We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hill top Tuscan luxury”
Review of Villa Cicolina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Cicolina
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Hill top Tuscan luxury”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Contrary to a previous review we had read here, the welcome to Villa Cicolina was warm and immediate - we had literally pulled up the handbrake in front of the office when the duty manager came to greet us.

We were whisked into the office and told of our upgrade - my wife had informed them it was our anniversay upon booking via Booking.com - to the bridal suite. A large sitting room and large bedroom with sumptuous four poster bed. The furniture was all antique and in keeping with the overall style. The view from our small balcony was over the land below Montepulciano. Yes there was some road noise but that died down at night.

We made a bee-line for the pool area as it was a hot day. A stunning infinity pool awaited us. We spent several hours during our 2 night stay lazing on the huge double sunbed and taking in the view from the jacuzzi and pool.

We opted to have dinner at the Villa on our first night. Taken in the garden it was an excellent 3 courses, and for around €35 per head very good value. Very attentive service from the waiter.

Breakfast was huge and tasty - a vast buffet laid out in the small resturant.

The next night we choose to explore Montepulciano by night. A long walk or short drive, we choose to be lazy. Parking was relatively easy below the town walls. A fascinating historic town to wander around, get lost and find delightful bars and restaurants. Bar Polizano was great place for Spritz with a view over a wide expanse of Tuscany.

Villa Cicolina is great place to spend a few days if touring this magestic part if Italy. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: there are very few rooms - some in the main building and some in individual bungalows. We were luck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    36
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
42
288
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I can't remember the last time I have been so impressed with a hotel. The gardens and buildings are beautiful and immaculate, and the rooms charming and very clean. Most impressive of all though was the care taken of us by the staff from the moment we arrived. We were greeted as soon as we drove into the courtyard and every request was met with a smile. The best example of this was when we asked for a taxi to dinner in Montepulciano. When it became clear that there were no taxis available, the receptionist himself offered to drive us in - which he did without any fuss. He also insisted on picking us up again - during the World Cup Grand Final. We were also given dinner in the lovely cabana outside when the restaurant was full one night (and when we'd failed to book).

The grounds are just a delight - a large infinity pool overlooking Tuscan hills, and manicured gardens.

I really can't speak highly enough of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is such a gorgeous villa and driving up through the entrance was more beautiful than I expected. We had a very warm welcome and our room was stunning, plenty of space and lots of lovely antiques. A gorgeous bathroom (a room with a view) and a roll top bath with shower (looks great but hard not to flood the floor when showering!) and the house itself and the gardens are stunning. The pool is beautiful and the views from the infinity pool are just magical.
Breakfast was fine, there was plenty of food, meats, cakes, pastries, eggs etc.. but it's a DIY affair and was a little frantic at times, but generally the service was excellent. Drinks by the pool and a lovely light lunch one day. We had a little confusion over their offer of a lift into town when we asked for a taxi. It wasn't clear if it was a complimentary service, whether we should pay directly to the driver, or if it would be on our bill. Really wasn't a problem, but it was a little awkward and could have easily been avoided by explaining it's a pay-for service.
Really lovely base from which to explore Tuscany and the perfect spot to relax too.

Room Tip: Steps to the top are very steep and uneven - need good footing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This villa is a little piece of heaven . Rooms are tastefully and comfortably decorated, staff are without exception attentive yet not pushy, perfect position for visiting the area and the food is excellent. The gardens are a joy to sit in and the pool with its views over the Tuscan countryside is tempting even when the weather is cool!

Room Tip: We had a suite which was very comfortable but speaking to other guests all rooms seem good. Very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satnavlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Owner at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful review and very are very happy you consider Villa Cicolina as an heaven.

We hope to seeing you soon at the villa.

Warm regards,
Villa Cicolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our welcome was a bit frosty, I think I parked in the wrong place, we were given no tour of the house or gardens, no welcoming drink, no directions and I carried our biggest bag up two flights. We're on holiday, paying you to be here, make us feel good !
Our junior suite was a bedroom with large entrance hall, pleasant but not useable to sit in. The room itself was charming, furnished with antiques and a comfortable bed, quiet with windows closed but tiled floors certainly carry the noise from upstairs.
The large infinity pool is in an olive grove with stunning views and the gardens and outside areas are beautiful well kept and a delight to be in, congratulations gardener.
Breakfast was uninspired, the usual world hotel stuff, no fresh local produce, unripe fruit and nothing cooked to order or prepared in house. Our one lunch was awful, 'mixed salad' was lettuce with tinned tuna and tinned sweetcorn not exactly Tuscan and the cold cuts were same as breakfast, boring, city sandwich bar food at best. There was no pool service and we had to hunt and pay for morning coffee which we prefer not to have free with our breakfast.
We travel a lot and maybe we're a little critical, but this place could be fabulous if someone cared enough. At the moment it needs a little more thought before we would recommend it and who charges a euro if you need an extra pool towel !! We wouldn't chance eating in so willingly paid the €25 taxi trip into Montepulciano to dine.

Room Tip: Top floors will have no noise above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacicolina, Responsabile reception at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Buongiorno,
Thank you for your feedback, We apologize if the welcome was not like what you expected to receive, we usually take care of our guests upon arrival, carrying their luggage to the room, parking their car; I think you parked before getting to the courtyard of the villa, this is why we couldn’t offer this service. We are happy to carry our guests luggage on arrival and departure, if we are not in time to do it, Our dear guest: Please ask us as we are here to serve you…
Thank you for the appreciation of the junior suite with the view and for the gardens, grounds cannot be changed, break is more than 500 years old and we will not change it for modern staff.
We would like to contest what you said about breakfast: Three fresh cakes prepared daily by our hotel chef and handmade biscuits. Three types of homemade juices, daily scrambled eggs, there are lots of fresh local products such as Tuscan cuts ( high quality staff which we use also for light lunch ).
The salad and tomatoes come from our vegetable garden, maybe it is only one color but it is ORGANIC, maybe you can find colored salads in the bars, but they come from the supermarket.
Nobody pays an extra euro for the pool towels; if you paid it, please proof and we will refund you. We give to everybody a free towel, we tell our guest that if they want to change them, the cost is 1 euro, we don’t want your euro but we want to contribute saving the environment, wash less, use less detergents, means less pollution.
We apologize if there is something did not work with your accommodation, but we are sad when some comments were not true.
Best regards
Villa Cicolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

If you're looking for a place to say in Tuscany then look no further than Villa Cicolina. We drove to Villa Cicolina after spending a few days in Cinque Terre and we were looking forward to spending the next few days relaxing in Tuscany. From the minute we drove up the driveway I was impressed with the property. The service was outstanding and from the minute we checked in we received a warm and gracious welcome that lasted the 3 nights and 4 days we were there. After checking in at the main house we were taken to our room which to my surprise was not in the main building. As we walked across the courtyard we were brought to a little bungalow that was to be our home for the next few days. It was perfection. It was a 1 bedroom bungalow with a living room and small kitchen and a small front yard with a table a chairs. The rooms and bathroom were spotless and beautifully decorated and it really felt like our private little villa in Tuscany.
As I said the service was excellent and that went for the restaurant staff as well. We had dinner the first night at the restaurant and the food was wonderful. Breakfast, which was included was also very good and plentiful.
The property had all the charm of what you would expect from a Tuscan villa and the pool area with the infinity pool was a delight. All in all an exceptional experience and we will definitely be back.

The location was perfect for us. It was less then a 10 minute drive to Montepulciano and easy drive to Pianza, Sienna and all the lovely towns in southern Tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mendota heights, mn
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We arrived at villa cicolina after getting our car in Florence and beginning our tour of Tuscany and it's surroundings. Villa Cicolina was our spot for the weekend. As sabbath observers, we needed a place to be able to spend the day relaxing and unwinding after the intensity of Florence. Villa C was just the spot. Located on top of a hill overlooking Tuscanny we spent a glorious 2 nights taking in the natural charm of the location, the facility and the surroundings. The staff was lovely, our room was large and comfortable, and the pool was delightful. Spending a long Sabbath day on Saturday(sabbath ended at 943pm) could have been a disaster. Instead, lounging by the pool, taking in the beauty, talking with people from around the world, sitting and reading and being off-line for 25 hours was truly a blessing. Villa c is a keeper! Their kindness and their care and their understanding of our religious dietary concerns was terrific

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the valley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montepulciano
2.9 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
249 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
419 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
275 reviews
15.9 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
656 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cicolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cicolina

Property: Villa Cicolina
Address: Provinciale 11, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Cicolina 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored villa dated back to the 16th century with charming gardens and endless pool located in from of the secular olive grove, some of the rooms have an amazing view to the tuscan countryside, Villa Cicolina offers daily tuscan dinner with chef Mimmo, cooking lessons, wine tasting in the historical cellar, organization of wine tasting tours in the countryside, wedding at Villa Cicolina is a dream which can be realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Cicolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cicolina Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing