We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for the quality offered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Salicone
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Norcia
Certificate of Excellence
Geetbets
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Too expensive for the quality offered”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This is a large hotel with extensive sports facilities which not only the guests may use. That's immediately obvious if you arrive on a sunny holiday and try to find a parking spot on the far too small parking lot. The hotel is functional rather than cosy. Fortunately, the walls are covered with climbing plants to hide the building structure.
The hotel is located just outside the city walls of the beautiful medieval town Norcia. This small city is really worth a visit, also because there are several restaurants that use the local specialty, the truffle, in their food processing.
The front desk staff is friendly and helpful, although only the young lady spoke English. The older lady did not understand a word I from what I tried to tell her. Anyway, as long as someone is present who speak some languages there is no problem.
We had booked a deluxe room with whirlpool bath and terrace. The room was spacious but not what you might expect of their best rooms. The set-up of the room however dated from 20, maybe even thirty years ago, with controls of radio and air conditioning in the headboard of the bed. The air conditioning was adjustable between 18 and 21° C and it was not quite clear whether it worked or not. I noticed at least a very little effect. Previous guests apparently neither, because the fins of the airco were twisted in all directions to get any effect. The refrigerator of the minibar did not function either.
The breakfast also didn’t amount to anything much. Way too sweet croissants, very limited choice of bread, one kind of cheese and salami, synthetic juice, jam, chocolate spread and that was about it. No, this has to be really better.
But in the evening we had a nice meal at the Grotta Azzurra, a restaurant of the same owners in the same center of Norcia.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janssens10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    248
    53
    15
    6
See reviews for
185
178
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Excellent hotel just outside the walled city of Norcia. Nice large rooms with excellent sporting facilities (indoor & outdoor pool, gym). Typical Italian breakfast was very good.

Have dinner at the Grotta Azzura which is owned by same family in town.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkingAr0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

The hotel is situated just outside the city walls – a two minutes walk and you will be in the lovely centre of Norcia.

From the outside the hotel looks more functional than cosy (a little like an Italian military barrack, sorry) although it helps a lot that plenty of green vegetation has grown up and cover most of the façade. Inside the hotel has a fairly old-fashioned look in a country like style – but actually it was quiet charming.

We had a family room for 4 people. Not very big – but it was absolutely fine and clean and the air condition was functioning.

There is free WIFI all over the hotel.

The staff was very friendly – always smiling and helpful. They were definitly a plus for the hotel. They made you feel welcome – and gave the Hotel both a professional and warm atmosphere.

There is a little, inexpensive bar – and friendly people to serve you.

Breakfast was no thrill. The average, Italian buffet, with not very wide variety of items.

There is a minor outdoor pool in connection to the hotel. (And a bigger semi-indoor pool for swimming – but we did not use it – it was clearly for swimmers not for playing). There is also a fitness centre. It looked big – but unfortunately it was not open in the morning – at the time we normally train – so we did not use it.

We noticed that the hotel was being used for many sports events – at least when we where there in July. At our arrival a football school for kids was just about to finish – and instead an international seminar for karate was beginning. Consequently the hotel was fully booked with a lot of sporty dressed guests. We did not see that as a problem. On the contrary it just gave the hotel a nice lively image. But sometimes there were many people at the pool, or at the reception area, at the same time – and when they all came back from training in the afternoon at the same time, the hotel did not have enough hot water if you wanted a shower.

To summarize everybody in the family (both adults and kids) agree on, that we definitely would like to recommend the Hotel - and I imagine that we will choose to stay there again next time we visit Norcia.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMODenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overmere,Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2003

Hotel Salicone,Norcia Very nice hotel ,clean and comfortable rooms...several sport facilities and friendly people. Very good restaurant on 300m from the hotel in the center of the city.

  • Stayed July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DA81, Direttore vendite at Best Western Hotel Salicone, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Google Translation
La ringraziamo per il tempo che ha voluto dedicarci per raccontare la sua esperienza. Ci fa piacere essere riusciti a trasmettere la nostra passione ed il nostro amore per il lavoro che facciamo.
Speriamo abbia la possibilità di tornare di nuovo a trovarci,

Cordialmente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norcia
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Seneca
Palazzo Seneca
#1 of 12 in Norcia
590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#5 of 12 in Norcia
227 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Elite
Grand Hotel Elite
#4 of 8 in Cascia
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Corte Belvoir
Corte Belvoir
#6 of 12 in Norcia
139 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Fiorelli
6.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Stella
Hotel Villa Stella
#1 of 8 in Cascia
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Salicone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Salicone

Property: Best Western Hotel Salicone
Address: Viale Umbria, 06046, Norcia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Norcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Norcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Salicone 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Salicone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Norcia
Norcia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing