We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Effortless relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sant' Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sant' Antonio
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Herts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Effortless relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at Sant Antonio outside Montepulciano for 6 days. The buildings are typical Tuscany and very rustic looking. Inside they are well appointed and equipped. Nico was on a well deserved break when we arrived but Pamela was a great deputy and we were made to feel welcome from the very start. Lots of information about the area, booking restaurants on our behalf and giving advice on what to see an what to avoid. The setting of Sant Antonio is wonderful with fantastic views over the Tuscan landscape. We did the 4K walk around the estate. Hard work on those steep hills but worth it for the views and the wildlife. The only negative for us was the very hard beds which did take some getting used to. Overall a great stay and Nico and the team made it very special for us all.

Room Tip: Number 11 has a great view and a private garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardengirlHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you for the review and we are happy to read you had an enjoyable stay. Pamela is a star and allows us to “leave” Sant’ Antonio in good hands for a few days at the end of summer with my wife and kids before school starts.
Mattresses: In my 20 years of hotel experience in the UK, Africa and Italy, bedding is perhaps one of the hardest issues to get correct as we all have specific requirements. Some prefer harder beds and some soft. We try our best to provide quality; our mattresses are certified orthopedic and the best we could find according the EEC laws which are specific for resistance to ignition / fire as required by law in a property open to the public. The latter places us under some restriction compared to the vast variety that can be purchased for domestic use, however, after reading your constructive posting, we called our supplier to furnish us with 5cm “top” mattresses to make it softer if one requires softer bedding.
Grazie tanto and we look forward welcoming you back.
Nico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
102
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for 3 weeks in the two apartments in the centre of Montepulciano and regularly made use of the facilities at the Sant' Antonio estate a few minutes out of town. Nico was a faultless and accommodating host and I thoroughly recommend a stay. It's not by accident that Sant' Antonio scores so highly on trip advisor. Be sure you attend the Tuesday night dinners and make use of the wonderful bbq sites.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VPO_BurySE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Grazie tanto for your very kind words and we look forward welcoming you back. It was a real pleasure having you stay with us. A presto -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have stayed with Nico at Sant' Antonio once before and loved it then as now. Each of the rooms is actually a small apartment with separate bedroom and living quarters. My only bad remark might be no aircon, but that is the usual situation in most of the villas and apartments you rent in Italy, so not that much of a problem. The windows open and we get breezes at night when we are there. I loved having a small kitchenette with stove, refrigerator and sink. We could eat breakfast there then go out into the countryside to have a wonderful lunch at some fabulous restaurant. Then we would come home (and we did think of it as our home in Italy) to make a small dinner. Also at least once a week the women who work there make an Italian dinner that I heartily recommend. We loved it. Nico speaks several languages and make everyone feel right at home as well as pointing out things to see and places to visit. He was also helpful at the farmacia when my husband left his prescription meds at home. Nico talked to the pharmacist and they were able to supply the meds my husband needed. We also enjoyed the pool and loved meeting the other people staying at Sant' Antonio. Although we never used the wood burning stone barbeques they always smelled wonderful. Maybe next time. As stated before, Nico and his family live onsite and always wanting to help us have the perfect meal, trip, and vacation. Plan ahead it is getting harder to get into Sant' Antonio. The small cottages at the rear of the property are preferable. We stayed at the front and that was still fine. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Cottages in rear are lovely. But every room is individually decorated and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckjgo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Apart from the bad weather everything else about our stay in Montepulciano was wonderful. We felt very privileged to be staying in the beautiful city of Montepuliciano in Nico's wonderful apartment. The Terrace had the most amazing view that looked constantly different at the different stages of the day. Nico's recommendations for eating were great. Nothing was too much trouble and Nico happily followed up on emails both before the holiday and during our stay there.
As entwined by another reviewer it is a real feeling of satisfaction as you open the door to your apartment with your groceries, all the tourists look enviously at you.

We will be back to stay here agin, and will recommend it to everyone!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jenny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Very close to beautiful Montepulciano, Sant' Antonio is an oasis of warmth and hospitality.
Surrounded by the picturesque Tuscan rolling hills and the onsite woods and olive trees...it could not get any better than this. You can visit Pienza, Monticciello, Montalcino, Cortona and Sienna all within 30-40 minutes or less on good country roads
Nico is the ultimate host, travel coordinator, wine, olive oil and food expert. Ask Nico anything and he has the answer and the solution !! ...and will make it happen for you.
The accommodations are top shelf. In a 800 year old stone structure that is modernized and met all of our needs. The swimming pool and wood burning stone bbq areas are a bonus.Pick some of the rosemary and sage herbs abound and enjoy your roast lamb and a wonderful bottle of Vino Nobile !!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimOHagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
We are honored to read such a review especially from a professional with your background and experience in the industry. Thank you very much and we will proudly let our staff know - Grazie tanto!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

I have been staying at Sant Antonio for 14 years now, and still I am blown away by its beauty and excellent standards every time I visit.
This is a 12th century monastery set in olive groves with a beautiful swimming pool. It is split into 13 very tastefully done apartments all with cooking facilities.
The surroundings are peaceful with stunning views over the Tuscan countryside. The local towns are a delight, the nearest being Montepulciano which has loads of great restaurants and shops.
Must visits are Bagno Vignoni and do try and eat at La Porta in nearby Monticchiello.
The big plus is the owner Nico and his family live on site, and they are always there for advice and problems.
Really cannot rate Sant Antonio highly enough, just brilliant

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MilesHinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had high expectations of Sant’ Antonio after reading so many glowing reviews and we were not disappointed. Nico was the most wonderful host – we were warmly greeted on arrival and shown around our apartment (No. 7). Nothing was too much trouble for Nico and he was even kind enough to make dinner reservations in advance for us. We cannot praise Nico or Sant’ Antonio highly enough!

Our apartment was more spacious than it appeared in the photos, was well equipped and immaculately clean. The huge fluffy bath towels and Egyptian cotton bed linen were a treat and even better still they were all changed mid-week of our stay. Having our own private covered terrace was a bonus and the views of the countryside were breathtaking. It was so relaxing reclining on our garden chairs as our exit from Rome in our rental car earlier in the day had severely stressed both of us. This peaceful haven was just what we needed after the crowds and traffic of Rome. In fact it was absolute perfection!

There are many good restaurants to be found in Montepulciano just 5 minutes drive away or even in the other direction of Sant’ Albino where we dined at Tre Stelle on a number of occasions and found the food to be excellent and very reasonably priced.

Cheers, Renata & Ken

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wrenmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Frateria di San Benedetto
La Frateria di San Benedetto
#16 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.7 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sant' Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant' Antonio

Property: Sant' Antonio
Address: Via della Montagna 6/8, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 800 year old converted monastery situated in the heart of the Tuscan country side, a short 3 km drive from the historic Renaissance town of Montepulciano renowned for its wines, olive oil, local cuisine and culture. Sant' Antonio is converted into spacious unique accommodations with wonderful views of the Valdichiana and lakes on one side of the property and the famous rolling hills, forests and olive groves on the other. This historic structure is located on over 70 hectares of gardens with terraces, biological farm land and forests with a private 2 mile walking and running trail that has breathtaking views past each corner... Sant' Antonio is ideally located close to Montepulciano where numerous local restaurants, coffee bars, enotecas, artesian shops and supermarkets are situated as well as to visit towns and medieval villages such as Montepulciano, Pienza, Montalcino, Monticchiello, Cortona, Cetona, San Quirico, Siena, Assisi, Perugia, Arezzo, Orvieto.... And many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Sant' Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Antonio Montepulciano
Sant Antonio Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing