We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst hotel experience of my life” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hotel Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Park Hotel Residence
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Orbetello
Cossonay, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The worst hotel experience of my life”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We spent 10 nights there in August for a well deserved summer break.

The only positives were the cleanliness of the room and the dedicated space at the beach (wa 10 minute car drive away from the hotel, which is located in a street with no restaurants or shopping possibilities. For these you must drive or walk for 20 minutes).

Most of the staff wasn't helpful nor professional. The breakfast was the same every day, and the coffee was so bad that we had to go and drink it to a little café near the hotel. There was a swimming pool on the ads we looked at before booking. We couldn't use it because it was removed by the hotel, but we were nevertheless informed that we "didn't see ads with a swimming pool". I know what I saw since this is what made me pick your hotel, thanks. The hotel and its furniture looks old, although it is clean.

You have to know you will need to drive to do anything outside of the hotel as it is poorly located (beach 10 minutes, shopping 10 minutes, supermarket 15 minutes).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlorianKupfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    113
    64
    36
    10
See reviews for
36
135
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
331 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

A hotel that is not quite a four star hotel.
The rooms are big clean and well laid out, but its old and the bath needs to be replaced.
the wifi is good, it is walking distance to town so there are some plus points.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

On first glance this is a average hotel with great views. It is about 5 mins from the train station on line 1. Be advised if you go on a bank holiday in Italy you will not get a taxi or any help from the hotel , who has a mini bus, to get to the hotel. There seams to be only 1 staff member that can speek English and all understand enough that when you have a problem they can tell you they don't understand English. When we finally got to the hotel we were given a room with broken air conditioning no phone no light no view no balcony and no wifi. We reported the broken air conditioning right away and asked if they couldn't fix it to be moved which recived a no problem. The problem was they couldn't fix it and didn't move us. We got a €10 discount and moved the next day. Which was ok but the night we were with out AC it was 35 degrees ar night 49 in the day unseasional hot weather. We asked to book a trip to the Ilso DelGigilo , which is a service the hotel offers, but not to us.
To The location: the hotel offers a bus to the beach including umbrella and bed for up to a 3 night stay. The hotel is a 25 min bus drive on line 1 to Porta Steffano. Tickets should be bought in the mini bar across the road from the hotel I would advise you buy enough for the return as the bus driver will charge more on the bus. We made this mistake and it cost us €8 for two to get back instead of €3 for two .
We didn't find anywhere within a walk of the hotel to eat or drink. There are no shops close to buy water or drinks once the mini bar closes. There is ashop 20 min walk back towards the train station but we didn't see it till we were leaving.
We did have a really gr8 time in Porta Steffano. If we were going again I would pay the extra do a Hotel in that town as it has much more to do.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Orbetello hotels

mumbai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

The Rooms are very Spacious and breakfast is best. The price is also very reasonable . Staff cooperative.

Location is excellant and walkable from the city and Lake.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jspatelmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

When stopping on our drive from Pisa to Rome this hotel was perfect for our needs. The town is brilliant, more restaurants than you can shake a preverbial stick at. The hotel was cool and air conditioned, the staff freindly and the parking was off road and ideal. The room was very spacious with a roof top terrace that was ideal for relaxing and taking in the evening sun. I was a little let down by the lack of actual "beach" so to speak but that was my lack of research. To be perfectly honest a stay at this hotel if staying in this area is advised.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djmidgetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Orbetello's location as the gateway to Monte Argentatio makes it a good place to base yourself.

The room was fine, a decent size and clean, if a bit old fashioned. The beds/pillows were a bit too hard for my liking. We had a small balcony in our room but there were no chairs so we couldn't sit out there.

Nice roof terrace with sun loungers but no chairs, and no longer a jacuzzi. Lovely views from there over the lagoon, but I found mosquito's a pain at dusk. Also small secluded terrace downstairs, near the main stairwell. No bar facilities so you will have to bring your own drinks.

Breakfast was OK - standard continental fare. Get downstairs early if want to get some eggs and bacon as they don't seem to refill that. The breakfast waitress was very surly.

Some of the reception staff didn't speak any English which was a bit of a pain, but we managed to muddle along.

Nice to be able to park right outside, although it is first come first served, so once we had to park down a side street.

All in all, a pleasant stop and OK value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneyC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

The hotel is old and run down. The rooms are in 70's style but what that means is that nothing has been updated since then. Breakfast is in a big room lacking atmosphere, the food is fine. The room is clean and large and the shower is good. So if you don't care about the decor and style this hotel is ok.
On some websites you might see pictures of a pool, but they took that away more than a year ago. On the website we booked the hotel with they also advertised a private beach: that means that you can get a voucher to use sun beds on a beach 6km away from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safetravels_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orbetello
1.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Tris
Hotel Residence Tris
#3 of 21 in Orbetello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Fontermosa
Hotel Fontermosa
#1 of 21 in Orbetello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Il Pellicano
Hotel Il Pellicano
#1 of 7 in Porto Ercole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hotel Capo d'Uomo
Hotel Capo d'Uomo
#1 of 3 in Talamone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Biagio Relais
San Biagio Relais
#5 of 21 in Orbetello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Relais I Presidi
Hotel Relais I Presidi
#2 of 21 in Orbetello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Residence

Property: Park Hotel Residence
Address: Via Volontari del Sangue 1/A, 58015, Orbetello, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Orbetello
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Orbetello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Park Hotel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Orbetello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing