warmly greeted by Stefania who has continued from that minute to be the consummate host. She is a wealth of information and suggestions on places to go and things to do - your own private tourist bureau!

We stayed in the top floor apartment 'Sangallo' and had booked it a year in advance of our stay. To say that we had really high expectations would be an understatement! Well our expectations were well and truly exceeded. The website photos simply do not do justice to this apartment or to it surrounds, they just can't. How can you possibly photograph the vista of Tuscany that is to be had from each and every window?

If you are looking for a place that is unique, historical, spectacular and private then this is for you!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
72sfn, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Mr Bob S,
thank you very much for this fantastic review. I am more than happy that what you found in montorio was more than your expectation, this make me very very happy
you are right the photos do not give justice at the place, but I prefer that the guest can find more than less
It has been a pleasure to guest you and your wife for a week and I am looking forward to see you again
Kind regards
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

When I was looking for a place to stay in Montepulciano, I was sure that I wanted a place up in town. During my research, however, I came across a picture of the view from Montorio and I knew I would regret it if we didn't stay there. So stay there we did.

My husband and I stayed for two nights, but could easily justify staying there, well, permanently. Stefania was lovely - very friendly and helpful. When we arrived (slightly early), we called her mobile and she showed up in five minutes. The setting was like a dream. The views were literally unbelievable. The apartments were fitted with modern comforts yet still felt atmospheric. We made good use of the kitchen (bought a packet of pici and a jar of truffle sauce - so simple yet tasted incredible) as well as the laundry room and of course the beautiful courtyard overlooking San Biagio.

Montorio's location was perfect for us. We didn't have a car, so we took the bus from Siena, which conveniently stopped across the road from Montorio (ask for San Biagio stop). We also wanted to walk to Monticchiello and on to Pienza - the trail conveniently starts near Montorio, and we simply took the bus back to San Biagio stop. Before our walk, we stopped by the supermarket across the road for food and water, which was also very convenient.

All in all, our stay in Montorio was absolutely perfect. We could not ask for better and I can hardly imagine a more beautiful place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarinaFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
72sfn, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Mrs KarinaFh,
what a lovely and detail review you have written , thank you very much.
I am very happy that you particulalry enjoyed montorio all its facility and of course its unique location , with the view on the church of San biagio
I hope you will be back for a longer stay, I hope
Kind regards
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clockwatch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

For the semi-independent traveler, Montorio is THE place to stay in Tuscany!! For an authentic, historic and welcoming place, Montorio is perfection. Our "apartment" in this lovely villa was spacious and well designed with a small kitchen perfect for breakfasts and the occasional dinner after being inspired by the wonderful Tuscan cuisine. There is a fantastic fruit/vegetable market and a local grocery within walking distance. Montepulciano itself serves as the ideal base to explore the Tuscan region with its many fabulous hilltop towns. Accessibility to the exclusinve property, including parking, is easy-not something to be taken for granted! The estate itself is gorgeous, with sweeping views of the sun-drenched Tuscan hills and a famous historic church. Encircling the panoramic drive are olive, quince and pomegranate trees. One of our delights was to sit out on the terraced garden, complete with cascading rosemary and sage, simply enjoying the vista. Stefania-the owner/manager- is gracious, invitiing and extremely helpful. We can't wait to return to paradise!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clockwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
72sfn, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Clockwatch,

thank you for your fantastic and authentic review.

This was your 9 or 10 time to MOntorio I even do not remember and I am happy that you have decided to share your experience with other traveller.

I am looking forward to see next time.

Warmest regards
Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamitos, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our stay at Montorio was so special it is hard to do it justice with words. First of all Stephania the owner was so welcoming and so helpful with directions, where to eat, what to see, and where to shop. we were greeted In our apartment with a bottle of local wine, juice, milk, and water. Our apartment was very comfortable, spotlessly clean, and the kitchen was stocked with the necessary tools for cooking. The grounds are beautiful, well maintained, and the views are breath taking. We stayed seven nights and hated to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
72sfn, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
dear Mr Kay M,
your words are so nice as you and your wife are.
It has been my pleasure to have you and your wife as my guest and I will be very very happy if you would like to came back one day
Looking forward to see you again
KInd regards
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Great location! You can be completely alone, in the morning on the territory I met a roedeer. At the same time the historical centre of Montepulciano is in a walking distance. Many picturesque villages, wineries, termal springs within 20-30 minutes drive on the scenic roads. The apartment is comfortable, clean, have all the necessary for a comfortable stay. The owner of the Villa are very welcoming and attentive. I want to come here once more!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tatiana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
72sfn, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Mrs Tatiana
thank you very much for your recent and lovely review.
It has been a real pleasure to guest you and your husband and I am happy that you have appreciate your apartment and its facilities and the close distance to town .
I hope to see you again and I hope that the next time you will came to montepulciano you will choose again MOntorio
Kind regards
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Our arrival at Montorio was delayed, but manager, Stephania, was more than happy to stay to greet us regardless.
From the moment we stepped out of the car at almost sunset, we felt in another world. Montorio is in a strikingly beautiful part of the country on the top of a hill. We often had afternoon drinks in the garden overlooking the valleys below, the views are breathtakingly lovely. If Stephania spotted us in the garden on her way home etc, she would be sure to say hello and ask if there were any problems or to have a chat.
Our apartment, comprising a cute kitchette, lounge, bedroom & bathroom were adequate. The shower stall was very small by Australian standards, but we noticed that in a lot of our accommodation throughout the country & it depends if these things bother you or not. Our bed was a little hard, another thing we noticed in most of the places we stayed.. Montorio has a guest laundry,(not available everywhere) so that was a real bonus, do save your 1 & 2 euro coins.. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much, we certainly felt like we were in Tuscany :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCD012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
72sfn, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Mr Kcd012,

thank you very much to have choosen Montorio during your stay at Montepulciano and thatnk you for sharing your experiece with the large community of Trip advisor.

I enjoyed to mey you and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

If you will be back I wish you will choose again MOntorio

SIncerely,
Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at Montorio at the end of August. We were greeted by the owner, Stefania, who was very friendly and welcoming and gave us a map of Montepulciano with lots of tips regarding shopping, eating and drinking. It just so happened that when we arrived there was a violin and piano concerto at Stefania's other residence, a lovely boutique hotel down the road from Montorio. I mentioned that we would like to go and Stefania gave us free tickets and directions. We were so happy and had a lovely evening.
We stayed here at the end of a very busy two week tour (Verona, Lake Garda, Venice, Florence and Montepulciano) and were in desperate need of some rest and relaxation. We could not have stayed anywhere more perfect. The house itself is beautifully presented and situated on a hill with very well kept grounds. The views were stunning. We found it so comfortable that we decided to just stay in all day relaxing, sunbathing and reading. At night the area is so quiet that you sleep like a baby!
I could not recommend this place enough. It was truly amazing and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank seal9667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
72sfn, Proprietario at Montorio, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Mr Seal
thank you for this wondeful review and for the many photo you have posted
I am particulary happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you would like to be back
Thank you to have partecipate at the concert I organize at my boutique hotel Villa Poggiano , it has been a pleasure to have you there and that could appreciate
I look forward to see you again
Kind regards
stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.9 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Agriturismo il Palazzo dei Diavoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Agriturismo Nobile
Agriturismo Nobile
#2 of 76 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais San Bruno
Relais San Bruno
#4 of 45 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poggio Golo
Poggio Golo
#35 of 45 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montorio

Property: Montorio
Address: Strada Per Pienza 2, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montorio is an ex monastery builted in 1300 Located just outside the city town of montepulciano in a walking distance My family bought montorio 1996 and was abandoned. Took 3 years to redone respecting the original design. Montorio is today a villa with 5 indipendent apartments wich kitchen or kitchenette, in a tuscan traditional elegant style , with all modern facility as: air condition in the bedrooms, satellite tv, wifi connection, laundry. Even if apartments we have a daily maid service except on sunday . Near montorio there are facilities as supermarket, restarants, bar. Montorio has the peculiarity to be very private because located on the top of a hill , with beautiful garden and unique view, but at the same time near to town that can be reached by foot in 15 minutes maximum. To garantee the privacy of our guestes and to make fell like home at the entrance of the property there is a gate that we keep closed and we provide a remote control to our guest montorio is your home away your home, perfect spot to relax and centrally located to explore the area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Montorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montorio Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing