We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is Tuscany ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Cicolina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Cicolina
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is Tuscany ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Wow, what an amazing experience. Villa cicolina is a postcard inside a dream inside the best wine that ever was (it's inception for the senses). The rooms here are beautiful (we stayed in two) with airy windows and stunning views of the grounds. There is a rustic, romantic vibe here that can't quite be explained, only felt.

The staff here was wonderful and so accommodating, charming, worldly, dedicated, precise... I could go on forever.

The breakfast and dinner service here is sophisticated and uncompromising. The food served is truly Tuscan and outstanding quality. I would highly recommend a cooking class with the in-house chef, he'll have you hand-rolling pici pasta in no time!

We loved our stay here and would suggest it to anyone looking for an ideal Tuscan experience.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yasm1na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Manager at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful review and for sharing your experience with all the TA community.

thank you also for appreciating the food and the breakfast as we make a lot of effort to improve the quality on a daily basis.
Warm Regards,
All the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    34
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
40
281
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our group of three spent two nights at this wonderful establishment and we thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of this special place. The staff were genuinely attentive, even if our communications at times in English were long drawn out conversations to try to get an understanding.
Our restaurant meal on the first night was disappointing in the first night but did not affect our complete impressions.
The grounds, facilities and staff attention could not be faulted and we would love to spend more time there just to sit around the pool and within the beautiful gardens maintained to perfection by Marcello.
We stayed in a small cottage separate to the main building which was perfect for us as we could enjoy the special vista with a bit of space.
It us about 3 km out if Montepulciano but a shuttle into. Montepulciano was easily arranged for a 5 Euro fee each way - very reasonable as we did not gave a car.
Ahmed suggested and organised a wonderful restaurant for us at les Cortes Medicaea.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auswalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Owner at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful review and for sharing your experience with all the TA community.

We hope to seeing you soon at Villa Cicolina.

Warm Regards,
All the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Excellent place, with workers to leave your luggage to your room (apparently not so common in Italy) and with the best breakfast I had in all the country (and I stayed in eleven hotels!). The reception was without no one many times, but nothing to complain about.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marcelomaiocoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Manager at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for your feedback and for sharing it with al TA community.

We apreciate you loved our breakfast which actually is very large and comprehensive of sweet and salad foods.

We are sorry that you find sometimes the reception empty but we always have someone working at...maybe in that moments the guys were engaged in other activities.

Finally, we hope you would be able to be back at Villa Cicolina soon.

Regards,
Villa Cicolina staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel in a stunning location looking out onto Montepulciano. Our room was immaculate and full of Tuscan character, with incredible views of the surrounding area. Dinner in the restaurant was wonderfully romantic and we enjoyed fantastic food at a reasonable price. The weather during our stay meant we were unable to make use of the amazing pool and gardens as much as we would have liked but they looked fantastic all the same. I would definitely recommend this hotel, I'm sure we will be back to make use of the pool in the sunshine and soak up the amazing views.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Owner at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for posting this wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor and for sharing it with all the community.

We are very proud you consider Villa Cicolina a wonderful romantic Villa and we hope to seeing you soon in Montepulciano.

Warms Regards,
All the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is top notch. The grounds are spectacular with a pretty garden and a stunning infinity pool looking over the hills and valleys of Tuscany. The restaurant is also top notch with great food and a fantastically fun cooking class. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DJLinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Owner at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful feedback and for sharing it with all the TA users.

We hope to seeing you soon at Villa Cicolina.

Warm Regards,

All the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband & I were married here, stayed here as did our guests. Villa Cicolina was extremely accommodating. They worked well with our wedding planners and were extremely helpful and friendly. Our ceremony was out by the pool and they closed the pool to other guests during our ceremony. We planned to enjoy our reception dinner outside in the garden area but it rained after the ceremony. Vila cicolina closed down their restaurant that evening to other guests so that we could have the reception inside!! We did not even make this request! The set it up beautifully inside! The food is absolutely, hands down the best I've had in Italy or anywhere else! We took a cooking class with the chef & Stefanie who worked there translated for us. We made food that we enjoyed that evening for dinner! It was amazing and my husband uses the recipes and makes us ragu on every anniversary! We even learned how to make and roll our own pasta. Villa Cicolina holds a special place in our heart and we are looking forward to returning in the near future!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMightyMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Villa Cicolina is top notch! Absolutely amazing service. We felt like we were being welcomed into someone's home rather than their place of work. Alijah and Sayed were especially helpful with the numerous emails exchanged before we even arrived. We were able to spend time with both of them on our trip - in cooking class and on a wine tour - and when we left we were not only sad to leave this beautiful spot but we didn't want to say goodbye to our new friends!!

The cooking class was so much fun -- working with the chef to prepare the nights dinner for the Villa. My husband and I learned quite a bit and had a ton of fun.

They organized a wine tour for us which was brilliant! Small local wineries where we felt like we were seeing a REAL part of Italy, not just the tourist version.

Thank you to everyone at Villa Cicolina for making our honeymoon above and beyond what we could have hoped for. We hope to make it back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshleesOpinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Responsabile reception at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Ashlee,

It was a pleasure being a part of your Honeymoon in Italy, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are waiting for you to celebrate your wedding Anniversary, maybe next year.

Worm regards from the worm Montepulciano.

Sayed
Villa Cicolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montepulciano
2.9 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.3 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
15.9 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cicolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cicolina

Property: Villa Cicolina
Address: Provinciale 11, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Cicolina 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored villa dated back to the 16th century with charming gardens and endless pool located in from of the secular olive grove, some of the rooms have an amazing view to the tuscan countryside, Villa Cicolina offers daily tuscan dinner with chef Mimmo, cooking lessons, wine tasting in the historical cellar, organization of wine tasting tours in the countryside, wedding at Villa Cicolina is a dream which can be realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Cicolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cicolina Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing