We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Family Operated Business”
Review of Albergo San Biagio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albergo San Biagio
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Tatiana and her brother, Massimo, are the warmest, friendliest people in all of Montepulciano. They manage the hotel while her mom and dad serve as chambermaid and gardener. The hotel has roughly 25 rooms and is located at the base of the mountain (hill) of the old city. If you have a car, you can reach the top in a matter of minutes. If you are not used to standard shifts, it can be a little nerve-wracking because the the steepness and sharp curves and twist and turns. If you are into walking, it's a matter of a 15 minute walk to begin your ascent. Not for the faint-hearted nor for those out of shape.

The hotel is clean and, if you are lucky, you will be given a room that faces the mountain and the sprawling valley before it. Breathtaking views which you can take in as you sit on your sun-drenched terrace overlooking the town. when my spouse and I arrived, Tatiana showed us two rooms from which we could choose for the week. Of course we selected the one with the view over the one with a king-sized bed (We had two twin beds.)
When we arrived, a tour group of Quebecois cyclists were guests. Within 24 hours they checked out and there were few other remaining guests to disturb our peace. In fact, for two days we were the only two guests registered. We met mom and dad and got to know the staff much better.
The internet reception is good but you must relog in almost every morning or after a lengthy period when you are not on line. If you get disconnected and have a problem, just call downstairs and Massimo will reenter your log user name and password for you to log back on again.
Breakfast is very plentiful with a variety of cheeses and Italian meats; various types of breads; cereals; various yogurts, hard-boiled eggs, and, of course, the customary Italian cakes and buns filled with various creams.
We stayed here for 6 nights, taking day trips to various local towns like Ienza and Montichello. We also drove to Siena and Orvieto- two places that are a must if you have a car. The drive to each is beautiful.
Ample parking, friendly staff, proximity to the town and others cities- all make the Albergo San Biagio the ideal hotel in which to stay.

Room Tip: By restaurant I mean the breakfast being served. Rooms facing the rear are quieter. The front rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is an outstanding choice for a group of cyclists. There is ample parking, and large, clean rooms. The staff is so helpful and accommodating, they make you feel like nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is one of the best on a two week cycling trip. There is a beautiful pool and hot tub, just perfect for an after cycling rest. Unlike many of the hotels we stayed in, there is an elevator, which helps to get the luggage upstairs.

It is a little out of town, so you have to drive into the village, but it was easy enough to do.

Room Tip: Did not see much difference in room choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The room was comfortable and quite spacious. Breakfast was Italian like: much sweet pastry. Internet reception via wifi was good. A very good restaurant, la Grotta, on walking distance.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel was the nicest we have stayed in so far on our trip, from the minute we walked in the staff were so helpful- from booking us a restaurant to bringing us to the bus station they couldn't have done more! The location is lovely at the foot of montepulciano and the range of food at breakfast was amazing! The staff and service are what really made our visit though-grazie mile!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aili-31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Nice hotel with very friendly owners and staff!
The hotel and the rooms were clean and nice.We had a double room with a wonderful view and balcony.
There were pool, parking. breakfast was good.
Well worth its price thanks to the cheerful hospitality!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MultistradaPanigale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The hotel is rather modern and all works well. It is not luxurious but very comfortable. If you like to walk to Montepulciano, there is a steep road (via San Biagio) that takes you to one of the city's entrances. You can of course drive up there. Breakfast is included and it is very good. Service is excellent - friendly and efficient. There is a large in-door swimming pool that is perfect. I would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have a view of the Tuscan valleys and the church of San Biagio - breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We spent 2 nights at this Hotel in Montelpulciano. It was very comfortable and clean. We had a lovely room with a balcony with a beautiful view. The breakfasts are fantastic with loads of wonderful pastries to choose from. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and provided us with lots of information about the area. We would definately return to the San Biagio if we visit this area again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
448 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
#11 of 28 in Montepulciano
280 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Albergo Duomo
Albergo Duomo
#10 of 28 in Montepulciano
315 reviews
1 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
294 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sant' Antonio
Sant' Antonio
#13 of 28 in Montepulciano
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo San Biagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Biagio

Address: Via di San Bartolomeo 2, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range: £92 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo San Biagio 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albergo San Biagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing