We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Borgo Tre Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borgo Tre Rose
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Stabroek
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“wonderful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We've been to Borgo tre rose with our 2 children (4 and 2 years) and had an outstanding vacation. The situation of the hotel is very good to explore Toscane and Umbria, every day we visited another city.
The appartment was very large, with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a living room/kitchen, garden. Parking place for the car nearby the apartment.
Breakfast was a lot of choice and with a wonderfull view.
We stayed once to have diner, and it was also very good.
We had a very nice stay here, I would certainly recommend to my custommers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cintje070982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    45
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
33
68
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Witney, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have recently returned from a two week stay at Borgo Tre Rose. The place is spotlessly clean, the grounds are beautiful, the pool is clean and inviting, the staff are efficient and friendly it is a perfect base to visit lots of sights and places we visited 24 different places during our stay and I would recommend it and would definitely go back there.

Room Tip: As this is such a quiet site all of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgoMontepulciano, Direttore at Borgo Tre Rose, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
We thank you for your nice comments and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Borgo Tre Rose.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again !

Managment
A. De Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I attended a yoga retreat here with around 20 people or so. The rooms were a little small and not modern but we had everything we needed and most importantly, they were extremely clean. The hotel staff was helpful and very kind. The food was delicious and they were very accommodating to different dietary needs/restrictions. The grounds are STUNNING and I would stay there again just for the scenery.

It was a great trip and I would absolutely stay there again/recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I co-led a yoga retreat here with a large group of 20 or so people. The space we used for yoga was perfect, overlooking the rolling hills. The room options were varied and while not modern, they were charming and very authentic feeling. The food was delicious, and the hotel was very accommodating to our ravenous appetites. Dinner was a special treat, each night multiple courses that were decadent beyond belief. We had a truly magical experience at the Borgo Tre Rose and could not be happier with the accommodating staff.

My only recommendation for travelers is to be aware of the costs of using the grounds. Aka, a fee for bike rental, for tennis and racquets, etc. and that the pool is not open until May 1, regardless of the weather.

I can't imagine traveling to the middle of Tuscany and staying anywhere else. This felt truly romantic and italian in every way.

Room Tip: There are single rooms, but also suites, and many rooms connect. The suites are large, some with a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugaryoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgoMontepulciano, Direttore at Borgo Tre Rose, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We thank you for your nice comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Borgo Tre Rose and hope to have soon the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kindest regards

Manager
A. De Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay with friends in May in a self contained apt. The complex is beautiful but accomm very tired and need of refurbishing . Breakfast was mediocre so we decided to make our own each day which was a bonus. Service from staff was also hot and miss depending on who was working on the day. Not much information for tours and what to see in the area so you really need to have your own itinerary planned. Don't think I would choose again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here for a full 7 days in september 2013 - sorry for late review, but we've had a hard time deciding whether to write this review or just keep Borgo Tre Rose a secret...

First: finding the Borgo. No, it is not THAT hard. But yes, you should come prepared. Bring a map and/or take a look at Google Maps before you go to get an idea of where it is. Descriptions on their homepage aren't the best. We drove from Rome and found it quite easily.

Yes, you'll need a car if you are going to stay at Borgo Tre Rose - medieval town of Montepulciano is a 15 minutes drive away. But if don't mind the quietness of the tuscan countryside and you're looking for a place to relax or use as a base for day trips in the south of Tuscany, Borgo Tre Rose is highly recommendable.

We were expecting some kind of hotel room, but upon arrival we were shown to a large, nicely decorated appartment with its own living room. This was very appreciated as we were going to live here for a full week, and a very positive first meeting with both the Borgo and its staff. YES, the style and furniture is authentic Italian... Travellers not comfortable with this is probably better off staying at home :-)

Upon arrival we booked a table for the three-course dinner at the Borgos restaurant the same evening. As is turned out, this would be the first of many evenings here. The food at Borgo Tre Rose is really, really good - actually, we had the best meals of all of our trips to Italy here. (If anyone from the Borgo is reading this - please send our kind regards to the chef and say thanks for all the delicious food).

The garden and pool area is spotless. The property is really well kept thanks to the gardeners and other staff at the Borgo.

Only minor problem during our stay was that there was a wedding one of the nights, which took all of the staff attention and closed off the restaurant for all others guests - if possible it would probably be best to avoid staying at the Borgo when there are no such happenings.

If you have a car, staying at the Borgo is a great starting point for day-trips to nearby places like Montepulciano, Cortona, Siena or Montalcino. Tip for a rainy day: the day spa at Terme Di Bagno Vignoni.

I could probably go on and on describing Borgo Tre Rose, but it is probably best if you go there and experience the rest for yourself. All we can say is we're definetively coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReiseFrosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgoMontepulciano, Direttore at Borgo Tre Rose, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you so much for your nice words !

We are looking forward to meet you again very soon !!!

Warm regards from Tuscany

The Management

A. De Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st albans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We came here for the second part of our honeymoon after visiting Venice. We had seen reviews about the reception having odd opening hours but we had no issues there at all. The issues began when we got into our apartment... the general cleanliness of the apartment wasnt pleasant and it was far more basic than anticipated for the money we paid. We found out after 3 days, and complaining about our room not being serviced, that as we were self catering no one would go into our room to change our bed sheets or even our towels! so one towel each for 7 days was not pleasant! You could pay but it was £15pp per day! Staff were rather abrupt and rude when my husband spoke to them about this. We ate in the restaurant one night and did the wine tasting- this was fantastic, the waitress we had was very polite and kind and accomodating of me being vegetarian. Far more polite than one of her colleagues the previous day at lunch. She seemed unimpressed at our being there. Location was beautiful and tranquil, you definitely need a car though. The neighbouring towns are a good 15 minute drive away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgoMontepulciano, Direttore generale at Borgo Tre Rose, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Borgo Tre Rose.

We have two room types, self-catering and hotel rooms. Self catering apartments have weekly cleaning with towel and linen change. Our hotel rooms have daily cleaning and are including buffet breakfast. Also the rates are different, our self-catering apartments are much cheaper than our hotel rooms. Clients are free to decide what type of holiday they want to book.

We are happy that your wine tasting in our hotel was a success and we hope to have soon again the pleasure to welcome you again. We will do our best to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

The management

A. De Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
7.2 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
10.0 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
8.0 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
8.9 mi away
La Frateria di San Benedetto
La Frateria di San Benedetto
#15 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Tre Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Tre Rose

Property: Borgo Tre Rose
Address: Via Dei Palazzi 5 | Loc. Valiano, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Tre Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Tre Rose is an antique medieval hamlet perfectly conserved and restored, gathered on a hilltop that dominates the surrounding countryside at the borders between Tuscany and Umbria, just a few minutes away from Cortona and Montepulciano. An oasis of tranquility and beauty, it is an ideal place to relax. The enchanting setting of the Tuscan hills is the perfect starting point for a vacation rich in history and art works, and to discover its wines and cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Borgo Tre Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Tre Rose Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing