We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel with good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Salicone
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Norcia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just outside the Roman Gate, hotel is well placed with ample car parking including underground parking and an unexpected leisure centre! with huge, indoor swimming pool (you need a swimming cap which you can buy there). Place is busy with tour groups but retains a friendly atmosphere. Staff were very attentive, friendly and helpful. Bedroom and bathroom bit 'corporate' but with high wooden ceiling and balcony with shutter doors adding character. Breakfast buffet ok. Best aspect is the proximity to town - it's a very short and easy walk to all the restaurants and sights. Would highly recommend eating at Grotta Azzurra in town centre. Same owners as hotel - if you meet the owner, you're in for a real treat! They cook amazing local meats over an open fire!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidFalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Salicone
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Arriving in Norcia from the South, I was in no mood for another small dark Euro-hotel and was glad to see this place. It is not new but well maintained and has all the comforts a spoiled Americano could want.
The rooms are decent sized and clean with a real bed and a good can- lets not undersell this.
The pluses:
Location is just outside the walls with plenty of free parking.
Desk speaks English and is very helpful.
Good shower and a bathtub with endless hot water.
A/C
Ice(Giacco?)
Summing up, this is like a country, sporting lodge in a beautiful setting with pool and facilities and access to the countryside.
And the price is right, under 100E.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I can recommend this hotel to anyone ... Do not except luxus - but it is has all the comfort you need (large room with large bed). The staff was friendly and helpful.
It is only about 300 m far from the city center. The town itself has a very special atmosphere... We liked just sitting on the stairs on the main square. Great option to go walking to the sorrounding hills - beautiful all around.
There is a wellness center - but nothing special - very simple, BUT there is :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We arrived in Norcia on a very rainy afternoon and found this hotel just outside the city walls. They gave us a warm welcome and put us into the most American type room we had the whole time we were in Italy. The bed was huge and so comfortable, and the bathroom was pure luxury after all the tiny European water closets we had been using. This is not the place to stay if you are looking for old medieval charm, but after two weeks on the road, the bathtub was heaven! We arrived in late September, so had no trouble getting a room or parking. There was a shuttle into town to a lovely restaurant for dinner. The staff were extremely helpful as we tried to find our way out of town to our next destination, even phoning someone who spoke better English so we could chat with them about our route. Breakfast was good and plentiful with attentive service. The hotel is clean and definitely served our needs for a night in the national park.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faithfulone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DA81, Direttore vendite at Best Western Hotel Salicone, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

We thank you for enthusiast review. We try to do our job with love and passion and we are happy when our guests are satisfied. We hope that you could come again to Norcia

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

A nice, clean hotel with friendly staff. Perfectly situated just a two minute walk from the city walls of Norcia. Unlike other reviewers, we had no problem whatsoever finding a parking sopt, and finding the hotel itself couldn't be easier as it's just along the main road heading into Norcia from the south. Unimpressive breakfast though, cold scrambled eggs served in a windowless basement...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sagrantino12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DA81, Direttore vendite at Best Western Hotel Salicone, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you for your review. We hope that you would come back to Norcia again,

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

the hotel is of modern constrution absolutely not inserted in the context of the medieval town. maybe just too modern although for many this may not be a problem. the rooms are large and very clean; the staff is very friendly. we had gotten lost due to a deviation and the hotel clerk CALLED US to ask if everything was okay knowing of the inconvinience and thanks to her directions we got to the hotel without other problems.
norcia si worth the trip and the small restaurants in the old town are just excellent

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This is a large hotel with extensive sports facilities which not only the guests may use. That's immediately obvious if you arrive on a sunny holiday and try to find a parking spot on the far too small parking lot. The hotel is functional rather than cosy. Fortunately, the walls are covered with climbing plants to hide the building structure.
The hotel is located just outside the city walls of the beautiful medieval town Norcia. This small city is really worth a visit, also because there are several restaurants that use the local specialty, the truffle, in their food processing.
The front desk staff is friendly and helpful, although only the young lady spoke English. The older lady did not understand a word I from what I tried to tell her. Anyway, as long as someone is present who speak some languages there is no problem.
We had booked a deluxe room with whirlpool bath and terrace. The room was spacious but not what you might expect of their best rooms. The set-up of the room however dated from 20, maybe even thirty years ago, with controls of radio and air conditioning in the headboard of the bed. The air conditioning was adjustable between 18 and 21° C and it was not quite clear whether it worked or not. I noticed at least a very little effect. Previous guests apparently neither, because the fins of the airco were twisted in all directions to get any effect. The refrigerator of the minibar did not function either.
The breakfast also didn’t amount to anything much. Way too sweet croissants, very limited choice of bread, one kind of cheese and salami, synthetic juice, jam, chocolate spread and that was about it. No, this has to be really better.
But in the evening we had a nice meal at the Grotta Azzurra, a restaurant of the same owners in the same center of Norcia.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janssens10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norcia
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Seneca
Palazzo Seneca
#1 of 10 in Norcia
594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grotta Azzurra
Hotel Grotta Azzurra
#3 of 10 in Norcia
465 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Elite
Grand Hotel Elite
#4 of 8 in Cascia
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#6 of 10 in Norcia
228 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel delle Rose
Hotel delle Rose
#3 of 8 in Cascia
262 reviews
2.8 mi away
Corte Belvoir
Corte Belvoir
#5 of 10 in Norcia
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Salicone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Salicone

Address: Viale Umbria, 06046, Norcia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Norcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Norcia
Price Range: £53 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Salicone 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Salicone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Norcia
Norcia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing