We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay in a beautiful town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Locanda di San Francesco
Ranked #3 of 44 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 June 2014

So happy we booked here - with only four rooms in this charming hotel, we felt very lucky to have reserved a room with views out to both sides of the countryside - so we got to admire both sunrises and sunsets, as well as beautiful, ever changing views in between. After a steep walk into town (note, best not get dropped off at the main town gate, there are other entrances closer to the hotel!), we were rewarded with a cool breeze and stunning views. Cinzia sat us down in the wine bar with some water and coffee which was greatly appreciated. The building has been so beautifully restored and the room was elegantly decorated (19th century bedhead? Amazing). Great shower, lovely toiletries, fluffy robes and a huge, high bed, truly a luxury Tuscan B&B, we loved it. Beautiful breakfast spread laid out each morning (one of the best we came across in three weeks of travelling through Italy) and the wine bar was a great place to have apertivo each night before walking to a nearby restaurant for dinner. Also hired a car for three days via a local company recommended by Cinzia - worked very well and thought the delivery and pick up service to the hotel was great. Would love to return to this beautiful town and this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Book early to get the Superior room with views out to both the east and west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetinytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Thetinytr,

Thank you for your time in writing a so kind a detailed review about your stay at our Locanda San Francesco.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our Superior Room, which is the only spot in all the old town of Montepulciano facing on the Val D'Orcia, on West, and on the Valdichiana, on East.
Guests choosing that room can admire, from their bed, the sunrise and the sunset, with a stunning view on the Tuscan countryside. The large window in the bathroom offers the same beautiful view on the Val D'Orcia than the bedroom.
We thank you also for mentioning our breakfast: we do our best in order our Guests can start the day in the best way, and we are happy you found our breakfast one of the best of your Italian trip.

We would be really pleased to have the opportunity to host you again in a next occasion,
Kindest regards

Cinzia and Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed at Locanda San francesco and had a wonderful time three years ago. This year, we are traveling with three other couples and immediately booked this B&B the day that we booked our airline tickets, in this case eleven months in advance. Generally when traveling to Tuscany, we try to stay in different cities each trip to pick up the local flavor. Tuscany, 4 rooms required? It was a no brainer for us. This trip we intentionally decided to hang around at the Locanda more than the last, having dinner and drinks….at the lovely wine bar. Cinzia and Luca are the perfect hosts and our time here could not have been better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeyrm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Joyerm7,

Thank you for choosing again our Locanda San Francesco !
We were really glad to meet you and your wife again, after your first stay three years ago, and to meet your friends travelling with you.
We always do our best, together with our staff, in order to meet the expectations of our Guests: their feedback is very important to us, especiallly when they are staying at the Locanda for the second time.
For that reason we deeply appreciate your kind words, and we are especiallly pleased that you and friends enjoyed your stay at Locanda San Francesco.

Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future,
Warmest regards

Cinzia and Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

In Montepuciano for a wedding week end, we booked a room by chance at the Locanda di San Francesco, which sits in the heart of Montepulciano with an incredible view on the Tuscanese landscape. It has been a great discovery. The welcome of Cinzia and Luca was very warm and nice. We appreciated the quality of the room and of the very confortable bathroom with a view. We had a good breakfast and excellent glasses of wine at the bar. We had pleasa nt discussions with the owners who speak English, italian and French (and maybe other languages?). This is a place to go for a romantic week-end or a tuscanese wine tour.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Jeremie D,

Thank you for your feedback and for the kind words you spent about us and our property!
Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you and your wife again at Locanda San Francesco,
Warmest regards

Cinzia Caporali & Luca De Nicolò

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here on our first night in Tuscany. We were two couples, and we booked two rooms-- one suite and one king size. The quality of the room and furnishing was so tasteful and full of character, the hotel building was originally part of a church. Solid wood floors, spacious simple. Modern, luxurious bathroom. Glorious views.

The welcome couldn't have been warmer. The hosts greeted us , offered us Prosecco and snacks, and helped us settle into the small,very private hotel at the top of this dramatically gorgeous town. Lovely breakfast in the public lovely living room on the ground floor.

Bed quality was heavenly, luxurious linens, Luxurious toiletries: Acqua di parmi shampoos, shower gel, lotion,
Many drawers, easy to stay put here. Sorry we did't stay a second night

The town is incredibly charming.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Bat54,

Thank you for choosing our Locanda San Francesco for your stay in Montepulciano!
We are glad your enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your kind words about us and our property.
Hoping we will have the pleasure to host you and your friends in a future occasion,
Kindest regards

Cinzia Caporali and Luca De Nicolò

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The warmth and hospitality of the owner, Cynzia, is reflected in every detail of the hotel. There are only four guestrooms and this really adds to the charm. Cynzia uses the wine bar as her "office" and this is a wonderful space! When we arrived, Cynzia led us into this room, which was gently buzzing with conversation - not the usual noisy bar at all - and settled us down with a glass of wine and a delicious assortment of appetizers.
The spacious guestrooms are decorated with exquisite taste, and look out onto the gorgeous countryside. In the morning a delicious and plentiful breakfast was set out in the equally beautiful library/ sitting room.
It is hard to describe the deep sense of peace I felt in this place, with its warm glow in the soft sunlight. I feel very lucky to have had the experience of staying in this magical hotel.

My only advice to any future visitors is: Make sure you check your email for Cynzia's directions to the hotel. We didn't, and that made it very hard to find in the rather confusing (though utterly charming) town of Montepulciano. In the end we called Cynzia and, of course,she kindly met us outside the town gates and led us to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delna_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Delna_13,

Thank you for your time in writing a so detailed review about your stay, and for the beautiful words you spent about us!

I'm especially pleased you mentioned our wine bar "E lucevan le stelle".
When we opened the Locanda, we thought that the combination between the privacy and the level of service that we could provide with only of 4 rooms and a trendy and international-style wine bar&bistro (like usually only large hotels have) could be an added value for our Guests.
So, we are really glad you enjoyed not only the hotel stay but also our "E lucevan"wine bar !

Also, thank you for mentioning the directions we send to each Guest just after the reservation (also available on our website)

Montepulciano has an extensive no-traffic/pedestrian area ( ZTL): only residents and Guests of hotels with a private parking space are allowed to drive there.
Each hotel can be reached through a specific itinerary, individuated by the Municipality in order to minimize the lenght of the drive in the ZTL and to avoid the pedestrian area
Of course, GPS cannot "see" that itinerary, and statistically they show the only shortest way (through the pedestrian area).
Even if local police understands the difficulties of tourists, assisting them with directions instead of giving a fine, cars in the pedestrian area annoy people walking and enjoying the peace of Montepulciano.
So we take the occasion of your kind review to remind to our upcoming Guests to print our directions instead of using GPS. In less than 5 minutes by car, starting from any point of Montepulciano, they will reach the Locanda without any problem.

We thank you again for sharing your experience at Locanda San Francesco with the community of Tripadvisor, and we really hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warmest regards

Cinzia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the Locanda for 4 nights, using it as a base for exploring this part of Tuscany, and had a truly wonderful time. From the moment we arrived in the bar to check in, receiving a glass of red wine, a plate of nibbles and a lot of helpful information on the local restaurants and sights, we felt completely at ease and relaxed. The Locanda is perfectly located at the heart of Montepulciano and with quite stunning views. Our room was also very quiet - aside from a little hustle and bustle in the piazza in the early evenings - and extremely comfortable; we both had the best sleep we'd had in a long time!
Thank you to Cinzia and Luca and the team for all their hospitality and warmth - you made our stay so very special.
Andy & Stacia

Room Tip: We would recommend the Superior room which was large, and with incredible views in both directions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy_j_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Andy & Stacia,

We really thank you, together with our team, for the kind words you spent about us.
We are really pleased you enjoyed you stay in Montepulciano, and the relaxing atmosphere of the Locanda.
Hoping we will have again the pleasure to host you at Locanda San Francesco,
Warmest regards

Cinzia, Luca and Locanda's Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I arrived at the Locanda di Francesco for the third leg out of four on our honeymoon. Our first impressions were as we'd hoped: A clean room with beautiful views across the Tuscan countryside, friendly staff, a fabulous location in the heart of the pleasant town of
Montepulciano. It seemed almost too good to be true.

Except it was.

On the first night we discovered, to our dismay, that our room was positioned almost directly above the Locanda's bustling wine bar. The noise of chatting locals, banging glasses etc went on way past 11pm. This was complimented by a noise that can only be described as a loud pump that disturbed us at regular intervals along with additional noise from heating pipes in the room.

With hindsight we should have complained after the first night but, being British, we soldiered on.

The third night, a Saturday, proved to be the final straw whereupon my distressed wife jumped out of bed at 11.15pm and went downstairs into the bar. An unapologetic barman took a set of keys out of the till and escorted us to a new room.

The new room, whilst still afflicted by the noise of pumps and pipes, boasted a bathroom double the size of the previous one and, crucially, was away from the bar.

Why though, as a honeymooning couple were we given the poorest, loudest room in the first place? We had booked months in advance..

And what can I say about the Locanda's breakfast? A basic offering in all honesty, with scant variety from day to day.

For all its great points - and it does have many - the noise factor means we simply couldn't recommend the Locanda.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Sir,

We aknowledge your review.

Locanda San Francesco has 4 guestrooms in total: Superior, Standard King, Standard Queen, Suite. They have 3 categories of price, related to the different size of the bedroom/bathroom, size of the bed, number of panoramic windows. All the rooms have the same facilities.
You reserved through your travel agent our Standard King, a large and “clean room with beautiful views across the Tuscan countryside” as you wrote.
We gave you the room choosed, booked and paied for.

You staied with us 4 nights, arriving on Thursday.
Friday was a very quiet night in town: at 10 pm in the wine bar there were 4 persons, including other Guests of the Locanda. I was also there, and we closed few minutes later.
On Saturday your wife came to the wine bar at 11 pm, pretending a change of room: about 15 people were in the wine bar, no party, no live music.
Luca, who already had been introduced to you as the co-owner of the Locanda (“an unapologetic barman” in your review), escorted you to the only room left, our Standard Queen, available only because of a no-show of 2 nights. After that, he went to the Standard King, where he didn’t experience the level of noise you wrote about.

The room were you moved, whose category and price are the same than the previous one, has a larger bathroom, a smaller bedroom, an Italian king-size bed instead of an American king-size. Both rooms have the same panoramic view and the same facilities.

Our wine bar is usually considered by our Guests as an added value, and not a limit. They can have lunch, dinner or an apéritif, enjoying one of the most unforgettable sunsets in Tuscany, temporary art exhibitions and, on season, live jazz.
It’s a service that you also had the possibility to appreciate when, on your last night at Locanda, you choosed to have dinner there.

During your four nights stay, and despite you met me, Luca and our staff regularly, you didn’t report to any of us the "noise of pumps and pipes" you mentioned.
In both rooms where you staied there was no activity that could be related to working pumps.
None of the other Guests experienced that kind of noise, neither in the days you staied with us nor in the following ones.

Our heating sytem has ceiling fan-coil units, like most of the hotels around the world. Guests can set the temperature like also the speedness of the fan. Built in 2006, we do a regular mainteinance of it.
Again, noone of the other Guests, during your stay or in the following days, reported us any noise or complained about the heating system.

We also aknoledge your comments about our breakfast.
Our "basic offering" is a buffet, whose pictures have been posted on TripAdvisor by other Guests in several occasions.
A basket of fresh fruites, a selection of 5/6 fresh peeled fruites, 3 different cakes, fresh baked pastries, a selection of bread, 2 kinds of jam, fresh yoghurt, 6 kinds of cereals/muesli, boiled eggs, a selections of different kinds of cheese and cold cuts, biscuits, 4/5 kinds of juices. All the hot beverages like coffe or cappuccino are expressly made by the staff (no limit on quantity), and we offer a large selection of teas.
Of course we would have been happy to assist you for any other request if you only made us know.

Best regards

Cinzia Caporali
Owner and Manager
La Locanda di San Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
807 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Tosco
Il Tosco
#1 of 44 in Montepulciano
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
#2 of 44 in Montepulciano
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda di San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda di San Francesco

Address: Piazza di San Francesco 5, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range: £133 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusivity of just four luxury bedrooms in a fourteenth century palazzo in the heart of the old part of Montepulciano. All the rooms have a breathtaking view over the Val d'Orcia and/or the Val di Chiana, and each of them is decorated individually and furnished with fine antiques from the family collection.Free wi-fi is provided in all the rooms and common areas, and free parking is available for Guests near the entrance of the property.On the ground floor, the jazzy Locanda's wine bar-bistrot "E lucevan le stelle", a perfect spot for lunch, dinner or an aperitif on its panoramic terrace, admiring the unforgettable sunsets on the Val D'Orcia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Locanda di San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Di San Francesco Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing