We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence and value”
Review of Relais San Bruno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relais San Bruno
Ranked #4 of 44 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellence and value”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The kindness of some friends putting us up in Umbria and a few nights at more modestly priced hotels allowed us to consider staying here on one proviso - that we had a kitchen (we like to save money by cooking for ourselves). Luckily the Relais San Bruno had one cottage free and this was the only one with a kitchen so we were able to afford a few nights here.

How lucky we were - the place is tremendous. The most beautiful place that I have ever stayed. The grounds are like some renaissance painting of a Tuscan landscape that has suddenly come to life. The view of Montepulciano and the magnificent church of San Bagio is the crowning glory of a location that is second to none. The atmosphere is peaceful and quiet but if you bring your own DVD supply a DVD player can be provided (there is in fact a library of books and DVDs in the common "greenhouse". The staff couldn't have been nicer. We had a nine month old baby and she was doted on by the staff.

The rooms were comfortable and beautifully decorated. The pool area is lovely and shares the great view of Montepulciano.

There is no restaurant or bar so staying here means eating out or ordering from a limited menu available in the hotel. There is a very good restaurant just five minutes walk up the drive (in beautiful settings beside the church). Montepulciano is a hardy 20 minute walk and if you have very young children you probably need a car to handle this place unless you are happy to live off the hotel menu which is pricey.

All in all however this is a fantastic place which we were fortunate enough to be able to stay in. We would highly highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you need a kitchen there is only one cottage - La Casa BiancaNeve (Snow White's cottage) - bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanbruno, Proprietario at Relais San Bruno, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Marc,

Thanks for your nice review!!

We are very happy the 3 of you had a good time here and also Little Augusta enjoyed her first trip!!
He look forward meeting you again in the future. All the very best

Alberto and Federico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
194
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Relais San Bruno. It was perfect in every way. Our room was very comfortable, with modern amenities, while retaining its Tuscan charm. Alberto and Federico were extremely helpful, and often went out of their way for us. The property is very beautiful and is situated perfectly beneath Montepulciano and only 10 or 15 minutes from Pienza. The swimming pool (where we spent most of our time) is very inviting, and is a wonderful place to relax after a day spent in the hill towns. Even though the Relais only serves (a delicious) breakfast, we were allowed access to the kitchen to warm up food for our 2 year old son, which made traveling with him a breeze. I cannot recommend this place highly enough if you are looking for an authentic experience in one of the most beautiful parts of Tuscany. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanbruno, Proprietario at Relais San Bruno, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Was great having you here !! Federico and I are very happy you had a good time !!! Big hugs to the 3 of you!!!
CIAO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Not just another B&B. Great quiet location, very nice renovated farm with a lot of space around and nice swimming pool. Rooms are spacy, breakfast is superb. Service is great and the owners are more than helpful to make reservations and to tell you where to go for dinner, sight seeing and wine tasting.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex46_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanbruno, Proprietario at Relais San Bruno, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Alex,
Thanks for your nice review. We are happy you had a good time in our property and look forward meeting you again in the future.!!

All the very best
Alberto & Federico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Wonderful place! This was one of the highlights to our 2 weeks in Italy. We planned to stay here in the middle of the trip which was perfect. We got to relax and explore the surrounding area, LA Grotta was wonderful suggetion. The wine tour/lunch at Avignossi was amazing. Can't wait to return and stay longer. Relais San Bruno is a special place worth visiting.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanbruno, Proprietario at Relais San Bruno, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Ben,
Thanks for your kind review!! We are happy you had a great time and look forward meeting you soon!!!
All the best Alberto & Federico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We spent two wonderful evenings at Relais San Bruno during our trip to the Montepulcino area in June 2013 and Alberto was a most gracious host. The luggage service, breakfast served each morning and ice cream by the pool made this an unforgettable experience. The grounds are beautiful and our villa for three was perfect for two adults and a teenager. Alberto's recommendations for restaurants and sites were greatly appreciated. We would recommend this property to anyone coming to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanbruno, Direttore at Relais San Bruno, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear FLMOORE,

Thanks for your kind review. We really enjoyed having you and your family here and look forward meeting you again next season.
All the best
Alberto & Federico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saline, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Heaven on Earth. Alberto and Federico are fantastic hosts.......... Tour planners, Restaurant critiques, and baking .... they do it all. I am not sure I have ever been to a more peaceful and beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FordBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanbruno, Proprietario at Relais San Bruno, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear FordBest,

Is Always nice to receieve a good review . We try our best to make our customers feel at home and have some relaxing days.
I am happy you liked the homemade cakes I bake every day!!

Hope to have you here at the property in the future

Cheers
Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The first time, we got here was in 2011. We planned to stay for two nights. In the end we stayed six nights and since then, we stayed here on every trip to tuscany. The garden and the views are really exceptional. The owner created a very relaxed and calm athmosphere and is helpful in almost anything you ask him. Rooms are equipped very nicely with a lot of care for every detail.

The views over the garden and Montepulciano are just great. Took the same pictures about a hundred times. You can walk up to montepulciano (a little steep as usually in tuscany) and you can also walk to canneto which one of the best producers of vino nobile in the area.

Sure we will get there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morelinodue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanbruno, Proprietario at Relais San Bruno, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Every year is nice to have you here in the property. Is a pleasure to talk regarding the wines and new places to visit.
I am happy year after year you find the property Always in good shape and appreciate the efforts we do to improove our small Relais.
Hopefully next year you will also find a better weather!!!
Cheers
Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
2.1 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Il Tosco
Il Tosco
#1 of 44 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais San Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais San Bruno

Property: Relais San Bruno
Address: Via di Pescaia 5/7, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais San Bruno is a small Boutique Hotel just outside the walls of Montepulciano. With a stunning view of the San Biagio Cathedral and of all Montepulciano Relais San Bruno has the perfect setting for a Tuscan Vacation in a relaxing enviroment. We are only 20 minutes away from the City center of Montepulciano. Breakfast with home made products is offered in our "green house" Intenet wi fi covers all the property and for more Info we created a dedicate APP on Itunes to download for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais San Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais San Bruno Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing