We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raw and Natural, yet Serene”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fattoria San Martino
Ranked #10 of 44 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 June 2013

From the restoration of the buildings, the delicate and delicious creation of the food, and the raw natural beauty of the craft -from the soap, to the linen, and the interior decorations. These blend in harmoniously to the natural concepts of the gardens, which clearly reflect both Karin and Antonio's artistic passion and the creation of a life style most of us envy.
I congratulate Karin and Antonio for building their dream farm, but with a huge thank you for allowing us to share their experience in part......it's a pity we couldn't stay there longer.
I have no hesitation in recommending Fattoria San Martino to any future visitors to the Montepulciano area..........but indulge in several days to truly appreciate the tranquility of this location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daveyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights and it was wonderful. Relaxing and very green. Breakfast was awesome. Karin makes the best apricot jam in the world! We really enjoyed the location. A short walk to the inside walls of Montepulciano with fun shops and great restaurants. Stay here and you will not be disappointed! Magnifico!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah_ANANAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

After having spent a couple of says in the busy parts of Tuscany, this place was rather relaxed and exactly what we needed. We stayed here for 2 nights and explored Montepulciano.

Nice:
- Scenery & atmosphere
- Owners
- Beds
- Free WiFi

Improvable:
- Prices (150 Euro per night, obviously cross-subsidising the other business)
- It can get very cold at night in winter month, so it might be useful to get access to a remote control for the heat pump

Conclusion:
We would recommend this place as the owners are very sympathetic and the location is lovely just outside of Montepulciano

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mastapieces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The good news was the wonderful setting, lovely hostess, good breakfast, comfortable bed and modern bathroom suite. The bad news was the furnishings, which looked as if they came off a skip; a small grotty wooden wardrobe, no drawer space at all so we had to live out of our cases, two old chairs as bedside tables and bedside lights that looked as if they had been made from old steel bowls (more worrying was that these metal lights, and the metal light hanging from the ceiling, were not earthed- and my bedside light had some insulating tape wrapped round the wiring next to the switch - which would not be allowed in the UK. Indeed, the wiring overall needs to be redone, as it looks old and poorly done). There was also some mould around the shower, damp patches on the wall behind the bidet and overall the bathroom could do with redecoration. We didnt try the organic swimming pool, but noted some small fish and frogs enjoying it. It might be only 800m (crow fly) from the city walls but I doubt many visitors would walk it unless they were fitness fanatics. Im sure tree huggers and eco freaks will love the place but I think most normal people would agree with our view. It is well over-priced for what is on offer, but a thousand or so pounds sensibly spent could transform our room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Davies20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights in June 2011. The host is lovely and boasts a beautiful property - the buildings are quintessentially Tuscan and the view is beautiful. A lovely breakfast was served every day.

Our cons were subjective to our experience. We stayed in the separate cottage which has bedrooms upstairs and bathroom downstairs. Bathrooms downstairs aren't good for me as I often wake in the middle of the night. The walls and doors are all paper thin to the point you can hear the people in the next room breathing, but if you stayed as a family this could be a pro. There was no fridge in this little cottage - you think there would be since it's sort of private to share with family - our drinks had to be stored in the main room fridge and there was another large group staying there who actually took some of our drinks. This was annoying as the town is definitely not close, you need to drive...and if you've already come back from town you can't really be bothered going back there to replace stolen drinks. This little private cottage does have it's own dining table and couch though which was good to hang out in if you wanted to avoid the people hanging out in the common area/garden just outside. The common garden area and tables are very close to the little private cottage so you can hear people talking from early morning until late night which is a bit annoying. The main reason I would not stay here again is because it is too far from the little town - I enjoy having something to do in the day. I wouldn't advise against staying here because it was enjoyable, but it definitely wasn't as enjoyable as all of the other places we stayed in Italy. If you can afford to splash some cash I would check out castello banfi - we drove there one night from this place and it is INCREDIBLE - we wish we stayed there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldwinelover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We really enjoyed our family stay here. Good location with nice views. Stylish and comfortable accomodation. Lovely breakfasts. Friendly hosts with the right balance of hands on and leaving you in peace. I wasn't that keen on the "organic swimming pool" - it's also not ideal for small children, but everything else was great.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Glinskette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This place really is magical. We couldn't have asked for anything more. We just wanted to stay for days and days of hazy sunny days on end. Everything is so beautiful and peaceful. We slept like babies in the most amazing calming room with the most amazing comfortable bed (that we are still trying to replicate today!). We met some lovely people while we were there too - it seems to attract them :)
Our hosts looked after us extremely well - including our dietary needs - cooking us gorgeous vegan meals that we relished. We felt the love in Karin's designs and special touches - and bought back some lovely mementos for our own home that remind us of this special place.
Thanks for making our stay so memorable. We hope to be back some day and hope you make it to New Zealand in the future.

Room Tip: Loved the "good mood" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
2.4 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
266 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
440 reviews
8 mi away
Agriturismo La Terra
Agriturismo La Terra
#5 of 44 in Montepulciano
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Palazzo Carletti
Palazzo Carletti
#7 of 44 in Montepulciano
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Etruria Resort & Natural Spa
Etruria Resort & Natural Spa
#15 of 28 in Montepulciano
692 reviews
0.7 mi away
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
#3 of 44 in Montepulciano
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria San Martino

Address: Via di Martiena 3, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range: £167 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pale-yellow three-storey main house was restored using natural materials and finishes, such as lime, wood, stone and beeswax. The family lives on the ground floor, while four large guestrooms, all decorated by Karin, occupy the upper floors. In the guesthouse, breakfast is served with organic products sourced or farmed locally - the five-hectare farm counts olive oil, fresh vegetables and fruits among its produce. Decor is a blend of handmade wooden pieces, local antiques and collectables and reinvented pieces - Karin gives items a new lease of life, creating cushions out of old Dutch mailbags and turning scraps linen into lampshades. When Karin Lijftogt and Antonio Giorgini moved in Tuscany and bought the 18th-century villa Fattoria San Martino, just 800 meters form the town and 1 hours drive from Florence, they had in mind a life of natural beauty and rural bliss. The couple had been working in the fashion industry in Milan throughout the '80s (Karin in design, Antonio in finance), and while they loved the place, it was starting to take its toll. I had my own collection - life was good and it could go on forever", recalls Karin. " A life around fashion and trends, a hectic life indeed, yet we loved Milan and its atmosphere. But there where disadvantages." Among them was the fact that she was spending more time "driving around on the autostrada than at home". Then Antonio's mother died an event that became a turning point in their life. " We both wanted to bring rest and quality into our lives and go back to basic, to a simple country life," explains Dutch-borne Karin. So began a new era for the couple and their two sons Flores and Miran. After have been running a farmhouse and B&B in Chianti, they finally discovered such perfection on a hill outside the walled town of Montepulciano. March Heldens from "Under tuscan skies" in the home magazine "inside out. Inspiring homes with heart". sept/oct 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fattoria San Martino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing