We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week to remember”
Review of Relais Ortaglia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais Ortaglia
Ranked #9 of 44 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My wife Hirae and I spent a fine June week at Ortaglia enjoying the warm hospitality of Terenzio and his staff. On our first evening they prepared a barbeque feast for six guests including ourselves and we truly felt as though we were guests in their own home. We samples some of Ortaglio's fine wines including its Vino Nobile. The following day Terenzio took us on a minibus tour of some of his favourite sites in the region including Bagno Vignoni; the beautiful Romanesque Abbey San Antimo where we caught the monks Gregorian chant; S. Quirico d'Ocia; Pienza; an amazing lunch a his favourite spo; and a private tasting visit to a winery in Montalcino. Terenzio is a very informed guide with a knowledge of the development of church architecture. Ortaglia is well located and our hot days exploring Tuscany were rewarded with a late afternoon cooling swim in the pool that overlooks Montepulciano and the Ortaglia vineyards.
In the cool of the evening as darkness fell we enjoyed a magical show of lights from the host of fireflies dancing through the vines. Ortaglia is an experience not to be missed and we will return one day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derekneale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Relais Ortaglia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

Our family spent three wonderful days with Terenzio and his lovely wife Mara at this picturesque Tuscan farmhouse/winery. We have two sons - ages 11 and 9 - which may have put the damper on the romantic aspect of this setting nestled below (and minutes away) from the beautiful town of Montepulciano. Even for a family of four from Chicago, the experience was still perfect. From the delicious homemade breakfast spread, to the selection of wines, to the knowledge Terenzio shared that helped us fully experience the region, to the grand vistas surrounding this thoroughly contemporary experience originally built in the 16th century. After two weeks of traveling from Rome to Venice with Ortaglia mixed into the trip for just a few too-short days, I asked my boys what their favorite experience was in all of Italy. Their answered without hesitation - Ternzio & Mara's swimming pool!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My wife and myself spent in Terenzio's beautiful house 2 nice nights at the end of june. It was perfect place from the first moment when Terenzio welcomed us and showed us his property. The house originally from 17th century (if I am correct) is just less than 5 minutes drive from Montepulciano. Our room was upgraded and we got the room on upper floor with a small terrace with a view to wineyards. We didn't spend much time during the day in the house since we were travelling around but evenings on the terrace and breakfast were outstanding. Ily who cooked and served the breakfast was incredible cook. We enjoyed Real "dolce" italian breakfast each morning. I regret we didn't use everything that house offers: luxurious pool, covered terrace next to house, outside table with view to wineyards, dining room etc. But we wanted to travel around to see as much as possible from countryside. On the room there are very good wines made by Terenzio. Of course we drank some and bought some since he makes typical tuscany nobile and rosso and it tastes very well! If you stay here definetely follow Terenzio's advices about Montepulciano and directions for trips to Montalcino, Penza, San quirico and so on. It is worth seeing! We recommend everyting! Thank you Ily and Terenzio! My only advice is: strengten your wifi so that the clients can comfortably share experiences online with friends from the room. :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juraji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I found Relais Ortaglia through JDB Hotels. It was a tremendous find. Situated only minutes from Montepulciano it is a world unto itself. My wife and I felt the stress draining out of us the minute we sat on our balcony in the San Donato Suite. We heard nothing but the breeze and the birds. The view is of expansive vinyards and olive groves. From the very spot we sipped the excellent Ortaglia Vino Nobile and just chilled. The view from the grounds in the other direction is the lovely hill town of Montepulciano and the San Biaggio church.
Terrenzio is the primary host and is clearly a force of nature. He runs a wine importing business as well as this B&B. His good will and zest for the joys of Italy are obvious and he is happy to share his detailed knowledge of the area, art, history, wine, food, etc. Mara, his wife, is just lovely and very welcoming.
The facilities are quite nice but the thing here is the wonderful vibe of peace and beauty.
I loved this place...although, Italians like their beds much harder than typical American B&B's.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank Chillmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

driving through Italy with my bestfriend, we got to this place without a plan. drove up this windy drive and fortunatley stumbled acrossOrtaglia, Peter and Lilly got our bags and Terrenze and Mara welcomed us. what a find..!! ..we were gobsmaked and loved the whole vibe and views - wonderful. treated like royalty, all the travel help we needed, and great friendship, i want to re-visit. great base for a few days. next time Im staying for the cooking class.Kerry, South Australia

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Our stay at Ortaglia was outstanding! The grounds are beautiful with a gorgeous pool and fantastic views. the rooms have all the necessary amenities while still maintaining old world charm, but most importantly they are very clean. Terenzio and Mara are friendly, speak English well, and are very helpful. Terenzio took time to give us detailed directions for us to tour around the valley and had many great suggestions for what to see and do. We highly recomend the cooking class.
P.S. my wife and I travel often, but This is the first time I've felt compelled to write a review....Ortaglia was that good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmedvigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

When you think of Tuscany, you think of rolling green hills dotted with vineyard, fields of sunflowers and golden wheat being harvested. And the hill towns. The gorgeous hill towns. Relais Ortaglia was the perfect base to explore Tuscany. And the perfect relaxing environment to recover from busy days. Laying by the pool and looking at the fields, picking fruit off the trees, and being fed delicious breakfasts and meals by the hosts were just a few of the many memories we will have. It's a beautiful property and postcard-perfect.

The only downside is their terrific wines are not exportable to MA! And their unbelievably delicious olive oil isn't exportable at all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidAndShaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.8 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
256 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
428 reviews
1.7 mi away
Etruria Resort & Natural Spa
Etruria Resort & Natural Spa
#15 of 28 in Montepulciano
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Relais San Bruno
Relais San Bruno
#4 of 44 in Montepulciano
300 reviews
9.7 mi away
Agriturismo La Terra
Agriturismo La Terra
#5 of 44 in Montepulciano
106 reviews
1.1 mi away
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
#3 of 44 in Montepulciano
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Ortaglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Ortaglia

Address: Strada Per Pienza N. 29, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range: £155 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Ortaglia 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Between Arts and Paridise”. This certainly is the most appropriate way to describe the location of our farmhouse.In fact ORTAGLIA is casted towards the art of Montepulciano, with its roofs which show all the shades of garnet red, and the dome of San Biagio, third in the word for wideness and significance.On the same time the hill where the farmhouse stands out is plunged into the tranquillity and the charm of the tuscan countryside, muse of famous artists and poets.On the top of this hill, between art and paradise, in the middle of seventeen century have been laid the foundations of the ORTAGLIA farmhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Ortaglia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing