We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location in montepulciano”
Review of Albergo Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Duomo
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great location in montepulciano”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We recently spend 3 nights at this hotel and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was spacious and the bed comfortable and overlooked the colourful courtyard. Breakfast was very good with a large range of things to choose from and the best cupacciano and sat in the lovely courtyard to have breakfast when weather allowed. We caught the funicular from the station and then the mini bus to piazza Grande, so didn't have to walk far with our bags. Good location near piazza Grande and plenty of great restaurants to choose from. We loved it here and did a sidetrip to Pienza quite easily by local bus. Very helpful and friendly staff. Lovely hilltop town. And yes it has a lift.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheza26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    126
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
51
184
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A charming boutique hotel, perfect for an overnight stay or two in this gem of a hill town.
Located down the street from the main square, and the side of the duomo, it is small place, but perfect in all ways. It even has an elevator!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight at Albergo Duomo which is right in the centre of Montepulciano. Bags of character in this old building which is now a hotel. As we were only staying one night we booked a standard room which was more than adequate for us.The room was big enough for us and the bathroom was compact but functional.
Excellent parking included which is close by and does mean you can drive to the front door to drop off bags before taking the car back to the hotels spaces (100 yards to walk but much further to drive due to the narrow streets and hills).
Excellent breakfast which we enjoyed in the courtyard as the weather was hot. Lots of choice; cereals, meats, cheeses and cakes etc
Good recommendations for dinner.
Would be hard to do better in Montepulciano.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Newtotuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great location in town, but not too far from parking. Helpful front desk staff. Nice seating area in the lobby, too wet to use the patio, but looked very nice. Great breakfast spread with custom made coffee drinks. Room was large, but the shower was laughably small. We did book the smallest room available to save money, but if you are a larger person, I would splurge for the extra 10 euros for the standard size room. We loved Montepulciano, and would stay in both this town and this hotel again.

Room Tip: if you can't handle a small shower, spend the extra few dollars for a standard room, rather than...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dana793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Such a wonderful place . A fantastic hotel in a beautiful village . Excellent location , free parking , comfortable rooms and wonderful staff make this a must . Thank you to the staff for making us so welcome .

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Upon our arrival, my Husband and I parked the renal car at the very bottom of the hill and dragged our suitcases u0p the hill toAlbergo Duomo which felt like hours until we reached the hotel.... the front desk reception worker was so kind and offered to drive us to retrieve our car so we could follow him back in our car for parking!! Such great service! The reception workers, one male and one female, were so incredibly kind and gave us great recommendations for food and wine.

There is free ice wine and biscotti in the livingroom area near the fireplace. Given that we were here just after Christmas it was so comfortable and lovely sitting on the couch sippping wine near the fireplace!

There is an orange hotel cat that you just cannot miss to pet. Nice little court yard if you like to sit out for a cigarette or coffee...

Overall amazing expereince.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachGypsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We only stayed one night in Montepulciano, but will definately go back. The city is beautiful and surrounding Tuscany is a MUST see. Our room at this B&B was great and even had a view of the rolling countryside. Very spacious and clean. The breakfast was great and filling. Location is on the top of the mountain. Do not attempt to walk from city gates. there is an orange bus that comes around every 1/2 hour or so. You get a one day ticket at any Tabbachi for one euro. Catch the bus at any bus stop you see. It's a very steep city. We walked it without knowing about small bus, i would NOT recommend the walk to B&B. Would stay at this hotel again in a second.

Room Tip: Get a room with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j9smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
768 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
275 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Marzocco
Albergo Il Marzocco
#19 of 28 in Montepulciano
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
#11 of 28 in Montepulciano
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Duomo

Property: Albergo Duomo
Address: Via di San Donato 14, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergo Duomo is a small family run hotel near Piazza Grande the main square of Montepulciano historical centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergo Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Duomo Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing