We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What is not to like. This place is fantastic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Locanda di San Francesco
Ranked #1 of 44 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What is not to like. This place is fantastic.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Warm welcome from the owners including a glass of wine.
Lovely wine bar downstairs.
Full climate control.
Ridiculous views all over the place.
Our standard room had a very large bath with nice amenities.
Wi-Fi
Great location
Nice breakfast with made to order coffee

What is not to like? Looking at all the pictures on this site makes me miss it already.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigolejetair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Bigoletjetair,

Thank you for your kind review!
In few words, you made a so great description of our property, that it's difficult adding something :-)
I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Locanda San Francesco and that you appreciated its wine bar "E lucevan le stelle", and I hope to have the pleasure to host you again in a next occasion.

Kindest regards

Cinzia Caporali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
317
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Montepulciano is the most attractive village in Tuscany and the Locanda is the very best place to stay. Following our first visit my wife and I come here every year for the location, the comfort, the views and, above all, the hospitality of Cinzia and Luca who treat everyone as old friends

Room Tip: Book early to be sure of a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Formax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Formax,

Thank you for your beautiful review and for choosing again our Locanda for your stay in Montepulciano.
We have the pleasure to host you every year since a long time, and we consider your visit in June as a meeting with old friends!
We really look forward to welcoming you again next season,
A presto

Cinzia and Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

From the Cinzia & Luca's warm welcome with a complimentary wine to the lovely morning breakfast we loved Cinzia's place. The rooms are beautiful. The views? Terrific Tuscany! And the location is this Tuscany jewel is wonderful.

We will return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BillB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear BillB1975,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are pleased you enjoyed the stay at Locanda San Francesco, and hope to have you again as our Guests in a next occasion!
Kindest regards

Cinzia and Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had such a nice warm welcome from Cinzia upon our arrival. After a pleasant exchange and glass of wine, she showed us to our room. The room and bathroom are both romantic, clean and very relaxing. I just love the bathroom amenities ~ great products, lush robes & slippers and dual sinks and a view of the valley & lakes was just the best we could hope for. We cleaned up and then went down to the wine bar and enjoyed more wine and a small plate of nibbles. Lots of restaurants and shopping all around this gorgeous hilltop town! Locando has the most scenic location around, I think every room has a winner view(s). We enjoyed the breakfast in the library room, nice touch. We would certainly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Montepulciano. Thank You Cinzia!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveantw, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Karen D,

Thank you for your kind review!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our suite, with the beautiful view from both sides of the room, on the Valdichiana and on the Val D'Orcia.
Also, thank you for mentioning the bathroom amenities. We always choose for our Guests top notch products ( this year, Acqua di Parma).
You are right, every room at Locanda San Francesco has a stunning view. Together with the very central location, the wine bar, the scenic views from each room are one of the things making Locanda San Francesco a unique place in town.

Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you again,
Warmest regards

Cinzia Caporali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This B&B was one of the highlights of our Tuscany trip. We booked early and asked for a room with a view of the lake. We had a very spacious remodeled room with a very nice bathroom facing the valley and the lake. One of the extra treats were the "Acqua di Parma" shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. We got hooked on the fresh smell. We had to buy it once we got back to the United States. Very expensive in the States! We also loved the wine bar and the wonderful breakfast. Cinzia and Luca made us feel at home in the moment we arrived. The parking was very convenient right in front of the hotel. We took advantage of the special rate for four nights. One day we drove down to the lake (30 minutes), took the boat to the island and had a great day. Another day we hired a private tour guide, Corrado, from Tourscany for a full day wine tour to a private winery in Montalcino with a stop in Pienza, Montichiello, a monastery etc. The 3rd day we spend in town checking out the local wineries. Cinzia recomended a couple excellent restaurants like La Grotta. We loved them. We definately plan to go back to Montepulciano one day and stay at La Locando again, and we will recommend this hotel to all of our friends and family.

Room Tip: Superior room with a view of the valley/lake. Book early and take advantage of the special rate for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Christina,

Thank you for your precious feedback and for the kind review!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the town of Montepulciano.

Also, I thank you for mentioning, together with the view from the room, the Acqua di Parma toiletries we choosed for our Guests.
Since the opening, we offered to our Guests only on top-notch products, from Hermès to Aveda and now the complete line of Acqua di Parma (soap, bath foam, body lotion, shampoo, hair conditioner).
As a woman, the level of hotel toiletries is one of the first things I check in a hotel room. I think that this is one of the factors, together with the quality of linen and towels and the quality of the wine/Champagne in the minibar, that gives you the idea of the "real" level of service in a property, and of the attitude of the hotel to provide the best to Guests.

I'm glad that you liked the restaurants we recommeded. We made a selection of restaurants and shops to suggest to our Guests with the aim they can experience the best of our town, so I'm really pleased that you loved them.

Thank you again for your time in writing a so beautiful review about us and our property,
Warmest regards

Cinzia and Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monsey, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly and attentive staff. Rooms were well maintained and quite comfortable. Location can't be beat. Top of hill so a hike up is in order so you get a great place to stay with a cardio workout. Breakfast in the library was a lot if fun. Wine bar had great local wines and the bottle left in the room was not shabby at all. We were with 3 other couples so we had the run of the place v

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank howardr530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Howardr53,

Thank you for your beautiful review about your stay at Locanda San Francesco.
We are glad that you enjoyed you stay with us, and hope that you and the other three couples of friends felt at home during your stay.
Hoping we will have the pleasure to host you again in the future,
Kindest regards

Cinzia Caporali and Luca De Nicolò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

So happy we booked here - with only four rooms in this charming hotel, we felt very lucky to have reserved a room with views out to both sides of the countryside - so we got to admire both sunrises and sunsets, as well as beautiful, ever changing views in between. After a steep walk into town (note, best not get dropped off at the main town gate, there are other entrances closer to the hotel!), we were rewarded with a cool breeze and stunning views. Cinzia sat us down in the wine bar with some water and coffee which was greatly appreciated. The building has been so beautifully restored and the room was elegantly decorated (19th century bedhead? Amazing). Great shower, lovely toiletries, fluffy robes and a huge, high bed, truly a luxury Tuscan B&B, we loved it. Beautiful breakfast spread laid out each morning (one of the best we came across in three weeks of travelling through Italy) and the wine bar was a great place to have apertivo each night before walking to a nearby restaurant for dinner. Also hired a car for three days via a local company recommended by Cinzia - worked very well and thought the delivery and pick up service to the hotel was great. Would love to return to this beautiful town and this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Book early to get the Superior room with views out to both the east and west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetinytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Thetinytr,

Thank you for your time in writing a so kind a detailed review about your stay at our Locanda San Francesco.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our Superior Room, which is the only spot in all the old town of Montepulciano facing on the Val D'Orcia, on West, and on the Valdichiana, on East.
Guests choosing that room can admire, from their bed, the sunrise and the sunset, with a stunning view on the Tuscan countryside. The large window in the bathroom offers the same beautiful view on the Val D'Orcia than the bedroom.
We thank you also for mentioning our breakfast: we do our best in order our Guests can start the day in the best way, and we are happy you found our breakfast one of the best of your Italian trip.

We would be really pleased to have the opportunity to host you again in a next occasion,
Kindest regards

Cinzia and Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
266 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
400 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Tosco
Il Tosco
#2 of 44 in Montepulciano
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda di San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda di San Francesco

Property: La Locanda di San Francesco
Address: Piazza di San Francesco 5, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusivity of just four luxury bedrooms in a fourteenth century palazzo in the heart of the old part of Montepulciano. All the rooms have a breathtaking view over the Val d'Orcia and/or the Val di Chiana, and each of them is decorated individually and furnished with fine antiques from the family collection.Free wi-fi is provided in all the rooms and common areas, and free parking is available for Guests near the entrance of the property.On the ground floor, the jazzy Locanda's wine bar-bistrot "E lucevan le stelle", a perfect spot for lunch, dinner or an aperitif on its panoramic terrace, admiring the unforgettable sunsets on the Val D'Orcia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Locanda di San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Di San Francesco Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing