We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch!”

Ristorante La Grotta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$52 - US$79
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opened till 1966, tuscan food, garden for summer time, romantic dinner.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Notch!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was one of the best meals we had during out three nights in the Siena region of Italy. The other was at Poggio Piglia, where we were staying. Wonderful pasta, not too heavy, amazing olive oil, wine, service, ambience, etc, etc. We still dream of our meal here. The patio was gorgeous and the staff was very courteous and not pretentious at all. Amazing location right next to the beautiful San Biagio church too. Make a reservation and enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindsaydrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    169
    41
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Walked up the hill on the recommendation of Roberto at the Relais San Bruno where we were staying. Awesome meal and wine. Service was excellent and very cool building. Outside the city walls and down the hill but we'll worth going too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is a fantastic find with really lovely staff. Some outdoor seating with great views of the Duomo. If you cannot get an outside table, I won't worry too much as there is a battle with bitting insects and the inside space is lovely too. Family run, attention to detail and a wide wine selection. Not to miss

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank comfortfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not so good...”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have been in Italy on and off for years and especially in Tuscany. I have heard about La Grotta from a number of people who really like it and say it is amongst the best food in Tuscany. I have no idea why it has taken me this long to get there but on my latest trip I did manage to go there with two friends. Unfortunately I left rather unimpressed (apart from the bill which was rather impressive!). The service was very good but the food lacked style and flavor. I left feeling there is little substance to this restaurant. Granted there was no room for complaint as the food was edible but there are far better restaurants in Tuscany where you don't have to pay exorbitant prices and the food is much better. I am in absolutely no rush to go there again anytime soon. 'Try somewhere else' would be my review.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bellisimo!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

A truly wonderful experience is to be had at this delightful restaurant opposite the church of San Biagio just outside Montepulciano's walls. My wife and I could not have had a better experience - impeccable service (good English), fabulous presentations and really excellent food - at our recent lunch there. We were offered a white wine aperitif soon after being seated and a great chef appetizer creation - porcini and baked pecorino. My wife had the artichoke and spinach tart starter, complete with a fabulously prepared thin slice of bacon, and couldn't pass up on the white tartufo tagliatelle, cooked to perfection. I tried the tasting menu - and was not disappointed - the artichoke/spinach tarte, pate crostini, white bean soup, pigeon ravioli, lamb cutlets and dessert selection. Amazingly good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocknrareair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante La Grotta also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante La Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing