We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Tuscan experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Locanda di San Francesco
Ranked #2 of 44 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Tuscan experience”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

All the positive reviews are justified. This is a wonderful 4 room inn which has been lovingly restored. It's in a great location situated within the walls of the most idyllic hilltown in all of Tuscany. The rooms were modernized and spotless. The wine bar and terrace were great places to hang out and enjoy the spectacular views. The owner Cinzia could not have been nicer or more accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFS-Arlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear BFS-Arlington,

Thank you for your kind review. The feedback of our Guests is very important for us, in order to provide always the best quality of the service.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Locanda San Francesco, and hope we will have the pleasure to host you again in a next occasion.
Warmest regards

Cinzia Caporali
Owner and Manager
La Locanda di San Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
312
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, MD
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at La Locanda in September 2013 and just loved this little hotel. 4 room bed and breakfast in the beautiful hilltop town of Montepulciano. Our room was large, updated and beautifully appointed. The views were spectacular and our hostess was warm and inviting and helpful. Loved the wine bar that was also their reception area and the breakfast was wonderful. We were only there for one night and were disappointed we hadn't booked more. This was our first trip to Italy. Two weeks all over the country. The entire trip was just awesome and this one night stop was certainly a highlight. We will definitely go back and I highly recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear DeniseM,

Thank you for your review!
We truely appreciate the time our Guests dedicate to write a review about our property, especially when they staied with us only one night!
I'm glad that you enjoyed your experience at Locanda San Francesco, and look forward to host you again in a next occasion.
Kindest regards,

Cinzia Caporali
Owner and Manager
La Locanda di San Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at La Locanda di San Francesco in late September 2013. This is a beautiful little bed and breakfast with unbelievable views in an historic little hilltop town in Tuscany. When we settled into our room, my wife and I looked at each other and said "this is the most beautiful place we have ever stayed". It was clean, comfortable, and tastefully appointed with attention to every detail. Cinzia was a most gracious hostess, offering us wine and snacks on our arrival and then spending time with us going over a map of Montepulciano, and offering dining and sight-seeing recommendations. Breakfast was also a highlight and served in a beautiful library setting. There is a bar downstairs that is just the place to enjoy a glass of wine while enjoying a beautiful Tuscan sunset. And as a bonus for traveler's who have been on the road for a while, there is a laundry located just around the corner, which was convenient and timely for us. Highly recommend visiting Montepulciano and staying at this wonderful inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneSusanZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear GeneSusanZ,
Thank you for your review!
I think that nothing could give us the sense of happiness like reading the words "this is the most beautiful place we have ever stayed".
It would be a pleasure for me and Luca to have the opportunity to host you again at Locanda San Francesco.
Warmest regards,

Cinzia Caporali
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here in July 2013. We had a wonderful room, great reception and all around relaxing and lovely experience. We would definitely stay here again if we return to this city! Cinzia is a great hostess! All rooms are top of the line in quality, amenities and cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear DanaM,
Thank you for your kind review and for your beautiful words!
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at Locanda San Francesco, and really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a next occasion.
Kindest regards

Cinzia Caporali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This beautiful, small, welcoming 4 room inn in Montepulciano was the perfect home for exploring Tuscany. Cinzia is a wonderful, warm welcoming hostess. She welcomed us with a glass of wine and snacks. It was like going to someone's home and not an inn. She gave us spot on recommendations for restaurants, shops, and day trips and was always there asking us about each experience. The suite had incredible views over both sides of town and the best sunset view imaginable. We left the windows open at night and had a beautiful, cool Tuscan cross breeze all night. Breakfast is included and is excellent. The attached wine bar was a great place to relax after a long day or grab a glass of wine before or after dinner. We loved all the people working there. We also loved Montepulciano - what a fantastic town to call home for a few days. Can't imagine a better place to stay in Tuscany. Thank you Cinzia!

Room Tip: The suite is worth the extra money - great views on both sides of the valley, beautiful sunsets, gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Kjmann,

Thank you for your detailed review and for the kind words you spent about us.
We try to share with our Guests our experience of restaurants, shops and our knowledge of the area.
The feedback about our suggestions is very important for us, provinding us always updated information, and, what's more important, giving us the possibility to better understand the exigences of our Guests.

I would like to especially thank you for mentioning our staff. We are absolutely happy you loved all the people working here.
Each person working at Locanda and in its wine bar is focused on Guests/Clients satisfaction about the whole experience with us, and me and Luca are very proud of all the people working with us (Kristian, Lyubov and Ilaria on the wine bar, Denise and Alessia at Locanda)

Hoping to have the pleasure to host you again at Locanda San Francesco,
Warmest regards

Cinzia Caporali
Owner and Manager
La Locanda di San Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
735 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,308 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Perfect top-of-the-hill sanctuary in Montepulciano with the most comfortable bed. We happen to stay in 2 different rooms-the king and their 3-room suite. The king room has expansive views of the Valdichiana Valley- simple accommodations with a rustic charm. The 3 -room suite has great views of both valleys including the Val D'Orcia. Loaded with amenities including own computer, satellite/ cable systems, luxurious bath, historic church bell tower room (aka club room), sumptuous robes, etc. Breakfast of fruits, cheese, cold cuts, hard-boiled eggs, fresh juice, cappuccino and the heavenly farm-fresh yogurt. Lovely hosts, what else can I say? Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Ebbtide123,

Thanks for the detailed review you wrote about our property!

We are sorry that, in order to extend your stay as you required, we could not offer you the same room for all the nights, but I'm glad that you enjoyed both rooms, our Standard King and our Suite!

Hoping to welcome you again at our Locanda San Francesco in a next occasion,
Kindest regards

Cinzia Caporali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

There is a not a lot to add to all the reviews as this is surely one of the finest places we have ever stayed at...The owners, staff, hotel, winebar and town are all AAA...the views are sometimes indescribable, as they must be experienced...ours was outstanding every minute of the day...the town itself is incredible and the joy of parking the car in front of the hotel for 2 days and enjoying the town was a bonus....thank you all for an amazing journey to montepulciano..we will never forget it and hope to return someday

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirlarry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Sirlarry9,
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing with the community of Tripadvisor the beautiful pictures you took at Locanda San Francesco.
I'm glad that you enjoyed you stay with us, and hope we will have the pleasure to host you again in a next occasion.
Warmest regards

Cinzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Tosco
Il Tosco
#1 of 44 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda di San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda di San Francesco

Property: La Locanda di San Francesco
Address: Piazza di San Francesco 5, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusivity of just four luxury bedrooms in a fourteenth century palazzo in the heart of the old part of Montepulciano. All the rooms have a breathtaking view over the Val d'Orcia and/or the Val di Chiana, and each of them is decorated individually and furnished with fine antiques from the family collection.Free wi-fi is provided in all the rooms and common areas, and free parking is available for Guests near the entrance of the property.On the ground floor, the jazzy Locanda's wine bar-bistrot "E lucevan le stelle", a perfect spot for lunch, dinner or an aperitif on its panoramic terrace, admiring the unforgettable sunsets on the Val D'Orcia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your La Locanda di San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Di San Francesco Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing