We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in beautiful surroundings”
Review of Palazzo Seneca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Seneca
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Norcia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently had a one night stay at the Palazzo Seneca in Norcia. My only disappointment was that we weren't able to stay longer than we did. The welcome was fantastic but it doesn't compare to the fab feeling when our room was presented to us. Utterly wonderful! Spacious, bright and fantastic bathroom facilities. Great value for money. I couldn't have been more positively surprised. The hotel offers a wonderful breakfast service and a beautiful little underground spa cut out of stone beneath the hotel. The décor of the hotel is beautifully elegant without being stuffy. I can't wait to have the chance to go and stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Had a great 2 night stay here as part of a Girasole self guided hiking tour
Fantastic hotel in a beautifully renovated palazzo along with great service
We also tried the in-house up.market restaurant which also was fabulous with innovative food and great service

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank RicandAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DA81, Direttore vendite at Palazzo Seneca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy to understand that you were satisfied about Palazzo Seneca, and about Vespasia the gourmet restaurant of the hotel. As indicated in your review we are in a beautifull destination for trekking, the National Park of Sibillini Mountains. We hope you can programme in the future a new stay in Palazzo Seneca maybe for more then 2 nights..
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very pleasant overnight stay. Beautiful rooms, lots of little salons and libraries...The Breakfast
is a masterpiece! Lots of attention to details. Very informative staff.
If we go back to Norcia and the Sibillini mountains, we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 568fabiennec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DA81, Direttore vendite at Palazzo Seneca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you to choice Palazzo Seneca and for your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you were statisfied about your stay and about Palazzo Seneca.
We hope you would like to come back soon in Norcia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Perhaps I am being a little harsh in my rating of this hotel but when I compare it to other places we stayed at during our 3 weeks tour of Italy and when I consider the cost it was disappointing.

The old property is beautifully appointed but so lacking in atmosphere, for the most part it looks 'staged' and one feels slightly uncomfortable. I prefer something with a more homely and warm feel.

Our room was pretty standard and the balcony was a disappointment; a view was only possible if I stood on a chair and looked over the enclosing wall.

The bathroom was tiny and the shower door opened in such a way that I had to squeeze between the basin and the sliding shower door to gain access. Anyone carrying a bit of weight would have a problem.

We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant, it looked high class but always empty. We chose to eat in the restaurant across the street (same family) where the restaurants were always packed and buzzing and the food was delicious.

The breakfast's were good but the service strange. The young man on duty was very personable and helpful but if anyone wanted a cooked breakfast he had to run off in search of a chef to prepare it. The kitchen was a long way from the breakfast room and while he was away there was no service for other guests.

I think the hotel has great potential but to me it was soulless and below par.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DA81, Proprietario at Palazzo Seneca, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Hello, I am Vincenzo Bianconi one of the owners of Palazzo Seneca, first of all thank you for choosing us and I'm sorry it did not meet your expectations, but in order to make the information to the readers the most correct You can consider it necessary to make specific comments:
- The value for money in comparison to the level of our hotels and we believe many operators specialized in the segment "luxury" among the best

- By staging there is really nothing at Palazzo Seneca is one of the most authentic houses of Italy.
The furniture in a modern Palazzo Seneca tells this region, we like to consider it as a place where you live "a new tradition Umbra" where tradition and some objects and places of honor yesterday meet the tastes of a new elegance today. Our slogan is "at home in an Umbrian Palace," and this is what we offer, in a true and authentic. They worked the best craftsmen of this region to make sure that the objects would tell this earth through their hands, and family traditions.

With us, the concept of elegance is combined with that of sobriety, of value in substance and not in appearance, of harmony between spirituality and materiality. Umbria is the land of St. Francis, Norcia is the town of St. Benedict, this place is located in the heart of the National Park of the Sibillini Mountains, a rural economy then repeat that affects the architecture, a great story, great values.
There has been a lot of research, a lot of attention to every detail has been thought of, is not a place that screams its elegance, is a place that needs to be understood because it expresses its value in many small details that whispers to a discerning traveler. Perhaps you prefer something with a baroque atmosphere, plus a charge of ostentatious luxury ....

- A Palazzo Seneca we have 5 different levels of room. Since this is a historical building dating back to 1500, the rooms are all different in size and character. Normally the size is one of the factors that determines the category of the room. All while being light in color, are furnished with objects of great quality such as four-poster beds made of iron or wood, or carved wooden headboards. We bedside different design tradition. The floors are cooked with a little lighter or with a large plank of wood antique natural. The desks are unique objects, reminiscent of the tables with the mirrors used in the make-up but I am 600 design objects, all covered in leather sewn by hand by master Marche. The bathrooms vary in size depending on the type of room. They are all in fine marble bathrooms are often even two per room.

- We are in a building of 1500, and it is not easy to have large balconies respecting a historic building. We are in the historical center, a short walk from the central square .. You see, however, from these, depending on which side of the building, the towers of the military fortress of Vignola, the mountains of Norcia, and the roofs of neighboring houses. For those who want more space and an enjoyable view from a seated maybe taking a cup of tea or a glass of champagne, we have a large balcony that overlooks our garden and a garden of herbs inside.

- Our restaurant Vespasian is considered one of the best in the region. Our family does catering since 1850 and for us the food comes first, especially in Norcia. Our guests who are looking for a stylish gourmet restaurant are excited about our dishes, elegant and quiet atmosphere .. This differs from our other restaurant is not a place for large numbers, we work with an average of 15/20 places for dinner. Probably she will be coming to the 7:00 pm

- For breakfast I would not know what to say .... We are a hotel with a gourmet kitchen and it is obvious that breakfast is special. To make it so, to avoid falling into banality, in pre-packaged and bagged do two things, the first is to always have at least one cook in the kitchen from 7:00 in the morning so that all requests made and cooked to be expressed in the right place highest level, the second serve is always very fresh products. We are aware that it is more difficult, but this is the difference between us and others, plus a sacrifice to be a little 'more special. I remember that we are always in a building of 1500, and the spaces and plans to put the kitchens, halls, etc. ..

- As regards the soul, well I must say, I'm speechless. From all over the world for over 150 years ago my family hospitality with love and passion in a way like no other. Our staff follows us and wrapped surpasses his passion and attention to guests. kind.

I hope to see you again in Umbria when it will be ready for our region, perhaps after a trip to Italy, after the classic tours, after studying the culture and our land.
At that time back in our hotel will probably appreciate the elegance, charm, lightness, the harmony between tradition and innovation .... Appreciate the love that all of our staff puts into what he does and our total availability to meet the expectations of our guests.

That day also ask me, I'll be here waiting for them with pleasure to find out what has been said and much more makes Norcia, Umbria Palazzo Seneca and a unique place in the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay at the Palazzo Seneca. The room was modern, very clean and nicely decorated. The ambience and elegance of this hotel are lovely. All staff are always working hard to provide the best of service. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t0r0, Sales Manager at Palazzo Seneca, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor and we are happy that you were satisfied of your stay in Palazzo Seneca..of course a big thank you from all the staff for your words...we hope to see you again in Norcia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wonderful old property, modernized yet maintaining great original architecture and rooms with character, such as the marvelous library and reading rooms; super location in a food-lovers mountain village; staff trying very hard in overall service and restaurant; and yet...

This is really a 4-star hotel at 5-star prices.

1) Shower doors that open outwards and can never have closed and stayed closed - their installation makes no sense, with no lock of any kind or weighted-hinges ...
2) two full shower head sets for the adventurous; but one never worked, or even dripped
3) lighting in the bedroom was quixotic to be polite; almost useless for reading, and for some designer-nightmare-vision chose to combine old-style lamps with two ultra-modern flex-lamps which didn't even provide useful additional light
3) Beautiful dining room overlooking a sparse courtyard, but furnished with 4 tables each of which was built for 4-6 people --- no intimate dining possible; and several tables had huge armchairs, quite useless for normal eating support --- the restaurant across the road, run by the same family, offers regional Umbrian cooking in a far more interesting atmosphere, equal quality and service, and much cheaper.
4) Breakfast tables remained un-bussed for over an hour after vacated
5) Car parking is about 10 minute walk from hotel, which recognizes the constrictions of the great old village; BUT valet service should therefore be the 'norm', not the exception, and at an additional $10 per night.
6) Local wine tour was arranged without much apparent effort at finding a quality experience --- poor tour, no small foods to assist tasting the wines, and no wines 'aired' -- just poured straight from freshly-uncorked bottle.

Room Tip: Junior suite was pleasant but DEFINITELY not worth the huge increment over the 'normal' room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gourmetscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DA81, Proprietario at Palazzo Seneca, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

I am Vincenzo Bianconi one of the owners of Palazzo Seneca .

Thank you first of all for choosing us

With regard to some of his observations is necessary for me to give precise answers to his comments in order to provide a more complete observation to the readers :

1) Italian shower cabin doors must open outwards must , for safety reasons. If a person were to pass out in the shower and fall to the ground , it would be impossible to rescue her because the door remains locked. It ' obvious that when you open the door hits the floor , but all the rooms are equipped with a foam pad.
2) Some of our showers have two very large heads , all of a handheld shower to rinse more easily . The activation of the second shower head and hand shower is via a lever that is in the shower. I suppose you have had some difficulties in the drive that perhaps we could better explain notwithstanding we put stickers explanatory in all showers . If he had reported his difficulties in a few minutes we would have resolved.
3) Our rooms at Palazzo Seneca have a lot of lighting details, give the room a lot of charm , but are still not dark. The desks are equipped with desk lamp and some rooms have modern reading lamp , other lamps are very elegant and classic bedside . The design of the hotel is very much appreciated , since personal taste , however, do not discuss his judgment.

3a) The tables in the restaurant Vespasian change their structure according to the needs of the service. At Palazzo Seneca 80% of our guests is made up of couples. The tables are always prepared for two. We chairs with armrests and pillows and armchairs important hand-made by artisans in Umbria . We also decided to put the seats because this is a special restaurant , one of the most beautiful in Italy like atmosphere. In the garden we have 4 tables for eating out, but for now I still have never been seen apparecchiati that this spring is still a bit ' crazy. . Even the tables in the garden is the rule of the restaurant, when apparecchiati are always prepared for 2 people

4) I'm sorry that a table for breakfast where there was none , it has not been cleared immediately . You know we always put our guests at the first place , before giving her attention to a picking table we want to give to people in the room . It is a breakfast made of only fresh and genuine products from the territory. All the breads , biscuits, croissants, donuts, the blended fruit etc. . are made every day. It ' very hard for our kids to make sure that all products are always freshly prepared and are at their highest , even serve them. I believe and I'm sorry that maybe there will be a time of maximum flow in the room and that table ( wrongly) to be left behind , I am sorry , however, for this disservice.

5) Normally anywhere in the world the parking is not free of charge especcially in the historical centre. We give free parking or we provate valet parking for 5 euro each way. The car park is 350 meters, 5 minutes walk . Many of our guests like to do this walk , others spend 10 euro in a week , as they leave the machine on arrival and resume it at the start. It seems to me a very advantageous solution for the guest and honest .

6) I'm sorry that it was not satisfied with his tour of the cellars. We provide a list of wineries that produce very good wines , then selected for the quality of wine produced and beauty of the place and the architecture of the winery itself. The element does not mansioniamo tasting ever. It 's too subjective , every traveler has been managing it according to your needs and willingness to spend . We will inform you , however, about a possible location to promote even for tasting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a first rate hotel and the staff are most accommodating and friendly....everything is possible! The rooms are beautiful with small veranda to enjoy morning coffee. We were treated to the spa and rejuvenating tea from David.....just what we needed after a week of trekking in the Sibillini Mountains. Many thanks to Stefano and Serena for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATCQ495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norcia
22.4 mi away
Villa dei Platani Boutique Hotel & Spa
18.7 mi away
Il Baio Relais & Natural SPA
Il Baio Relais & Natural SPA
#1 of 1 in Camporoppolo
688 reviews
23.4 mi away
Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Il Borgo dell'Ulivo
Il Borgo dell'Ulivo
#1 of 7 in Trevi
251 reviews
24.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
#1 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
1,146 reviews
22.4 mi away
Relais Metelli
Relais Metelli
#2 of 17 in Foligno
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Seneca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Seneca

Address: Via Cesare Battisti 12, 06046, Norcia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Norcia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Norcia
Price Range: £136 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Seneca 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At home in an Umbrian palace, this is the atmosphere that you live in this XVI-century building of charm that has reopened after an accurate restoration. Fusion between design and tradition, simplicity and quality is the secret of this new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo Seneca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Seneca Norcia
Palazzo Seneca Hotel Norcia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing