We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”
Review of Relais Ortaglia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Relais Ortaglia
Ranked #9 of 44 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We are discriminating travelers and found Ortaglia to exceed all of our expectations. From the friendly treatment, the beautiful grounds and views to the relentless attentiveness to our needs, Terencio and Mara could of not been better hosts. We were there with our three children age 27, 23 and 13 and all found a home with them. I can't express in words how amazing this place is and I am extremely particular. I look for cleanliness, flexibility, openness to new cultures, mutual respect and family values. I believe this place is particularly suited to those who wish to tour the close towns nearby as Terencio loves to practice his English and give you detailed instructions on where to go and how to get there. All local knowledge. He also produces and distributes some amazing wines and loves to share them. I rarely go to the same location twice, but this is a rare experience. The location is superb and Montepulciano was one of the most magical towns we experienced and we drove every day to a new area. I can't rate Ortaglia high enough. I was truly sad to leave but we shall return someday and I will bring Terencio some California Cabs to try.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2012

We ended up at this place by accident, luckily!!!
Everything has been said in previous comments...
Beautiful place, friendly people, great breakfast, everything was just amazing.
The view at sunset of the typical Tuscany landcape from the pool was priceless!

Dominique and Sophie, Montréal, Qc, Canada

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room downstair near the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My family and I and another family spent last week at Terenzio and Mara's beautiful Tuscan villa. This was my family's second visit in three years and our friends 9th or 10th visit. You could not pick a better place to base your stay in Tuscany. Montepulciano is just down the street and Siena, Pienza, Florance and others are near buy.

From the "infinity" pool overlooking the vinyard to the beautiful home and hospitality....it just doesn't get any better. We highly recommend Ortaglia and Tuscany.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ortaglia last month during our trip to Italy. It was honestly one of the highlights of our vacation. Located in Montepulciano, the charming B&B provides the perfect base to explore the gorgeous region of Tuscany. It is located very close to the Montepulciano’s town center, making it convenient to try out the local cuisine. The property itself is breathtaking. We were obsessed with the infinity pool overlooking rolling hills of vineyards and would spend the end of each afternoon lounging there and taking in the gorgeous scenery.

The owners, Terenzio and Mara could not be nicer or more accommodating. They were very determined to make sure we enjoyed ourselves and got to see as much of the region as possible. We opted to take one of their cooking classes which was so authentic and very special. The food was amazing (as was the scrumptious breakfast spread they had out each morning). They also own the vineyard on the property (their wine label, Ortaglia, was delicious), so they were very informed and were able to teach us a bit about the industry.

Overall, I would recommend this place in a heartbeat. We will absolutely make this part of our next trip to Italy (whenever that might be – hopefully sooner than later)!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsiegel922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

mara-- the wonderful host and energetic owner of this fabulous abode tucked in the tuscan hills overlooking montepeulciano gives this place a liveliness and charm that only adds to this fantastic villa and its surroundings!,,we enjoyed every detail from the room to every nook and cranny of the house and its location ,the pool is a designer paradise with an infinity waterfall on one side,swimming under the stars at night with the tuscan hills, groves of olive trees and vineyards can only be compared to a poet,s prose! mara is a wonderful gracious lady and the breakfast was pure pleasure!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Beautiful! Relais Ortaglia is an amazing place to stay while visiting Tuscany. The Bed & Breakfast is truly 5 star all the way. Terenzio and Mara are wonderful warm hearted hosts. We did a Food, Wine, Tour package while staying here for 7 days. Our whole time here was wonderful, from the cooking classes with Mara, to the tours of the region with Terenzio, to the accommodations. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Wow. What a destination - like something you'd see in travel and food magazines. My friend and I, both fine food and wine fans, chose the Relais Ortaglia (after reading rave reviews of this place online) for our seven day package; culinary and wine tour of the Tuscany region and surroundings. From the moment we arrived we knew we had picked the perfect spot. Our week consisted of hedonistic and top notch culinary adventures, cooking classes both at the villa and at fine establishments, wine tastings, historical sight-seeing, and more. Every day was filled with five star treatment, spa visit, and customized service details. The owners and caretakers at the Ortaglia are warm and hospitable people, and very knowledgable about the the heritage, traditions, and significances of the region, wine-making and food. I can't wait to bring my family back here - the ultimate in travel experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriscillaUng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.8 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
266 reviews
1.5 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
295 reviews
9.7 mi away
Agriturismo La Terra
Agriturismo La Terra
#4 of 44 in Montepulciano
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Relais San Bruno
Relais San Bruno
#6 of 44 in Montepulciano
306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il Tosco
Il Tosco
#1 of 44 in Montepulciano
184 reviews
4.9 mi away
Relais Villa Grazianella - Fattoria del Cerro
Relais Villa Grazianella - Fatto...
#1 of 2 in Acquaviva di Montepulciano
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Ortaglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Ortaglia

Address: Strada Per Pienza N. 29, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range: £153 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Ortaglia 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Between Arts and Paridise”. This certainly is the most appropriate way to describe the location of our farmhouse.In fact ORTAGLIA is casted towards the art of Montepulciano, with its roofs which show all the shades of garnet red, and the dome of San Biagio, third in the word for wideness and significance.On the same time the hill where the farmhouse stands out is plunged into the tranquillity and the charm of the tuscan countryside, muse of famous artists and poets.On the top of this hill, between art and paradise, in the middle of seventeen century have been laid the foundations of the ORTAGLIA farmhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Relais Ortaglia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing