We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tuscan Haven”
Review of Sant' Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sant' Antonio
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent a week exploring some of the hill towns of Tuscany returning every afternoon to Sant'Antonio resort to recharge before heading out again. Everything about this place is perfect. In retrospect we wished we had stayed two weeks instead of only one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurore48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Sant' Antonio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed last week in "La Terraza" which is located in the town of Montepulciano. It is a beautiful apartment located in the heart of the town. However, this has it good and bad points: parking is quite an issue as with most Tuscan hillside towns and I can only imagine it could be a nightmare in the height of the season. Also you need to be fit to contend with the daily haul up and down to your parked car, along with groceries etc. as it is always a good 10 minute walk. We were hoping to walk out into a lively night time scene - this was not the case as the town becomes extremely quiet after 6:00 pm. We could only conclude that this was because of the location of the apartment - it is at least 2/3 of the way up the main thoroughfare. There seemed to be a bit more life at the foot of the town, but it is not like San Gimignano (where we stayed last year) which is quite vibrant at night. I think it is good to share this information with fellow travelers in order to avoid disappointment... Also the bed in the apartment has a very firm/hard mattress which takes some getting used to - another reviewer pointed this out last month. We shared our concerns with Nico and he did provide a duvet topper which somewhat helped. All in all it was an interesting experience for us and we loved the view from the terrace of the apartment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlingorla049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Pristine Tuscan setting. Pictures do not do it justice. Amazing views and closely situated to Montepulciano. Nico is the consummate host and very knowledgeable of Tuscany and related areas of interest. Miles of walking trails through olive groves, rolling hills, and private woods. Pool and large terrace are a refuge after a long day of sightseeing. The weekly dinner option was delicious and the charm of the renovated old stables was the perfect setting. Very clean and spacious rooms with comfortable beds, plentiful natural light through large windows, and kitchen that has everything needed. Restaurants within 5 minutes. Grounds are impeccably kept. Would come again and highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We are staying in #6 apartment, which is located on the second floor which lends fairytale views of...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeReignsHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at Sant Antonio outside Montepulciano for 6 days. The buildings are typical Tuscany and very rustic looking. Inside they are well appointed and equipped. Nico was on a well deserved break when we arrived but Pamela was a great deputy and we were made to feel welcome from the very start. Lots of information about the area, booking restaurants on our behalf and giving advice on what to see an what to avoid. The setting of Sant Antonio is wonderful with fantastic views over the Tuscan landscape. We did the 4K walk around the estate. Hard work on those steep hills but worth it for the views and the wildlife. The only negative for us was the very hard beds which did take some getting used to. Overall a great stay and Nico and the team made it very special for us all.

Room Tip: Number 11 has a great view and a private garden.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardengirlHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for the review and we are happy to read you had an enjoyable stay. Pamela is a star and allows us to “leave” Sant’ Antonio in good hands for a few days at the end of summer with my wife and kids before school starts.
Mattresses: In my 20 years of hotel experience in the UK, Africa and Italy, bedding is perhaps one of the hardest issues to get correct as we all have specific requirements. Some prefer harder beds and some soft. We try our best to provide quality; our mattresses are certified orthopedic and the best we could find according the EEC laws which are specific for resistance to ignition / fire as required by law in a property open to the public. The latter places us under some restriction compared to the vast variety that can be purchased for domestic use, however, after reading your constructive posting, we called our supplier to furnish us with 5cm “top” mattresses to make it softer if one requires softer bedding.
Grazie tanto and we look forward welcoming you back.
Nico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for 3 weeks in the two apartments in the centre of Montepulciano and regularly made use of the facilities at the Sant' Antonio estate a few minutes out of town. Nico was a faultless and accommodating host and I thoroughly recommend a stay. It's not by accident that Sant' Antonio scores so highly on trip advisor. Be sure you attend the Tuesday night dinners and make use of the wonderful bbq sites.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VPO_BurySE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Grazie tanto for your very kind words and we look forward welcoming you back. It was a real pleasure having you stay with us. A presto -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have stayed with Nico at Sant' Antonio once before and loved it then as now. Each of the rooms is actually a small apartment with separate bedroom and living quarters. My only bad remark might be no aircon, but that is the usual situation in most of the villas and apartments you rent in Italy, so not that much of a problem. The windows open and we get breezes at night when we are there. I loved having a small kitchenette with stove, refrigerator and sink. We could eat breakfast there then go out into the countryside to have a wonderful lunch at some fabulous restaurant. Then we would come home (and we did think of it as our home in Italy) to make a small dinner. Also at least once a week the women who work there make an Italian dinner that I heartily recommend. We loved it. Nico speaks several languages and make everyone feel right at home as well as pointing out things to see and places to visit. He was also helpful at the farmacia when my husband left his prescription meds at home. Nico talked to the pharmacist and they were able to supply the meds my husband needed. We also enjoyed the pool and loved meeting the other people staying at Sant' Antonio. Although we never used the wood burning stone barbeques they always smelled wonderful. Maybe next time. As stated before, Nico and his family live onsite and always wanting to help us have the perfect meal, trip, and vacation. Plan ahead it is getting harder to get into Sant' Antonio. The small cottages at the rear of the property are preferable. We stayed at the front and that was still fine. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Cottages in rear are lovely. But every room is individually decorated and nice.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ckjgo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Apart from the bad weather everything else about our stay in Montepulciano was wonderful. We felt very privileged to be staying in the beautiful city of Montepuliciano in Nico's wonderful apartment. The Terrace had the most amazing view that looked constantly different at the different stages of the day. Nico's recommendations for eating were great. Nothing was too much trouble and Nico happily followed up on emails both before the holiday and during our stay there.
As entwined by another reviewer it is a real feeling of satisfaction as you open the door to your apartment with your groceries, all the tourists look enviously at you.

We will be back to stay here agin, and will recommend it to everyone!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jenny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montepulciano
0.6 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
428 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
473 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Ambra
Hotel Villa Ambra
#1 of 2 in Sant'Albino
172 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
781 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sant' Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant' Antonio

Address: Via della Montagna 6/8, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range: £100 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 800 year old converted monastery situated in the heart of the Tuscan country side, a short 3 km drive from the historic Renaissance town of Montepulciano renowned for its wines, olive oil, local cuisine and culture. Sant' Antonio is converted into spacious unique accommodations with wonderful views of the Valdichiana and lakes on one side of the property and the famous rolling hills, forests and olive groves on the other. This historic structure is located on over 70 hectares of gardens with terraces, biological farm land and forests with a private 2 mile walking and running trail that has breathtaking views past each corner... Sant' Antonio is ideally located close to Montepulciano where numerous local restaurants, coffee bars, enotecas, artesian shops and supermarkets are situated as well as to visit towns and medieval villages such as Montepulciano, Pienza, Montalcino, Monticchiello, Cortona, Cetona, San Quirico, Siena, Assisi, Perugia, Arezzo, Orvieto.... And many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Agoda so you can book your Sant' Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Antonio Montepulciano
Sant Antonio Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing