We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sant' Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sant' Antonio
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
South Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

This is our second time staying at this beautiful property. It was just as wonderful the second time as the first. The accommodations are beautiful, clean and so inviting. My husband says this is the most relaxing place he has ever been. The grounds are wonderful and always so well maintained. The staff is friendly and Nico is fantastic. He always makes us feel welcome, is a wealth of information and so generous with his travel knowledge. We will never consider staying anywhere else when we travel to Montepulciano. We cannot wait to return. A special thank you to Nico and his staff for making our trip so special. Ann C.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two bedroom apartment with frescos. It had a fireplace in the kitchen that was won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
102
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cragg Vale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I have been meaning to write this review for a while now...but i cant find the words to type that does this place justice.

I went to santantonio for the first time last september. I travelled with my boyfriend who has been going since it first opened. This was also my first trip to italy and I had a fantastic week Three of the highlights are below (there were dozens)

The view from the pool/room was amazing, looking in both direction towards monte amiata and the other way across the Val di chiana, it was so peacefull to just sit and with a glass of wine (provided to all apartments for a small charge) and look over the scenary.

The second favourite thing about santantonio is the people who work and holiday here. All the staff were very friendly, even the gardeners come by for a chat. Nico and his family make you feel like family, nothing is too much. Not speaking a word of italian was a worry for me, but this wasnt a problem as there were some other english couples staying who pointed me towards some great local sights.

the third best part for me was the tuesday Night meal where all guests staying at santantonio can attend a home cooked meal (prepared by Nico's wife Elena and the Cook Suzie) This was situated in the old stables that have been restored into a fantastic dining room (in summer its on the Terrace) This is a great way to meet the guests and share travel tips/stories about the area.

Other things that stood out for me was the location, value for money, quality of the rooms, quality of the oudoor areas and the attention to detail of every little thing

You cannot sum up what a magnifficent place this is. you simply must travel here if you are to experience the real tuscany. Im getting excited as im setting off to visit santantonio again in 4 weeks....cant wait!

I certainly wont stay anywhere else in tuscany. Tripadvisor only lets you put 5 stars...this place is off the scale!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We just returned from Sant' Antonio three weeks ago. We went with three other couples. Sant' Antonio is a beautiful and relaxing property. The views form the property are fantastic. All of our rooms were beautiful and spotless. Nico, Elena and their staff were great hosts. Nico helped our group plan our trip and his recommendations were great. He helped us with restaurant reservations, tour guides, and winery tours. The property is also in a great location. We took day trips to Cortona, Florence, Assisi, and Siena. We are planning on returning and spending more time relaxing and enjoying the property. We cannot stress how beautiful Sant' Antonio is and how great the service Nico and his staff provides. Sam and Lisa

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Thank you very much for the detailed and most wonderful review that you have written. On behalf of the staff and my wife, we are honored that you enjoyed your stay with us at La Terrazza apartment.
I was very happy to read that towards the end of your stay, you felt part of the small historic town of Montepulciano and a "local" - we try to reflect such feelings in our properties. Grazie tanto and kind regards from Tuscany!
Nico, Elena and the staff of Sant' Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

This review is based on our late October stay at the apartment La Terrazza in Montepulciano city, not at the Sant' Antonio resort. (We looked at two apartments at the country resort as we were checking in and they would be spectacular during the summer months.)

The apartment in town is lovely and very convenient to shops and restaurants. By the end of our week there we felt like locals – it’s hard not to feel a little self-satisfied as you stride purposefully, bag of bread or groceries in hand, to your attractive front door on a street that sees a lot of tourists making their way up or down the hill on the town’s main drag.

This was our first time in Tuscany, so we used Montepulciano as a base for short car trips most days, but we never drove further than about an hour away. We had originally thought we would take day trips to Siena and Assisi, but we ended up staying much closer. As Nico had told us by email before we arrived, there is a lot to see right in the area. Montepulciano itself is charming enough that it would be perfectly pleasant to be there for a week without a car, although getting to and from the town without one might be daunting.

We used the kitchen a couple of nights when we’d had our main meal at lunch. All we wanted for supper was some pasta and wine, so we found a nearby source of handmade ravioli and pici. Dressed in the lovely olive oil produced by our hosts at Sant' Antonio, and accompanied by an inexpensive local Rosso di Montepulciano, with a view out over the valley from the terrace, that simple fare was a fine way to end the day.

The bedroom was spacious and beautifully decorated and furnished. Nico asks guests before they book whether any prospective sleepers in the bed are over a certain height – the attractive wooden head and footboards would be a little tight for someone 6’ 2” or taller. The gorgeous large bathroom has two separate sinks, each with its own shelf space – a welcome change from many rooms where there is simply not enough space to store things right near at hand. The walk in shower is on the small side but the glass doors close completely and the water stays in the shower – again, a welcome change from what we have often seen. (There is also a very attractive large tub that we didn't use.) There is a small second bathroom that could be used by someone using the sleep sofa in the sitting room.

There’s a dining room that seats 6, which we never used. We did use the sitting room/TV room, which has a sofa, coffee table and a large round dining height table which became our office to plan our days. The wifi was strong for our netbook there and we also used the desktop computer on a small desk near the front entry. There is no printer but the hosts will print documents emailed to the main office at Sant' Antonio, and Susanna (who comes daily) will bring them to the apartment within a day.

Guests staying in town will first check in at the resort a few kilometers outside town, and will be brought into town for a good orientation to parking and other logistical matters. Parking is a bit complicated but we never had a problem finding a spot in the non-paid spaces some 200-300 meters away. There is a steep walk up to the front door of the apartment from the level where the most likely parking spaces are found. On our arrival we checked in at the resort, and simply left it to our hosts to get our bags to the apartment. On departure it was no problem to roll them downhill to our car.

Others have commented on the warm and helpful hosts, and we heartily agree. Nico was very helpful with advance information, and he booked a restaurant reservation for the night of our arrival. He told us he’d be away on business during our stay, but that we’d be in good hands with Elena, and we certainly were. She was very responsive to any requests for advice or assistance, but we were pretty self-sufficient. The map of the town and nearby areas (that Elena designed) is full of suggestions for dining. We always dropped the Sant Antonio name when we booked a table or even just stopped in a shop, and were always met with a positive response and a request to convey good wishes back to Nico and Elena. They are each fascinating persons and if time permits, it’s well worth getting to know more about them.

By late October the number of guests staying at the resort had dropped, and there was no mid-week social event/barbecue for the guests, which seems to be a very popular feature during the warmer months. I would imagine that this would be a highlight of the week and would try to get to it if offered, even if staying at an apartment in town.

Nico and Elena have several other apartments in town, including at least one that is still in the process of being readied for guests. If Elena’s decorating touch at La Terrazza is any indication, the new one will be another gem.

Because we still have much to see in central and northern Tuscany, there may be several trips to Italy before we return to Montepulciano, but when we do so we will try to stay with Nico and Elena again, either at the resort or at an apartment in town. They are special people and it shows in how they treat their guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

As I reread some of the reviews, it looks like we are not the only ones to stay here more than once. That should tell you about the quality of the accommodations and the hospitality that you will find at Sant' Antonio. We again stayed in #5 Signorelli, a stand alone apartment. Nico continues to make improvements and this time the furniture had been replaced, there was a new flat screen TV and also wifi. i think the pots and pans were new too. The linens are wonderful and having them replaced midweek is a very nice luxury. Most self-catering apartments do not do this. Susanna is a delight, she even did a little bit of laundry for us. Her midweek dinner was delicious and it was great fun to meet some of the other vacationers.

Nico is one of the most gracious hosts you will meet. You will not be disappointed if you decide to stay here. The location is great for visiting the surrounding towns and there are a couple of restaurants (Tre Stella and Il Covo) near by that we enjoyed without having to go into town for dinner.

Thank you Nico and Susanna for another wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The Signorelli Apt. has a large bright bathroom with a separate tub and stand alone shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank descantsopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

As a solo traveller, I booked this resort because I had hoped to be sharing it with friends who had arrived in Italy before me. They changed their plans at the last minute, but the resort was so peaceful and close to Montepulciano in alta, that I had a wonderful time exploring and meeting the locals. The view is spectacular from the little cottage I stayed in called Michelangelo. It had two bedrooms and two bathrooms and a lovely kitchen, although there was no oven. A girlfriend joined me for the last two days and we had a lovely time walking to the top of the hill on the property and enjoying the pool and surrounding area. The only thing that I would suggest would be to put some milk in the fridge and a couple of pieces of fruit for late arrivals. I was so tired from driving that I didn't want to get in the car again late, to hunt for those items. Just a thought. All the rest was lovely and I left feeling very relaxed. I'd recommend it highly to families with children who can swim. (Pool not fenced).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndependentBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell Town, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

This was our second time and just what we needed, some time out from the hectic lifestyle we all seem to have these days. The resort is just simply stunning, the service from all the staff just simply stunning also. We were in apartment 7 Piero della Francesca, a beautifully private apartment with views that you would die for. The resort is, to quote Tina Turner, "simply the best".
Thank you Nico and Susanna for making our stay just perfect and special, for a special event in our lives.

David and Irene

Room Tip: Apartment 7 Piero della Francesca if you want an apartment with view to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
As owners and staff, we try our best to meet the needs of all our guests however at times we are very lucky to have guests that place "the cherry on the cake" and makes all our hard work very satisfactory. It was great to welcome you back and if all those who stay with us were like you - I would have the best job in the entire world.... which I actually do :-)
Grazie tanto - Nico, Elena and all the staff at Sant' Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
1.7 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Frateria di San Benedetto
La Frateria di San Benedetto
#15 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sant' Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant' Antonio

Property: Sant' Antonio
Address: Via della Montagna 6/8, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 800 year old converted monastery situated in the heart of the Tuscan country side, a short 3 km drive from the historic Renaissance town of Montepulciano renowned for its wines, olive oil, local cuisine and culture. Sant' Antonio is converted into spacious unique accommodations with wonderful views of the Valdichiana and lakes on one side of the property and the famous rolling hills, forests and olive groves on the other. This historic structure is located on over 70 hectares of gardens with terraces, biological farm land and forests with a private 2 mile walking and running trail that has breathtaking views past each corner... Sant' Antonio is ideally located close to Montepulciano where numerous local restaurants, coffee bars, enotecas, artesian shops and supermarkets are situated as well as to visit towns and medieval villages such as Montepulciano, Pienza, Montalcino, Monticchiello, Cortona, Cetona, San Quirico, Siena, Assisi, Perugia, Arezzo, Orvieto.... And many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Odigeo so you can book your Sant' Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Antonio Montepulciano
Sant Antonio Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing