We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view...”
Review of Il Borghetto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Borghetto
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A room with a view...”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Typical hill town hotel...part of the old village ...simple decor... but Italian antique....the best part was opening the shutters and having the incredible view of the Italian countryside. Just like in the movies! Conveint walk to many local restaurants...just be prepared for uphill hikes...as Montepluciano is a hill top town. The hotel perfectly mey my needs...not luxury...but plenty of old world charm!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    12
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Very beautiful view from my room BUT no AC and 140 euro for 3 people !
I think that the owner should at least include the breakfast for this price.
The room are old but clean.

Do not go in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarounette25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montepulciano hotels

Twells
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This hotel is not as advertised and not what we expected for over 1,000 Euros. We booked a suite expecting it to be better than a standard room, it was dark, uninviting and awful. In fact it is nothing more than a rented room with a white fridge in the middle of it. The bed was very uncomfortable and there were no soft furnishings, just 2 small hard childrens chairs. Add to this next door's toilet which sounded like it was in our room, constant traffic noise from 0530 in the morning, no airconditioning (1,000Euros remember) we were glad to leave at the end of our stay. We mentioned our distisfaction when we paid but our comments were ignored. We always see the better side of "shabby chic" but this was plain shabby. Someone should take resposibility for this, it's a rip off. I doubt we can get any money back but maybe I can stop others being conned. Montepulciano is a delightful town though.

Room Tip: Go to a different establishment, seriously!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CameronTwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

This was the only truly dreadful hotel we stayed in in Tuscany. Any hope of salvaging any "charm" from this tired place was dashed by the inept and rude management. The manager refused to return our passports to us after we checked in, unless we paid the full (two-day stay) bill in advance, claiming that some other clients in the past left without paying their bills and that retaining guests' passports was this hotel's standard practice. After one night in this cigarette-smoke-ridden rattrap, we checked out early with passports in hand. Never again. So sorry, this is an exception in Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welltravelled044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

This is a very cute and tiny boutique hotel in the center of Montepulciano. The rooms are decorated with antiques and are clean. For the money, I think it is a pretty decent value for Italy in comparison to other places we stayed in Italy. I did smell cigarette smoke several times during our stay, so I'm not sure if the hotel is non smoking or not. The owner was helpful and very nice but I was a little "taken back" that she asked for "cash" as payment on our departure. Most other hotels in Italy will offer a "discount" for clients who are willing to pay cash, unfortunately she didn't offer this to us.
There are cats who "hang out" in the hotel and also on the reception desk which I am usually "ok" with-because this is pretty commonplace in Europe. However, I am pretty sure that I smelled wafting cat pee a few times and I found this also to be pretty gross. I also thought the amount of traffic noise from the street was pretty loud, as our window faced a busy street leading into montepulciano. Once closed, the noise died off, but then you miss the fresh air.
The restaurant across the street from this hotel called Borgo Buio is excellent and you shouldn't miss it. I had some kind of luxurious truffle pasta there and I will remember it for the rest of my life.
Overall, a decent stay that suited our needs. If we go back to Montepulciano, I probably will also be looking into staying somewhere else. I'm sure that there are probably other establishments there that are non-smoking and don't have cats...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ONCNURSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2008

Il Borghetto is in a great location right within city walls. The room was clean and there was free parking on the street behind the hotel for our rental car. It is decorated "Tuscan style" with antique type furniture. The bed gave us a bit of neck stiffness as it was a bit soft and downslanting. The shower has just a drain in the floor with a curtain. Although there were "no smoking signs" the staff at the front desk sure do chain smoke so be warned about that! Overall, the location was good and the room was clean but if I go back to Montepulciano I will probably try to find another hotel to stay.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo Il Marzocco
Albergo Il Marzocco
#19 of 28 in Montepulciano
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Duomo
Albergo Duomo
#9 of 28 in Montepulciano
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
#11 of 28 in Montepulciano
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camere Bellavista
Camere Bellavista
#17 of 28 in Montepulciano
209 reviews
4.9 mi away
Il Grifo Hotel e Prosciutteria
Il Grifo Hotel e Prosciutteria
#23 of 28 in Montepulciano
66 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borghetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borghetto

Property: Il Borghetto
Address: Via Borgo Buio 7, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Borghetto 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Il Borghetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing