We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful”

L'Altro Cantuccio Ristorante
Ranked #16 of 98 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$56
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: In the heart of the city Poliziano, in the cellars of the Palace Bucelli, one of the most characteristic buildings of Montepulciano, is born The Other Corners, a restaurant that reflects the typical Tuscan tradition eras with a modern, using only local products at km 0 . with an extensive wine cellar to taste the best wines of our Montepulciano both bottled and the glass with 20 tasting glasses, this is the place where you can relax. The restaurant consists of two rooms: the main room with panoramic views and a tavern, our flagship entirely underground, with wonderful vaulted ceilings, suitable for a romantic and intimate dinner or private spaces for ceremonies or dinners private. outdoor tables during the summer season and air-conditioned room. Specializing in homemade pasta and Chianina beef grilled.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“delightful”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We found this place by seeking shelter under an archway just as the rain began. Very flavorful (the duck ragu pasta was memorable), stylish, and friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdvicto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    201
    63
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“This is the business!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Montepulciano is struggling this summer with visitors rarer than usual but if you manage to make it up to the heights of this charming town, a visit to this restaurant is to treat yourself. I sat inside as rain teemed down and received delightful service from three different people. Prosecco was given on arrival, an amuse bouche soon followed. My pasta for starters was excellent and left room for a fine pepper stew made from the local beef. Meanwhile a half bottle of Rosso Di Montepulciano ( love the half bottle and would enjoy seeing it in England!) slipped down - it seemed as good as a nobile. I am certain that in busier times this terrific restaurant would retain its fantastic standards.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alasdair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Montepulciano”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 nights in Montepulciano and found this to be the best of the restaurants we tried in every way. The food, service and atmosphere were excellent. Our waiter was friendly without being intrusive and was very helpful in making recommendations. We ate outside. The restaurant seating spills out on to one of the many pedestrian passageways in this charming town. As we ate our dinner outside, we watched the sun set on the Tuscan countryside. An unforgettable evening!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TouristInTuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Incredible food, fantastic service, great ambience”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

5 star experience at this wonderful jewel in Montepulciano. Our server was friendly and attentive, and the food ranging from the pasta to the beef was outstanding.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NadirAhmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous little spot”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

They have cleverly created seating on the steps that lead down to the restaurant under an ancient stone archway. It provided a lovely breeze and the opportunity to people watch while we ate. The server was friendly and attentive and the prix fixe lunch was good value -- nice salami and cheese starter, flavorful house-made (?) pici pasta with a wild boar sauce and wine included. We ordered ricotta cheesecake for dessert and it was possibly the best dessert of our trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JeanineMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Altro Cantuccio Ristorante also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to L'Altro Cantuccio Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing