We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Cicolina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Cicolina
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

All the reviews on TA decsribe this Villa very well. It is in a really good location, just a few minutes from the city. Views from the pool area are wonderful. It is an old property but it is well maintained and the historic flavour of the rooms has been kept while still being very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and accomodating - right from Alia (SP?) at check in, to Enrico the waiter and even the gardener... who cut some fresh roses for us to take to a family member in Rome. Peraps the best of all, is the people we met during our 3 night stay. Swiss, English, Scotish and Americans who were all fun to be with as we comapred our travels and traded stories about the awfull weather we were getting. The food at the on site restaurant was exceptional and good value.

Room Tip: A room facing the courtayrd would be quiter that ones overloking the nearby road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJB5490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Proprietario at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your kind feedback, we are very glad that you liked your stay with us.

Thank you again for your note about the staff, we tried to do always our best for the guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again and please tell everybody you know, when they visit Tuscany, they must come here and they will not regret.

Warm regards from Montepulciano,

Villa Cicolina's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    34
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
40
281
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montepulciano, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

as a vegan ,I was a little hesitant to even try eating at the hotel restaurant .I was in for a very pleasant surprise ,after a discussion with the hotel owner about my requirements I enjoyed a three course vegan meal of outstanding quality .Thank you so much to the chef and the owners of this fabulous hotel.The gardens are stunning full of the most beautiful roses - everywhere you go throughout the hotel is filled with freshly cut roses from the garden .Stunning views of the Tuscan hills- even from he infinity pool and jacuzzi .

This is a stunning hotel with super attention to detail and a willingness to help with dietary requirements ,

Thank you so much
Michele

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Proprietario at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Michele,

thank you very much for your beautiful feedback and we hope to seeing you soon again at Villa Cicolina. Guests like you are always welcome in our Villa.

Warm Regards from all Villa Cicolina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrow, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Who could not be? Every vista more beautiful than the previous, perfectly manicured grounds, generous and thoughtful service, wonderful Tuscan food and well-appointed rooms. What more could anyone want?

This is a unique place, at least among our travels. The attention to detail is incredible: every nook and cranny holds a surprise. Our room, the Montepulciano, offered breathtaking views of the rolling hills covered in olive trees, vineyards and red-topped houses. It was spacious and furnished with lovely antiques. The bathroom, though tiny, had everything we needed.

Since we were without a car, we dined both nights at the charming farmhouse restaurant. The food was spectacular.

Please don't come here if you're looking for a common, ordinary experience. You'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Proprietario at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Cate,

thanks very much for your beautiful feedback and for considering Villa Cicolina a unique place. Your wondeful words are the best achievement we can get from our job and we would deeply say thank for sharing your feedback with all TA users.

We hope to seeing you again at Villa Cicolina.

Many thanks again and Best Regards.

Villa Cicolina staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed (only) 2 nights at Villa Cicolina in the Il Pozzo room.
The experience was just fantastic.
Sayed, Ayla and the rest of the staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. The room was amazing: beatiful, spacious and quiet (the only thing is that I would have preferred a firmer mattress). Breakfast was delicious and the gardens and pool area are just lovely.
Great place for a romantic get-away.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Proprietario at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Gabriel,

thank you very much for your beautiful feedback and for sharing it with all TA users.

We regret that you would prefer a firmer mattress and we will provide asap to check which was your room and evaluate to change the mattress.

We hope to seeing you soon again in Tuscany.

Best Regards,
Villa Cicolina Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at villa cicolina for 5 days in the Balcony suite. The grounds were absolutely stunning and it was exactly the type of atmosphere and experience we were looking for during our honeymoon.
The suite was absolute gorgeous and impeccably clean. Highlights were the dramatic four poster bed, rainfall shower, and stunning views of the valley. The grounds were beautifully maintained - highlights include an infinity pool and hot tub (which sadly the weather was not warm enough to use) and plenty of seating outside to enjoy wine and the scenery. Each night, The staff lights candles throughout the property, which is a special touch and adds to the romantic ambience.
A breakfast buffet was offered each morning in a cute farmhouse-style cottage and included most of the standard choices: scrambled eggs, various pastries and homemade cakes, cereals, meats and cheeses, etc. We also ate several dinners at Villa Cicolina and the food was outstanding. We felt bad eating at the hotel so often, but the food was so delicious we kept coming back. A menu is offered each morning and guests notify the hotel by 4pm if they plan to eat there. The dinner typically includes local Tuscan favorites and comes with an appetizer, first course, second course, and dessert. You will not be hungry after this meal! Our only regret is we did not take the cooking course that is offered!
From a location perspective, Villa Cicolina is well situated. Montepulciano is minutes away as our several other charming towns that make wonderful day trips - Siena, Pienza, Cortona, and Montalcino. There are several wineries in the area as well. Villa Cicolina makes their own wine and olive oil and its worth a visit into their cellar.
Overall, we had a great experience. The staff were so friendly and went out of their way to help us. We are looking forward to returning to Villa Cicolina for our next anniversary trip!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitkat1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Proprietario at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Kitkat75,

thank you very much for sharing your feedback with all the TA users and for the beautifull words you spent about our relais.

We hope to seeing you soon again at Villa Cicolina.

Warm Regards,
Villa Cicolina staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Recently spent 3 nights at Villa Cicolina and it could not have been more perfect. It is just an absolutely gorgeous setting, the house is charming, and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful.

There were three of us, so we booked a suite which was comprised of a bedroom with two double beds, and a sitting room with a pull-out sofabed. The bathroom was nice with good amenities - shampoo, soap, olive oil body lotion, etc. While the place is definitely old, it never felt out-dated. The views out all of the windows were breathtaking - the front overlooking a beautiful valley of vineyards, the back overlooking the gardens, kitchen and small restaurant on the property. There was a gorgeous pool, but unfortunately it wasn't quite warm enough to use it yet. But I can imagine sitting poolside in the warm summer months, enjoying a cool glass of white wine, and taking in the fantastic view of the vineyards below.

We participated in two cooking classes while we were there, and they were both fantastic. We didn't realize we'd be cooking the food that was served in the restaurant during the evening's dinner service! While that did make us a little nervous, Chef Mimo (with the help of one of the English-speaking members of the staff) provided excellent guidance. The classes were so much fun and we learned a lot about traditional Tuscan cooking. And the food was just out of this world.

I can't say enough about how wonderful the staff was. I will admit, the Villa can be a little difficult to find. We had a printed Google map and an English GPS in our rental car, and it still wouldn't get us all the way there. However, I was able to call the villa from a gas station nearby, and they provided me with the final directions. And once we arrived, it was just peaceful and relaxing. After our stressful drive there, the last thing we wanted to do was drive into town for lunch, so Sayed, the day manager, went into the kitchen and pulled together a wonderful sampling of local cheese, meats and delicious ripe tomato bruschetta for us. That's just another example of how accommodating they were.

From the villa it's a very easy drive into the beautiful down of Montepulciano. We also took a day trip to Siena, which took less than an hour. I know there are lots of other nice towns in the area to visit, but unfortunately our time was limited.

HIGHLY recommend Villa Cicolina for a nice, relaxing stay in Tuscany. Definitely take advantage of the cooking classes. They were a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NY-TravelGirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Owner at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear TA user,

we would really thank you for the accurate and very beautifull description of Villa Cicolina and our services. We are very happy that you enjoyed the cooking classes and we would like to thank you for sharing the pictures of these experiences.

We hope to seeing you soon at Villa Cicolina.

Warm Regards,

Villa Cicolina staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We normally do not like classic design, and prefer modern one. The reason for that is that in most cases classic design hotels have a smell of past ages and this smell is not quite pleasant. If you have ever been in an old hotel you know what I am talking about. The great thing about this villa is that it combines the classic design, antic furniture with the freshness and cleanness.

The villa is situated in the heart of Toscana, in the most beautiful valley I have ever seen – d’Orcia. 5 minutes’ drive from villa and you can find Montepulciano, 30 minute and you are in Montalcino. There are many other great places in the valley, but I have given those two as an example for their famous wine productions.

Villas restaurant is nice and cosy. The breakfast is well prepared – you can find a variety of dishes to your taste. Dining is a pleasant experience, I would specifically recommend tagliata. The wine list is big.

The owners are always there to help you. For example, when my wife asked to change the room because of the noise from the street they have done it without problem.

The villa is full of small details that make you stay there pleasant. LCD TV is a rare thing in Italy, especially in antic hotels, but surprisingly it here. The room and tables in the restaurant are decorated with fresh flowers. And so on..

To conclude – this was a great experience and I would gladly come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AndreyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Proprietario at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the beautifull words you spent for describing our relais.

We totally agree with your idea of the style of the Villa and other words would not be so able to describe Villa Cicolina even better.

We are proud that all the efforts we usually did are appreciated by people like you.

We hope to seeing you soon again at Villa Cicolina.

Warm Regards,

Villa Cicolina staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montepulciano
2.9 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
1.3 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
15.9 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cicolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cicolina

Property: Villa Cicolina
Address: Provinciale 11, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Cicolina 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored villa dated back to the 16th century with charming gardens and endless pool located in from of the secular olive grove, some of the rooms have an amazing view to the tuscan countryside, Villa Cicolina offers daily tuscan dinner with chef Mimmo, cooking lessons, wine tasting in the historical cellar, organization of wine tasting tours in the countryside, wedding at Villa Cicolina is a dream which can be realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Cicolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cicolina Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing