We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wine and very hospitable”
Review of Boscarelli

Boscarelli
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great wine and very hospitable”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Late review as we went in 9/11 but it was memorable. Francesca was a delight and spoke enough English to help us figure things out. I like that the winery isn't slick and perfect. It's truly a working small winery. We still have wine in our cellar from here. We wanted to go back on this last trip in October but ran out of time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lsavis916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    16
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Private Tour of Boscarelli”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

In our last full day in Montepulciano, my wife and I toured the Boscarelli winery, in Montepulciano. We arrived and to our surprise were the only two in our 11:00 am tour group. A very nice and extremely well versed tour guide Francesca who said she had limited English was in fact perfect for our needs. The vineyard is small by comparison to some of the larger spots in Montepulciano and Montalcino, producing in a good year 95,000 bottles of vino. 2013 has been a complicated year due to the amount of rain in the region. She noted that the conditions make it very difficult for the small producers. None the less the tour was very well done and gave my wife and I a better understanding of how the Vino Nobile di Montepulciano is created. If you are looking for a less formal not over the top winery to tour, this is a perfect spot. At the end of our tour we tasted four different Boscarelli wines and all were in their own ways wonderful and full tasting. We purchased a bottle of Vino Nobile di Montepulciano 2010 which carries the DOCG stamp for 22.00 Euros and are now deciding on whether to share it with our friends back in Ottawa, or enjoy it right here on our Patio at our Sant Antonio apartment in the heart of Montepulciano.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thughson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beware! ...you may want to stay indefinitely.”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

For us wine enthusiasts, going from winery after winery is not only a fine tasting experience but also a form to get to know in person those who laboriously dedicate their lives to the art of fine wine making year after year. At first impression, Azienda Boscarelli looks like another small and good winery…and perhaps that is one of the keys of their success. We discovered that they simple are an all organic farm. Our hostess took the time to tell us from their family history, planting, harvesting and processing methods. Located in the world famous Montepulciano area, the place is just a portrait picture, the landscape is simply beautiful. We proceeded to tour their different areas where they store and process the grapes to become wine. Once on the much anticipated tasting room, we were able to savor several varieties by year of harvesting and age. It was just a shame having to dispose all that good wine left on the glasses after each tasting! Off course, their Nocio and Vino Nobile are their top wines and you can argue what year tastes better than others, but at the end, they are all of an excellent quality, that is, to reflect the very best representation of that particular zone. We were so impressed with their wines that we had to order some to deliver home.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank elFlaco1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Loved their wine...really amazing.”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We love their wine. They only do red wine, but is amazing. Small vineyard, lovely woman, Francesca, was so informative and spoke great English. We so enjoyed her telling us about the wines and loved tasting them!! A must to visit!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KBFExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“the wine is second to none”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We had the opportunity to visit Boscarelli this fall and must say the wine is second to none. The Nocio di Boscarelli was probably the best red we tasted during our two week long visit to wineries in montalcino and Montepulciano. I must say however that Boscarelli is not set-up to entertain visitors, the place was a bit messy and disorganized. However the wine beat all expectations - 100 points out 100!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank romano w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boscarelli also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Boscarelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing