We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Umbrian 'typical' --- means regional bliss”

Ristorante Taverna De' Massari
Ranked #12 of 45 Restaurants in Norcia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$44
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Umbrian 'typical' --- means regional bliss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good food, good local wine, good prices ... what's not to like.
This local restaurant is in heart of old Norcia, and earns its Michelin 3-fork rating easily

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank gourmetscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    123
    42
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Norcia bundled on a menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

While attending the black truffle festival (Nero Norcia, 28 Feb 2014 - 2 March 2014) we dined at this traditional restaurant. The menu has Norcian products prepared simply, traditionally,yet deliciously.

The atmosphere in the restaurant is cosy and unimposing. Service was fantastic (We had reserved a table through our hotel, and when we got there they had our table prepared with the high chair for our 2-year old daughter which I really appreciated).

Black truffle features heavily on the menu (which I loved) and there were sufficient vegetarian options for dishes as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vierah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Have no idea what the prior reviewer is talking about”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have been in Italy for the last seven days, staying first on the Amalfi coast in the #1 rated European resort hotel, Santa Caterina. We have also eaten in the best restaurant in Spoleto on our way to Norcia.

That said, we just had the best dinner of our trip so far, eating at Taverna de Massari. The food was outstanding, truly the best we have encountered, The wine was excellent, the choices were many, and the atmosphere and service were second to none.

Each year we spend no less than thirty days traveling to the finest hotels and locations on the globe. We know fine dining when we experience it. Taverna de Massari is right up there.

And the price, the lowest we have paid on this 30 day journey. Our highest recommendation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frascati
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“As the score... average...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

It's probably one of those typical tourist traps, which are usually not recognised as such by the tourists in their holiday-high mood. Let's start with the food. The quality is not more than average. For instance the ravioli with porcini (ceps) and tartufo (truffles) or the gnocchetti with "Norcina" sauce and truffles as examples. The ravioli was the better dish, but certainly not better than what one usually gets in this area. The truffles appeared to be generously grated over the plate, but ... they were very dry and lacked taste. The gnocchetti alla Norcina are supposed to come with a creamy sauce with mushrooms. It rather seemed a dry cheesy sauce and the microscopic pieces of mushroom didn't add much to the taste. Same problem also with the grated truffle: more than enough but very dry and almost tasteless. Also the white house wine wasn't the greatest of choices and, most certainly for this quality, over-priced.
We ended up paying 30 - 35 % more than what you pay for better quality in more anonymous villages in the surrounding area. That says enough. I do understand the tourists (I happen to live Italy and frequent this area quite often) who think this is outstanding food for a good price, which it is compared to some rip-off situations in London, Paris or Brussels. But if you compare it correctly, to the actual fabulous kitchen offered in this part of the world, I can only say that some considerable effort is needed to come up with a quality that justifies the price. The service? OK, but not really more than that either.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pallavicina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough
Level Contributor
244 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Heavenly food, great wines, lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This was our second visit to this place, and this time we were a party of 12. On arrival, we presented them with a basket of mushrooms, which we had gathered on the Piano Grande. They made then into a delicious pasta dish for us. After the many other courses, washed down with excellent but not expensive Umbrian wine, we finished with glasses of grappa or lemoncillo - offered on the house! An evening to remember, in Norcia's best restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arnoldbakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Taverna De' Massari also viewed

Norcia, Province of Perugia
Norcia, Province of Perugia
 
Norcia, Province of Perugia
Norcia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante Taverna De' Massari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing