We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Geo and Ivana welcome us like family. Best place to stay!!!”
Review of Meuble il Riccio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montepulciano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meuble il Riccio
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Geo and Ivana welcome us like family. Best place to stay!!!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

With fresh baked goods made by Ivana every morning. Gio will suggest the restaurant and call to make reservation, you couldn't ask for better services from them. The rooms are big and the beds are very comfortable and the view of the valley from your bedroom is amazing

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlucisano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear rlucisano,
Your review gratifies us so much. Sometimes words are better than anything because they depart from the heart.
Grazie mille.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    84
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
104
438
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Needham, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed here for three nights in early November 2013 and were very pleased with the service, room quality, and overall helpfulness of the owners and staff.

Even before we arrived, Gio was a godsend. We had a hard time finding our way around the town. And, literally, it is 'around the town'. Access to this particular hilltown is via a winding road that hugs the hill as it ascends. We made it into the town access road, then continued too far and were descending out of Montepulciano. A phone call to the Mueble il Riccio got us back on track and we were soon in the correct parking lot (as an aside, there are about 8 numbered lots around town for overnight and day visitors).

Next, and this could be my only knock on the inn, we rolled our bags across the plaza and into the inn. Unfortunately, there is no elevator so we lugged them up step by step.

Once situated in our room, we had a chance to take in the fantastic view of the Tuscan countryside as the sun set. It was beautiful, as is the sunrise; the room faces east, so if you like sunrises, you will enjoy watching daybreak over Tuscany. The room itself (one of the suites, possibly #4) was quite large, perfectly clean, featured a modern, beautiful, roomy bathroom, access to a balcony and had a little alcove space, accessible via circular staircase, above the main room.

The room had a nice strong wi-fi signal, which was great, since we needed it to research excursions for our short stay here.

Breakfast was good, but I would not say great. The homemade breakfast cakes and cappuccino were very tasty, but there wasn't any fresh fruit. Cereal and toast were offered, as well as a kind of frozen coffee milkshake/frappe, which I tasted but didn't think was cold enough to have again (it was also sold for an extra charge). I should note regarding breakfasts that I have not developed a taste for European style breakfasts and have never had one to rave about.

Regarding the helpfulness of the innkeepers here, there is no doubt. While we were there, they helped us find the laundromat in Montepulciano, booked us dinner reservations, a winery tour and helped get us on the highway to Florence. Very helpful and friendly at all times.

I would love to return someday and would definitely stay there again, except will pack lighter next time!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meubleilricciohotel, Owner at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear MEB 81, thank you for sharing your opinion about our small hotel and we are very happy that your stay with us was enjoyable even if we can not understand why if everything is "perfectly clean" in the detailed assessment you give a rating of 4 instead of 5.
We hope to see you again.
Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at the Meuble Il Riccio in October and hope to return one day soon to this elegant
family owned B & B. The rooms are lovely, clean, and good sized. Gio and Ivana are friendly hosts who take pride in their establishment and strive to make you feel at home. It was the best part of our trip to Tuscany.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuAnn3705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear LuAnn3705,
it is a pleasure for us to receive reviews like yours. Through these we can see that our hard work had excellent results. For us it is important that our clients feel like at home.
Thank you and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

This beautiful home has been made into a quaint, amazing Inn. The owners are family, well they make you feal like family. The view is beautiful, the breakfast was amazing and the location is perfect. They will respond to your emails and get you with a hug. God bless this wonderful Inn, honestly, the best hotel on a 17 day trip. Make sure you can climb stairs as there is no lift we saw. We will be back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jrsplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear jrsplorer,
Your review gratifies us so much. Sometimes words are better than anything because they depart from the heart.
Grazie mille.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed in the Mueble il Riccio for three nights, 11/27 - 29. Wonderful base for us to explore that region in Tuscany. I requested the room with the best view, and was not disappointed. Wow. We stayed on the Ricchio suite, and, my only regret is that is was too cold to sit out on the balcony and enjoy a nice bottle of wine, which, of course, won't be too hard to find in that town. I am jealous of those who had and will have the pleasure of that balcony in warmer weather.
The room is updated with most everything new, and tastefully decorated. Wi Fi worked great.
Great breakfast, wonderful hosts, fantastic location. This is your hotel if you are thinking of staying in this area of Tuscany.

Thank you, Giorgio and Ivana.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MielechM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear MielechM,
Thank you for the beautiful words and great description. What can I say more? We look forward to during the summer so you can take advantage of the balcony and the wonderful view.
Ciao Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

If you're visiting Tuscany, or Montepulciano more specifically, you should stay here! From the moment my wife and I arrived, Ivana was a great host. She was friendly, made us breakfast the following morning, and made us feel welcome. Giorgio offered us directions when we were about to leave. Our room was one of the best I've ever stayed at -- large, bright, loft with sitting area, and balcony with a stunning view of the town on one side and the country on another. Even in our short stay, we spent a lot of time on the balcony, enjoying the sun and the evening breeze and taking in the views. The building overall is also nice, historic and charming. Make sure to check out the rooftop deck also.

Two things to keep in mind: breakfast is not included, but was reasonably priced. There are no elevators, so be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs.

This is a great hotel on all fronts: the hosts, the building, location, rooms, and atmosphere. Definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porjotok_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear porjotok_Boston
thank you for your description. Our door is always open for guests like you.
Hope to see you again.
Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at this lovely property for three nights in mid-October and used Montepulciano as our home base to explore a bit of Tuscany. We chose a view room in the Riccio Suite, a newly renovated space offering beautiful accommodations. The view was utterly magnificent looking out over the town of Montepulciano and the Tuscan countryside. The magic of the light at twilight and in the early morning hours is breathtaking.

What sets this property apart is the fact that you truly feel like you are being welcomed into the home of a wonderful Italian family, which indeed you are. Giorgio and Ivana were wonderful hosts; grazie mille for the fabulous dinner recommendations! The property itself is a home, not a hotel, which comes across in the ambience and service. We also thoroughly recommend enjoying a glass of wine on the tiny roof top terrace which gives you a magnificent perch above the town and countryside.

Our room was very comfortable with an updated, but still traditional feel. The bathroom was wonderful, very large with a nice tub/shower and as wonderful a view as the main bedroom. Free wi-fi worked well and there was ample storage as well as a small mini-bar/fridge. The room was absolutely immaculate as was the entirety of the property.

Montepulciano itself is a wonderful home base for exploring Tuscany. We enjoyed exploring the area during the day and then returning to the lovely small town atmosphere. Walking across the piazza after dinner in the evening was magical; perhaps one or two other people but otherwise just you and centuries of history surrounding you.

Lovely stay from start to finish. Would highly recommend enjoying the hospitality of this wonderful family in this stunning area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lebnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meubleilricciohotel, Proprietario at Meuble il Riccio, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear lebnv,
we remember you with pleasure. We always try to do our best for our guests. We are glad that you have been comfortable here at Meuble il Riccio and Riccio Suite and we look forward again.
Ciao Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
1.6 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meuble il Riccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meuble il Riccio

Property: Meuble il Riccio
Address: Via Talosa 21, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caroti family is delighted to announce the opening of another new place to stay called "Riccio Suite" on the first floor of the family's palace where, on the second floor there is the "Meublè il Riccio" which has been open twenty-eight years ago.The "Riccio Suite" has five beautiful bedrooms with panoramic view and old fashion Tuscan style furniture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Meuble Il Riccio Hotel Montepulciano
Meuble Il Riccio Montepulciano
Hotel Meuble Il Riccio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing