We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gattavecchi

Gattavecchi
Ranked #10 of 97 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A unique opportunity to taste our wines and olive oil paired with local specialities prepared by Lilian's kitchen. Tasting of our wines paired with traditional Montepulciano cuisine in the striking refectory of the Convent of Santa Maria dei Servi (AD1200) and on the terrace overlooking San Biagio and the Val, d'Orcia. Reservations recommended.
Roxbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This restaurant is part of the Gattavecchi family winery. It is one of three wineries located inside the old city. The food is very authentic and well made. The wines are all made by the Gattavecchi family.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank carlc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    97
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

First of all if you are going to eat here, you must seriously consider ordering "Lillian's Delight" bruschetta platter. Wow. It is almost a meal all by itself. It was our favorite part of the meal. We followed that with very good gnocchi with meat sauce and pici with cinghale ragu. The pici had large, delicious chunks of cinghale in it. Secondi were the roasted rabbit and the tagliata of beef. For contorni, we ordered the roasted patate and they were excellent . Service was friendly and perfectly paced.I love its location away from the main part of town. We would go back again for sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iamq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington
Level Contributor
302 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Amazing food and wine pairings; a quintessential Tuscan experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This meal was a highlight of our trip. The owners' son was our host for the night and was the most charming young Brazilian man. He was full of information about his parents' cuisine and their wines. The setting is a gorgeous, high-ceilinged room, with rustic furniture and accents. Each course is perfectly prepared and paired with an excellent wine from their cellar. The cuisine has a Brazilian flair (I understand the mom is Brazilian), fresh and delicious. We anticipated each course and were never disappointed. Although the region is full of great places to eat, you'll be hard-pressed to find one better than Gattavecchi!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wahoowa1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wine tasting at the Gattavecchi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I had a marvelous 1st experience at the restaurant on Sunday afternoon, we toured the ancient wine cellar, sampled and purchased some of their marvelous wines as well. The experience was so lovely that we are going back for dinner on another evening. I should also mention that the staff and owner are a delight and make you feel very welcome.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcculloch1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulle, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A delightful lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

A sunny but somewhat windy early afternoon. Lunch in the garden. Authentic Tuscan food, good quality, a charming Vernaccia, served by friendly staff. Excellent price / quality ratio. Do not forget to visit the wine cellar !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Etienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gattavecchi also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Sant'Albino, Montepulciano
 

Been to Gattavecchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing