We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm House Elegance”
Review of Villa Cicolina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Cicolina
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Holland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Farm House Elegance”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

As part of our DigNGo bike tour we stayed 2 nights in this elegant & quaint Villa. EVERYTHING was 1st class from the service to the grounds to the food. Our Room (Le Pearle) was exquisite with large windows which let the cool fresh air of the scenic valley freshen up the sleeping area. The pool a area is amazing and the pool itself was a refreshing infinity pool. Wow! Highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IKE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Manager at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your beautiful feedback and for sharing it with all the TA community.

Thank you for appreciating all the details we take care every day

We hope to seeing you soon again

Warm Regards,
Villa Cicolina's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    36
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
42
288
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Villa Cicolina is a lovely old villa with a beautifully preserved interior. Set in Tuscan countryside, rolling hills, vineyards and olive trees, the property features the villa set in heavenly gardens full of scented roses and little hidden pockets perfect for relaxing with a quiet drink. We even saw a tiny hummingbird drinking from the flowers. The infinity pool is phenomenal looking over the hills.

Our room was beautiful, clean, smelling of fresh garden roses which were in a vase near one of windows. Open the shutters and you look out over the beautiful gardens, the countryside and can see monte publicans on the hill in the distance, just amazing. The room was spacious and quaint with sloping wood beamed ceiling. The bed was of the European 2 beds pushed together and made up as a king which usually I don't like but I have to say the bed was super comfy and I slept really well, I love the bed! The bathroom is small but in keeping with the beautifully restored historical building and the shower head over the huge bath tub, while gentle in terms of water pressure, provided ample steady temperature hot water and was very relaxing.

Service at Villa Cicolina was very special. Alijah was there to welcome us when we arrived, driving up the long driveway bordered with cottage flowers. She was lovely and very helpful, showing us to our room, parking our car for us, taking our suitcases up 3flights of stairs to our room and organising coffees when we enquired where to get coffee as we were tired after our flight. By the way, villa cicolina coffee is superb! Aliyah was ready with suggestions for dinners nearby and sites to see which was tremendously helpful.

There is a little restaurant on site with a set menu on site opposite reception and we ate there, the food was delicious and good value, as was the wine. My only complaint is that I wish they had offered ice cream or cream with the delicious chocolate fondant at dessert. Service at dinner was efficient. Breakfast is a buffet and plentiful with cereals, juices, yoghurts, salami, prosciutto, cheese, breads, pastries, cakes, huge selection of delicious honeys, jams, fresh fruits and of course fabulous coffees made to order as you like. There is no hot component but there are eggs if you wish to boil them to your liking in the little boiler, very nice, and you don't need a hot breakfast with the ample spread of cold breakfast goodies.

I love Villa Cicolina with it's magical gardens, gorgeous location and comfy beds and hope we come back soon. Don't come here if you want cold, hi tech, minimalistic, modern five star hotel accom but if you want a wonderful stay that you will always treasure, in a gorgeous, beautifully maintained Tuscan villa looked after by Alijah and Sayed in those magical gardens within minutes drive of montepulciano, then you must stay at Villa Cicolina

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GypsyLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Manager at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your beautiful feedback and for appreciating Villa Cicolina.

Thank you also for the detailed description of the villa and our services and for sharing it with all the TA community.

We are very proud of your beautiful description and we hope to seeing you soon back at Villa Cicolina.

Warm Regards,
Villa Cicolina's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Gorgeous setting, wonderful staff, a superb breakfast, our room was beautiful and the bed first rate. Loved this place and it exceeded expectation! The local towns are wonderful and you will not be disappointed by booking a room at the Villa Cicolina.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThreeBayMares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nutley, Nj
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Villa Cicolina is a wonderful place to stay. Everyone is so nice and helpful. We stayed four four days and enjoyed every day. The breakfast was incredible, and the chef was so nice to make a vegetarian meal for me every night. I can't recommend this villa enough. Beautiful pool too. We plan on going back next year, hopefully for two weeks, we liked it that much.

Room Tip: We stayed on the very top floor. The room was very comfortable. The ceiling over the couch is a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Manager at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Suzanne,

thank you very much for your beautiful feedback and for sharing IT with all the TA community.

We are very happy you enjoyed both the meal and the room.

We look forward for seeing you soon next year.

Warm Regards,
Villa Cicolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Wow, what an amazing experience. Villa cicolina is a postcard inside a dream inside the best wine that ever was (it's inception for the senses). The rooms here are beautiful (we stayed in two) with airy windows and stunning views of the grounds. There is a rustic, romantic vibe here that can't quite be explained, only felt.

The staff here was wonderful and so accommodating, charming, worldly, dedicated, precise... I could go on forever.

The breakfast and dinner service here is sophisticated and uncompromising. The food served is truly Tuscan and outstanding quality. I would highly recommend a cooking class with the in-house chef, he'll have you hand-rolling pici pasta in no time!

We loved our stay here and would suggest it to anyone looking for an ideal Tuscan experience.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yasm1na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Manager at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful review and for sharing your experience with all the TA community.

thank you also for appreciating the food and the breakfast as we make a lot of effort to improve the quality on a daily basis.
Warm Regards,
All the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our group of three spent two nights at this wonderful establishment and we thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of this special place. The staff were genuinely attentive, even if our communications at times in English were long drawn out conversations to try to get an understanding.
Our restaurant meal on the first night was disappointing in the first night but did not affect our complete impressions.
The grounds, facilities and staff attention could not be faulted and we would love to spend more time there just to sit around the pool and within the beautiful gardens maintained to perfection by Marcello.
We stayed in a small cottage separate to the main building which was perfect for us as we could enjoy the special vista with a bit of space.
It us about 3 km out if Montepulciano but a shuttle into. Montepulciano was easily arranged for a 5 Euro fee each way - very reasonable as we did not gave a car.
Ahmed suggested and organised a wonderful restaurant for us at les Cortes Medicaea.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auswalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Owner at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful review and for sharing your experience with all the TA community.

We hope to seeing you soon at Villa Cicolina.

Warm Regards,
All the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Excellent place, with workers to leave your luggage to your room (apparently not so common in Italy) and with the best breakfast I had in all the country (and I stayed in eleven hotels!). The reception was without no one many times, but nothing to complain about.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marcelomaiocoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Manager at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for your feedback and for sharing it with al TA community.

We apreciate you loved our breakfast which actually is very large and comprehensive of sweet and salad foods.

We are sorry that you find sometimes the reception empty but we always have someone working at...maybe in that moments the guys were engaged in other activities.

Finally, we hope you would be able to be back at Villa Cicolina soon.

Regards,
Villa Cicolina staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montepulciano
2.9 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
248 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
419 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
655 reviews
1.3 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
274 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cicolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cicolina

Property: Villa Cicolina
Address: Provinciale 11, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Cicolina 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored villa dated back to the 16th century with charming gardens and endless pool located in from of the secular olive grove, some of the rooms have an amazing view to the tuscan countryside, Villa Cicolina offers daily tuscan dinner with chef Mimmo, cooking lessons, wine tasting in the historical cellar, organization of wine tasting tours in the countryside, wedding at Villa Cicolina is a dream which can be realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Cicolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cicolina Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing