We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4* ???”
Review of Albergo Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Italia
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Novara
Reviewed 10 October 2013

this is the dirtiest hotel I have ever stay in................you have never seen something like this. It was not washed for over 20 years, the blankets are ful of dust, hairdryer almost burned the hotel....it was nightmare.......why 4*????? for what???? one * is enough............we found a few pubic hair in the shower.......

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two night in July of 2013. I have to say that if I had booked the hotel myself I wouldn't have booked it after looking at the reviews! As I was travelling for business it was booked for me. The reception area and ground floor I would say are typical Italian however the rooms haven't been renovated since the hotel was opened. But and this is a big but, if you can look beyond the flaws the room was clean and the shower was hot. I had a problem with the aircon in my room and was offered an alternative. I had gone out for the evening and the problem was solved whilst out so I didn't need to change. The location of the hotel is fabulous and a stones throw from the town centre. After check out I was contacted by the hotel to say that I had left an item of clothing! Of all the hotels in all the places I have stayed this has never happened before. So a big thank you to the Albergo Italia for their diligence that I was reunited with my linen trousers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed in the hotel for two nights in mid April 2012.
The hotel is centrally located, just minutes from Teatro Coccia, the hospital and sort of central area where people gather in the evenings for drinks.
It costs 9 EUR for a taxi from the train/bus station, but it is only about 10mins walk, mostly on pedestrianized street.

The stay in Albergo Italia was not a pleasant one- my first room no 133 was small in size (single) and not very clean- the wallpaper was peeling and was dirty, especially around the bin area, so was the carpet, the mattress was old and sagging, the TV was very small, the fridge broken and generally the place was dirty and unkempt. I even found two lighters with lots of dust under the bed. My room was on the first floor just above the main entrance and looking down at a busy street with lots of cars passing during the day- in the evening was a bit quieter. The heating/ a/c was not working and the room got very hot. I had to sleep with open window which let in quite a lot of noise. The bathroom was very 80's and it was impossible to find comfortable temperature for the shower- the mixer tap was clearly broken- marking 15C water but the water was scolding. I had very uncomfortable night and in the morning requested room change.

I was put to a double room 105 at the back of the hotel which was bigger and better. The decor and general state of room was better, but still quite shabby. It was much quieter, the bed was better and since it had wooden floor, it also appeared cleaner.

Breakfast was fairly basic and there was not that much to select from apart from one plate of cheese and ham, some cereals, jam, not very appetizingly looking croissants and yoghurt. No fresh fruit available.

There is no free wifi in the hotel (cable in room but have to pay for connection) but there is an ancient PC in the hotel lobby with rather slow connection.

The general feeling of the hotel is old ( although the building is probably from mid 80's), shabby and not well looked after. It certainly is not a 4* hotel, in my opinion barely a 3*.

Novara itself doesn't have much to offer- the centre is small, there are few boutiques and shops but not that many bars and certainly hardly any trattorias or cheap eateries for good home-cooked Italians meals. In fact, wandering around the centre, I only saw 3 or 4 restaurants, all closed and rather pricey at around 20-25 EUR for main meal.

There are also very few convenience or food stores in the centre, apart from rather well hidden Billa with very limited selection of stuff.
Apart from 3-4 interesting churches and a few lovely old buildings there is quite little to see in this town- a morning stroll around would be enough.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libor79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

It was my first stay here after having stayed last year in the cavour hotel. My first impression was not really good, the internet site leads to believe it is a very high class hotel. It might be so, but it is also very old and outdated. The electrics in the room dated back to the first opening i guess, indirect tube lights for lighting in the room that were not working to well. Flowery wall paper on walla and ceiling, and an old bathroom. I must say my room was very clean. However my colleagues room was not. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is the same as in cavour, just below european standards. Italian people might be satisfied with a cappucino and a sweet roll, i prefer to have some bacon and eggs, or even a boiled egg. However this was not on the buffet. Maybe you can change this.

My colleague also felt unsafe, in case of an emergency the staircase layout is not that obvious and signs to emergency fire stairs were not to clear.

If you like old hotels, you should defenately stay here. If you prefer somewhat more modern hotels, stay at the cavour, both are just as close to the city centre, which is nice for site seeing.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I have been travelling with my job for the last 34 years and have had almost 1000 hotel visits.

I have to agree 200% with the last reviewer. Great staff but the rooms are unbelievably awful.

In spite of the great location of the hotel and the excellent staff, I will not be staying there again. The wallpaper was peeling from the walls in my room. There were grubby marks all over the walls. The shower could have benefited from a large bottle of bleach to kill the mould and calcium deposits. The toilet seat had a broken hinge & one of the plastic feet was broken. Even with every light in the room on, it was still very dark.

The ‘Mini Bar’ had just two bottles of water in it and badly needed defrosting. The clock in the (empty) downstairs bar was also broken.

This hotel needs a major revamp or a very large bulldozer to knock it down!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_Burrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I've stayed in this hotel on a good number of occasions over the last 15-years or so. I did that for the sole purpose of being in a town that offers easy access to Malpensa Airport and at the same time, gives me an "extra" day in Italy without having to be at an "airport hotel." Admittedly, over those years I have overlooked this hotel's apparent efforts to win the "Longest Period of Time Without Making ANY Effort to Modernize Award." But, this last stay there prompts me to write this review. I guess that's because I believe that this hotel has, by now, earned that "award." It's very clear that the owmners are so completely devoted to not improving or modernizing...and neglecting the hotel...that staying there shouldn't really an option to any traveler, any longer. Despite the still-decent appearance of the lobby, the rooms are hopelessly unacceptable, in my estimation...and I've seen enough of them to know that this is true throughout the hotel. Aside from trite appearance of the ribbon-covered wallpaper that covers every wall and the ceiling, the fact that it is coming down from the walls and is in many places held to those walls only by some bad gluing and unpainted moldings that have been placed in the corners of the rooms, makes you feel like you're enveloped in some bad-hotel joke. And the only thing pleasant about the unbelievable poor lighting in the rooms and the bathrooms is that it makes it a wee bit more difficult to see the deep-black growth of mildew on the grouting between the shower tiles and the metel screw-heads that hold the unpainted moldings to the walls in the bathroom.

Writing this kind of review isn't pleasant for me because I have been to this hotel over the years and seen a staff that is consistently professional and accomodating. But, the condition of the rooms shouldn't be overlooked anymore. Personally, I put that in the catagory of "unacceptable." Oh, and the cobwebs on the walls in the hallways doesn't help much.

Room Tip: stay out of them all for best results.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Avrumeleh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thechefofcuneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novara
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#1 of 11 in Novara
274 reviews
1 mi away
Bella Italia Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Croce di Malta
Croce di Malta
#4 of 11 in Novara
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cavour Hotel
Cavour Hotel
#8 of 11 in Novara
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Parmigiano
Albergo Parmigiano
#5 of 11 in Novara
60 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#1 of 1 in Cameri
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Italia

Address: Via Generale Paolo Solaroli 8, 28100, Novara, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Novara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Novara
Price Range: £57 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Italia 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albergo Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Italia Hotel Novara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing