We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a week of your time”

Piazza Grande a Montepulciano
Book In Advance
More Info
US$159.35*
and up
Small-Group Montepulciano and Pienza Day Trip from Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth a week of your time”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This town has it all - the wineries, olive oil, amazing architecture and great shopping, not to mention the views and friendly people. The restaurants were charming and the food was great. Caffe Poliziano is an amazing cafe and tea parlor with great desserts - top of my list to stop and enjoy an espresso and a cannoli. Be warned - the town is very hilly and can be very difficult to walk if you have mobility issues. There is a bus you can take to get to the piazza to enjoy the panoramic views. The shops were delightful and you can buy beautiful leather goods, jewelry , shoes, food items, olive oils and wines. The pottery was also beautiful and I was tempted to purchase all of it. Of course, the retailers are more than happy to ship your purchase to your home. A return visit is already being planned in the near future! It is a great place for couples and families, as well as solo travelers. A must see for fans of the Twilight films, as the second movie was filmed here.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillyMarie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    450
    82
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
137 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“people watching”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is a lovely square to people watch, sit and enjoy the afternoon. It's quite a hike up to the square, but well worth it. Some strange statues but they are entertaining in photos. The church facade is plain and unfinished, and the square looks dull, but the people watching in small town italy makes it worthwhile.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank orlavaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tuscany Hill Town”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

You can easily spend all day roaming the idyllic streets of this small Italian hill town. We went in the off season and it was so quiet, except for the occasional group of locals passing. It felt as it we had the entire town to ourselves.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank akc375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Take all day.”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We really enjoyed visiting this lovely little place. We went on a public bus from Chianciano Terme and were advised to get off before the end of the journey and cut through straight up into the Square. Sorry cannot remember the number of the bus stop. We only had half a day so not enough time to go the whole way and walk back down into the square. There is lots to see, shops to explore and places for coffee and lunch. The wine here is superb, certainly buy some for home. The Duomo is lovely inside, the day we were there a ‘church trip’ had gone to meet the Pope in Rome! I did not like the modern sculptures in the Square, thought they were out of place and distracted from its beauty. We climbed the steps in Terrazza Del Palazzo Comunale to see the wonderful views but did not pay the extra to go higher, not for the unfit or claustrophobic! Lovely Square to sit and laze the day away, we wished we had got all day to explore. It is one of the places where filming of the 3rd series of Twilight happened, apparently its filled with students in uni holiday times!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Injebreck67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
165 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Gorgeous town”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Spent five hours in Montepulciano. Superb views from the tower in the town hall, and fascinatiung, awe-inspiring underground wine cellars. Unlike some other reviewers, we loved the chinese sculptures in the Piazza Grand. There was also an exhibition of this sculptor's work in the nearby Fortezza art gallery (in the old fort at the Western end of the town). We think his work is brilliant. But that is of course a subjective viewpoint.

This town really does deserve the time to explore all the steep little alleyways and hidden courtyards. And each of the eight (EIGHT!) churches has an individual charm of its own.

This is a place not to be rushed through in two hours or less - after all it can take more than half that time just to get a meal!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piazza Grande a Montepulciano also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Piazza Grande a Montepulciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing