We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of FonteAntica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
FonteAntica
Ranked #2 of 19 Norcia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Charming and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed in this wonderfully atmospheric C18th farmhouse in June 2014 whilst exploring the area photographically. Giovanni, Elizabetta and Paolo were extremely welcoming and Elizabetta worked so hard to provide fabulous home-cooked food for breakfast and dinner. Hat's off to her - does she ever sleep?

I was a bit shell-shocked initially as it was so quiet and peaceful and there is no TV etc in the rooms. But after a couple of days, I'd totally adjusted (sneaked the TV in via the downloads on my IPad) and had some of the best quality sleep I've experienced in years. It is such a charming place.

The whole area is so beautiful and it is a perfect base to explore Monte Sibilini and surroundings. I cannot wait to return to this stunning part of Italy.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Discerning1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
105
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omer, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Fonte Antica is a beautifull ancient Castle in a beautiful area with a breathtaking view.
it has all the benefits for a romantic holiday or a family holiday.
The all family Jovani and Paulo are very warm and helpful in any way.
They have clean, well equipped, quiet place and we didn't want to leave there.
The highlight of the place is the food they serve... you can see the put in
a lot love to their guests. The dinner was one of the best meal we had in Italy.
The rooms are big and gives you a relaxed atmosphere.
We are going back to the villa the first chance we have...
easy acces to the city and excellent service 24 hours a day...
very recommended for a week...

Room Tip: we had a big room for 5 adults and it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I've been meaning to write a review ever since we got back, because Fonte Antica was just the most perfect place to stay. The family are incredibly welcoming and so happy to help find walks, book local restaurants, drive us all up the hill to a music festival in the village and make all their guests incredibly welcome. The bedrooms are spacious, beautifully furnished with antiques, good showers, great bug screens on the windows, lovely linen on the beds. The rest of the house is wonderfully restored and our three children (two teenage boys and a 9 year old girl) enjoyed the table football, pool table, table tennis, mountain bikes, excellent playground with swings and slides and boules. The sound of the spring flowing into the stone tank in the courtyard lulled us to sleep each night, after the most delicious and interesting food served at 8.15pm on the dot each evening. We had a really truly lovely week's stay and would love to visit again. Definitely one to recommend to family and friends - albeit with some trepidation because the Monte Sibillini are so magical and peaceful and we'd quite like them to stay relatively undiscovered!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Giovanni and his brother and sister run a wonderful Agriturismo. As good as any we have stayed in in Italy and we have stayed in lots. Nothing was too much trouble. Home bread and home made ricotta for breakfast fresh every day as well as the usual italian cakes etc.. Four course suppers at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Campi was the next-to-last leg during our hike on the Grande Annello. Compared to rifugios and other B&Bs we had experienced on the way, Fonte Antica was obviously a dip in pure luxury. From the large room with delicately preserved furniture to an unexpected pool table (great for our teenager guy), from the garden inviting us to relax to the so-friendly reception from the owners, everything just felt a notch above. And the food... memorable! The owner-chef treated us to reasonably-sized portions of delectable, regional food. He even makes in own olive oil! Although limited, the wine selection was a very good match to the meal. Beautiful rooms, relaxing location, "molto buono" cuisine from the heart... No hesitation : highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Bernard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Beautiful place, wonderful people and great cooking! Warmly recommended. The surroundings are spectacular with the Monti Sibillini and idyllic Norcia and Castelluccio nearby. Umbria is one of Italy' s lesser known regions but it has a lot to offer a visitor. The food is the best in the country and most sights are not too crowded. Can only say go there!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

A delightful, authentic country agritourismo in Campi, near Preci and Norcia. We had a very friendly welcome from one of the family owners, right in the middle of beautiful hikes, terrific restaurant and the vicinity. If you like Italy, nature and an authentically restored home, this a great place.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 544davidh544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norcia
4.3 mi away
Palazzo Seneca
Palazzo Seneca
#1 of 12 in Norcia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Salicone
4.3 mi away
Hotel Grotta Azzurra
Hotel Grotta Azzurra
#3 of 12 in Norcia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Corte Belvoir
Corte Belvoir
#5 of 12 in Norcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Fiorelli
4.5 mi away
Il Casale San Martino
Il Casale San Martino
#3 of 19 in Norcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FonteAntica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FonteAntica

Property: FonteAntica
Address: Via Vissana 7 | Frazione Campi, 06046, Norcia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Norcia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Norcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the owners and managers of FonteAntica we aim to fully express the spirit of enthusiasm we have for hospitality and the love that we have for our region and our land. In 2008 we opened the doors of our house to guests so that they might discover the roots that we have laid down here; it was, for us, a dream come true. The 18h century house has been fully renovated, carefully preserving the original features of the house as far as possible. This care has also been taken with each of our ten ensuite rooms (two of which are fully accessible for the disabled). The rooms have been restored using the best of materials and are furnished with original 18th and 19th century pieces, guaranteeing both your utmost comfort and the most authentic atmosphere possible. Our cooking is 100% Umbrian, made using our own genuine home produce along with other carefully selected local produce. We serve a fixed menu and the dining area is reserved exclusively for our house-guests. A hearty buffet breakfast of homemade dishes awaits you in the morning to get your day off to a good start. In the large park outside you will be immersed in the lush Umbrian vegetation, where the only noises you'll hear are the twitter of birds and the sound of water coming up from the spring. We offer our guests a wide range of services and activities. Indoors there is a reading room with a fireplace, a billiard table, table top football, darts and board games. While outdoors there are mountain bikes, a ping pong table, a children's play area, archery and an area to play the Italian equivalent of boules: Bocce. We can organise courses for those interested in cookery, Norcineria (the preparation of local cured meets and cheeses) and how to find truffles. We can also organise hill walking trips, walking trips with mules, pony trekking, mountain biking, tasting events, evenings and weekends with a theme, murder mystery dinners, hen and stag parties and small receptions as well as team building and motivational activities such as (rafting, obstacle courses, archery, Nordic Walking and walking with snowshoes). It's the ideal place for groups of friends, families with children and couples in search of some quality time together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your FonteAntica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing