We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in the heart of Montepulciano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Locanda di San Francesco
Ranked #1 of 44 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Piermont, New York
Level Contributor
182 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B in the heart of Montepulciano”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed at La Locanda di San Francesco as a direct result of the reviews that we read on Trip Advisor. We totally agree with those reviews and could not have been happier with our stay. Cinzia was the perfect hostess, and together with Luca did an amazing job on the renovation of this property. The room was spacious, clean, well appointed and had an amazing view. The wine bar is a fantastic added touch and we wish we had a place like this in our town. I don't believe that there is a nicer facility in Montepulciano. We ate at a restaurant all the way down at the bottem of Montepulciano and was offered a ride back, should we need it after dinner. Next time that we are back in Montepulciano, we will definately stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeyrm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Owner at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Dear Joeyrm7,
Thanks for sharing your experience at Locanda San Francesco with the community of TA!
We are glad you enjoyed also our wine bar "E lucevan le stelle", on the ground floor of the Locanda: we always hoped that, in a small property like us, a wine bar& bistro where Guests can have lunch, dinner or an apéritif with live jazz could make the difference...
Hoping to have the opportunity to re-welcome you soon at Locanda San Francesco,
Warmest regards

Cinzia & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
317
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Cinzia and Luca, The owners really make this place what it is. Charming and located in an out of the way corner of Montepulciano. My wife got sick while we were guests and Cinzia drove us to the hospital and interpreted for us. The hotel is connected to their little enoteca with so many of the local wines. The Jazz was great! Not only did they offer free wirelss but we had a computer in our room. Of the seven or eight 5 star places we stayed in Italy this was our favorite. The view from the parking area looks like a 15th century painting of Tuscany.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FineStepinghorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Owner at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear FineStepinghorses,
Thank you so much for the words you spent about us and our Locanda San Francesco!
We are glad that you have beautiful memories of your stay in Montepulciano and we are especially pleased that you enjoyed the jazz concert in our Wine Bar & Bistro "E lucevan le stelle" and the famous Vino Nobile produced in our town.
We really hope we will have again the opportunity to meet you and your wife in a next occasion,!
Our warmest regards

Cinzia & Luca
La Locanda di San Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I returned to Locanda di San Francesco for the second time, this time with friends instead of family. Our stay was everything promised and more. It was really the highlight of our trip. Cinzia and Luca could not be more gracious and accomodating. The breakfasts were superb, the meals and drinks at the wine bar were beyond compare, and the views....well, you have to see them to believe them. I cannot wait to return to this lovely spot. Thank you for everything, Cinzia and Luca. If the stars align, I will have the good fortune to return some day.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rbnwdln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 2 July 2011
Dear Rbnwdln,

Thank you for choosing again our Locanda San Francesco for your stay in Montepulciano, we are really glad that you and your friends had a nice stay with us!

As you know, we opened Locanda San Francesco on July 2006: when you came here the first time, on 2007, we were really at the beginning of our activity..
Since then, and mostly thanks to the suggestions and feedback of our Guests, we tried to improve our service, our breakfast, the offer of our wine bar..
So, we thank you again with our staff for the beautiful words you spent about our property, and we hope to welcome you soon at our Locanda San Francesco !
Warmest regards
Cinzia & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Outstanding location and great views of the Tuscan landscape. Great service as well. Continental breakfast was included. One thing missing in the rooms is black out shades on the windows, which was annoying, especially because sunrise was at 5:30 am and the window faces east. Other than that, we were very happy we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valita72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear Valita72,

We really thank you for you feedback about your stay.
Suggestions from our Guests are always welcome because they help us to improve our hospitality offer, and we would take care of what you mentioned in your review so that we will solve the probelm as soon as possible.

Also, I would like to thank you for mentioning the quality of our service: we do all the efforts in order to give the best to our Guests.

Our service is focused on Guests' satisfaction: as you know, we provided on a complementary basis things that are frequently charged by other properties (like free breakfast in our wine bar if Guests "skip" the breakfast time, extra towels in the room, a bottle of water upon arrival)

We also offered you a free upgrade from our Standard King Room to our Superior Room, and, because your booking required to change room the second day of your stay, our staff has done the maximum effort so that you could check-in in the new room as soon as you checked out from the previous one, at 11:00 AM .

We thank you again for sharing with the community and with us your experience at Locanda San Francesco, and we hope we will have again the opportunity to have you as our Guests
Kindest regards

Cinzia & Luca
La Locanda di San Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
324 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

This is our fourth visit to the town of Montepulciano. This time we wanted to stay in town instead of outside in the valley. It is beautiful location...a breath-taking view right outside across the little piazza of the valley below. If you have the movie, "Under the Tuscan Sun", one of the shots is just over that wall (even though the movie pretended it was Cortona). We agree with all the positive comments about La Locanda di San Francesco. I just wish we could have stayed longer. The best of everything.

Montepulciano has great restaurants, shops, and many wine shops. You will get a good workout walking up and down the streets. Driving into the hotel is part of the experience. We got a little confused and drove from the bottom of town up to the hotel...not for the faint-of-heart! The easy way is to follow the instructions from the hotel and enter town up at the top, go past the Duomo, stay to the left and your are there. I will try and post a video clip of the drive out of town. Those streets were orginally made for horses pulling a cart!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynndds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Dear Betram31,

We would like to thank you, together with our staff, for the beautiful words you spent about our Locanda San Francesco.
We are especially pleased that you like Montepulciano so much that you came back to visit it several times! We agree with you about the beauty of the town, which is really easy to explore from the Locanda: the shops, the restaurants, the monuments, the historic wine cellars are just few minutes on foot from Locanda San Francesco.

We know that driving the first time in Montepulciano it's not really easy : it's a town whose streets where thought for the exigences of the Middle Age and the Renaissance, when driving was not the main issue..

That's the reason why, with the confirmation of the booking, we send driving directions and a map to our upcoming Guests , with our recommendation to NOT USE GPS!!
The historic center has a large pedestrian area, which makes Montepulciano an oasis of quietness with high quality of life, and unfortunately several tourists keep entering in that area following their GPS ..
With our map, Guests can reach the Locanda by car in 2 minutes from the entrance of the town!

We really hope will have again the opportunity to host you in our Locanda San Francesco or to meet you in our wine bar and we take the occasion to thank you again for sharing your experience in Montepulciano with the community of TA.

Our warmest regards
Cinzia & Luca
La Locanda di San Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I agree with absolutely everything everyone has written about this gem of a place. The views are unbelievable and Cinzia customer service is simply outstanding. I only have one reason for giving it a four star rating - which I hate to do - but this is something I would want to know - our room had a major infestation of pill bugs/rolly-pollies. During our two night stay, we killed *6* of them - and we really only used our room to sleep. Granted, they are harmless bugs, but it was a little disturbing. So if this might bother you, might want to stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina2178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Dear Gina Schmitz,

Thank you for your review and for the beautiful words you spent about us.

We are glad you appreciate our service, we do our best in order to make our Guests happy of their stay with us!
For that reason we are really very sorry of hearing only now, and for the first time since the opening of LSF, about the problem you mentioned in your post: if you had told us or to our staff during your stay, we would have had the opportunity to solve it while you were here!

Anyway, we thank you for letting us know about that problem, and, while we are very sorry and apologize for that, we will use your experience in order to improve further our service and to better check the level of satisfaction of our Guests while they are here.

Kindest regards
Cinzia Caporali
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

It is that simple: La Locanda di San Francesco is perfect! La Locanda di San Francesco is perfectly located, perfectly appointed and maintained, has spectacular views, serves a fresh and bountiful breakfast, and has lots of nice extras, like fresh fruit and candy throughout the property, a library of current English language guide books, and Hermes bath amenities. To top it off, Cinzia and Luca are dedicated, enthusiastic, and friendly hosts. Over the course of two weeks, we stayed in 5 small hotels and B&Bs. All were nice, but La Locanda Di San Francesco (along with Villino Di Porporano in Parma) was one of two that were truly exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgmanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
266 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
400 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Tosco
Il Tosco
#2 of 44 in Montepulciano
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda di San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda di San Francesco

Property: La Locanda di San Francesco
Address: Piazza di San Francesco 5, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusivity of just four luxury bedrooms in a fourteenth century palazzo in the heart of the old part of Montepulciano. All the rooms have a breathtaking view over the Val d'Orcia and/or the Val di Chiana, and each of them is decorated individually and furnished with fine antiques from the family collection.Free wi-fi is provided in all the rooms and common areas, and free parking is available for Guests near the entrance of the property.On the ground floor, the jazzy Locanda's wine bar-bistrot "E lucevan le stelle", a perfect spot for lunch, dinner or an aperitif on its panoramic terrace, admiring the unforgettable sunsets on the Val D'Orcia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your La Locanda di San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Di San Francesco Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing