We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful local flavour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Bundaberg
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful local flavour”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We actually stayed 2 years ago in September 2011 and I've only just gotten around to a review, but feel I must as we had a lovely positive experience. We had a wonderful room full of character and being in a tour group we were able to check out other rooms - a wide variety of styles and finishes. Our room stepped out onto a small open area that looked down into the street for a great display of local life. Roberto was larger than life and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast terrace was lovely and the food was great and plentiful. All in all, a wonderful part of the Italian village experience!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank apace8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    77
    20
    13
    1
See reviews for
44
151
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

La Terrazza has it all. An ancient facility with great character, it shows its age from the outside but is very modern and upscale on the inside. The rooms are large, clean, and very inviting. Like others before us we had difficulty finding La Terrazza but once there the free parking was very convenient. The hotel's location is perfect for walking the city, shopping and going to restaurants. And best of all there is Roberto, the owner/manager. With Roberto every day is a beautiful opportunity to celebrate life to the fullest. I still smile just thinking of him. La Terrazza is more than a hotel, it is an experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pa-Trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Montepulciano is one of the most beautiful small towns in Tuscany. Excellent food and wine. La Terrazza Hotel is a real Tuscan architecture in the middle of the town near to Piazza Grande and many restaurants. Every room is different in size and style favouring all tastes. The gem of the place is Roberto! Full of life and activity. He makes you feel home. Will go again for a longer trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bibawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 6 nights for a wedding in early October 2013. As mentioned many times in other reviews, Roberto and his wife are just amazing. Their character and friendliness make this a great experience, but the hotel stands on its own as well. The room was large and comfortable, the breakfast large and delicious, and the location perfect: the front door opens up into a nice quiet street while the backdoor leads to the main drag in town. Their price was cheaper than most of the other places we checked in town. Free parking as well.

A couple of the more negative reviews mention that this place is hard to find. This is true but that cannot be blamed on the hotel; Montepulciano is a maze-like medieval town and finding any place buried deep in the town can be a challenge. This would be like giving a hotel in NYC bad reviews because of the traffic. After a few unsuccessful loops through town we parked our car in a pay parking lot and followed the signs on foot until we found the hotel. Roberto then gave us maps and drove us back to our car so that we could follow him back the first time. After that it was no problem.

Room Tip: The rooms that are higher up in the hotel will of course be higher above the main drag. The main st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bumpkin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Spezia, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Short distance to Montalcino and Pienza, and of course in the middle of Montepulciano itself. Roberto and his wife was helpful and nice, and he met us when we was lost at the parkingplace no 6 late in the evening. The oportunities for having red wine and soft drink was there, and the guest could fetch what they wanted and just note on a post-it paper. The breakfast sufficient, and the host made the brakfast in a pleasant mood.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kjell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel is in the perfect position very close to everything in the old town. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and the proprietor, Roberto has a HUGE personality. He is a lot of fun. We could not have imagined a better stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin_and_Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Well you really do have to smile. Welcomed at the door by Roberto, as said elsewhere, a larger than life character.
This is an antiquated establishment and a hands down winner of Italy's HM&P award. We rated the mattress a 99.7 for hardness and the pillow crinked the neck at a resounding 99.9! Combined them both for a Herculean score of hardness that I just don't think will be beaten on our current tour! Chiropractors only dream of such business makers.
On the high side...we were in the room on the street...and we didn't hear a thing. Quiet location. The room was spacious and although old it was clean. The shower lacked a lot of pressure but it was hot all the way. No Airconditioning but open the windows and it was very comfortable.
Breakfast in the morning was good. Plenty of selection and enough to start the day.
We paid €95 for the night which was plenty but about right.
Would I go back? Probably....but I'd take my own pillow. Location was good though a little daunting to find in your own car. Parking was out front and free.
Memorable.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sydneydavid56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo Duomo
Albergo Duomo
#10 of 28 in Montepulciano
306 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
419 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Il Marzocco
Albergo Il Marzocco
#19 of 28 in Montepulciano
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terrazza di Montepulciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terrazza di Montepulciano

Property: La Terrazza di Montepulciano
Address: Via Pie al Sasso, 16, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — La Terrazza di Montepulciano 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your La Terrazza di Montepulciano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Terrazza Di Hotel Montepulciano
Montepulciano La Terrazza Di

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing