We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fattoria San Martino
Ranked #10 of 44 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 April 2014

"Magical" is the only word that I feel aptly describes this quaint, lovely, well-appointed organic farm. The hosts were lovely, the grounds are gorgeous and there is something soothing in the air. Must be all the green! Very close to the walled city of Montepulciano. We only planned to stay here one night but extended our stay 2 more nights, because we loved it so much. So relaxing and rejuvenating, a perfect pit stop between all the art and big cities on the rest of our Italy trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaLeopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Great and stylish Bed and Breakfast with wonderful food, the perfect view and most welcoming owners. They also propose dinner, high quality and made with love! Our kids really enjoyed the natural pool, they couldn't get enough! A real harbour of peace...

Stayed: July 2013
Thank 10nne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Perhaps it was because it was the day before my bday or maybe it was the Tuscan air but we had lunch at Fattoria San Martino and it was like eating manna from heaven! I am not kidding. We are vegans in Italy who don't eat cheese.. I know sacrilegious. Karin made us a lunch that was so over the top..in ingredients, in presentation, in freshness. There was something magical about it. ..she could be cooking at any top restaurant in NYC. We did not stay here..only found her home at the last minute on a vegetarian website but so glad we did. I really do not have words for her cooking and presentation. She made 3 courses for us including the pasta course from the wheat she grew, milled at an ancient mill in Umbria and turned into artisanal pasta in Rome in small patches.
THE BEST pasta I have ever had and yes folks, without cheese. Superb.
If you are in the area of Montepulciano...email or call ahead and see if Karin will bless you with her cooking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank blsrsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We enjoyed a weeks honeymoon at San Martino and it was perfect. The surroundings were beautiful and the food was absolutely amazing, hand-made pasta and vegetables picked from the farm! Karin is so creative with the food and has inspired us to be more creative when cooking! There is an extremely tasteful shabby chic look about the place and everything has been thought about to the finest detail. We loved lazing by the 'bio-pond' and enjoyed being so close to nature with the frogs on the lilypads! The smell of lavender hits you when you arrive, we loved it so much we brought a lavender pillow from Karin's shop! The staff were all lovely and provided a very yummy breakfast each morning. There are many secluded places to sit and enjoy the view. Montepulciano is a wonderful village, 15mins walk uphill from San Martino, take a torch for the way home!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacks2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent only 2 nights (unfortutately) during our travel around Tuscany in June. You have to visit this place to feel its magical aura. Ideal for those who seek a wine-countryside trip. High attention to detail and homey feel. No words. Definitely will go back...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This place is just fabulous!
Perfect location, amazing views, heart warming service, peaceful atmosphere, gourmet food, lovely little "lake" without chlorine, great taste and design.... everything is just as it should be or even better!
We have found THE place, where we would like to come back to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

From the restoration of the buildings, the delicate and delicious creation of the food, and the raw natural beauty of the craft -from the soap, to the linen, and the interior decorations. These blend in harmoniously to the natural concepts of the gardens, which clearly reflect both Karin and Antonio's artistic passion and the creation of a life style most of us envy.
I congratulate Karin and Antonio for building their dream farm, but with a huge thank you for allowing us to share their experience in part......it's a pity we couldn't stay there longer.
I have no hesitation in recommending Fattoria San Martino to any future visitors to the Montepulciano area..........but indulge in several days to truly appreciate the tranquility of this location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daveyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
2.4 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
265 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
437 reviews
8.0 mi away
Agriturismo La Terra
Agriturismo La Terra
#5 of 44 in Montepulciano
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Etruria Resort & Natural Spa
Etruria Resort & Natural Spa
#16 of 28 in Montepulciano
686 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palazzo Carletti
Palazzo Carletti
#7 of 44 in Montepulciano
264 reviews
0.7 mi away
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
#3 of 44 in Montepulciano
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria San Martino

Address: Via di Martiena 3, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range: £158 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pale-yellow three-storey main house was restored using natural materials and finishes, such as lime, wood, stone and beeswax. The family lives on the ground floor, while four large guestrooms, all decorated by Karin, occupy the upper floors. In the guesthouse, breakfast is served with organic products sourced or farmed locally - the five-hectare farm counts olive oil, fresh vegetables and fruits among its produce. Decor is a blend of handmade wooden pieces, local antiques and collectables and reinvented pieces - Karin gives items a new lease of life, creating cushions out of old Dutch mailbags and turning scraps linen into lampshades. When Karin Lijftogt and Antonio Giorgini moved in Tuscany and bought the 18th-century villa Fattoria San Martino, just 800 meters form the town and 1 hours drive from Florence, they had in mind a life of natural beauty and rural bliss. The couple had been working in the fashion industry in Milan throughout the '80s (Karin in design, Antonio in finance), and while they loved the place, it was starting to take its toll. I had my own collection - life was good and it could go on forever", recalls Karin. " A life around fashion and trends, a hectic life indeed, yet we loved Milan and its atmosphere. But there where disadvantages." Among them was the fact that she was spending more time "driving around on the autostrada than at home". Then Antonio's mother died an event that became a turning point in their life. " We both wanted to bring rest and quality into our lives and go back to basic, to a simple country life," explains Dutch-borne Karin. So began a new era for the couple and their two sons Flores and Miran. After have been running a farmhouse and B&B in Chianti, they finally discovered such perfection on a hill outside the walled town of Montepulciano. March Heldens from "Under tuscan skies" in the home magazine "inside out. Inspiring homes with heart". sept/oct 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fattoria San Martino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing