We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Hell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hell
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Ortisei
Altrincham, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for a week over Christmas 2013 and were very pleased with this hotel.
To deal with that unusual name first: Hell is a family name which also happens to mean “bright” in German, which is widely spoken here in the South Tirol. It did cause some amusement amongst our friends when we told them where we would be spending Christmas, but we were delighted with the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
In fact we were the first guests of the winter season, but everything was ready for us when we arrived early in the afternoon. Our spacious room on the second floor overlooked the village nursery ski slopes. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom included a corner bath with shower.
Meals were good: breakfast was a typical selection of cereals, yoghurt, fruit, cheese, cold meats and pastries. For the evening meal there was a choice of first and second courses plus a salad buffet, a cheese course and desert. On Christmas Eve and Christmas Day a delicious set menu of six courses was served.
The hotel stands on the river promenade, close to the swimming pool. It is built in the modern chalet style: the public rooms are large and beautifully furnished in typical Tyrolean style. In the basement there is an extensive fitness centre.
A real asset, especially in winter, was the free hotel minibus service to the ski lifts in the morning, and back to the hotel in the late afternoon, easily arranged with a quick phone call.
The hotel owners and all their staff were friendly and welcoming: we have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    25
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
36
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
chester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Fantastic location for family next the ski school. All the facility's with in walking distance. Car is parked from the day we arrive to the day we leave.
Beautiful restaurants very close, family owned,very clean and comfortable every year we can't wait to come back we love it.
Well done hotel Hell

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gianni1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herzlya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

very comfortable with beautiful rooms excellent food nice service,fitness room and jacuzi.nice grounds

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabriela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed at Hotel Hell from 21-28 January 2012 on a skiing trip. Very comfortable beds and duvets in a relatively quiet location. The hotel rooms and general areas were scrupulously clean. The hotel is a little way from the lift system but the hotel provide a shuttle bus, free of charge to transport the guests to and from the lifts. This was a very welcome service and worked efficiently - and saved us walking in ski boots. The boot room is one of the best we have seen in our skiing experience. The staff at the hotel have all worked there for years and are very friendly. Breakfast consisted of cold meats/cheeses, yoghurt, croissants, cakes and also scrambled egg with the obligatory tea and coffee. Dinner each evening consisted of five courses - salad from a buffet bar, starter, main, cheese and dessert. On the last evening, there were canapes and aperitifs laid on for the guests prior to dinner. The house wine was a very good quality and inexpensive. All in all, for the price paid, we thought Hotel Hell was very good value for money. Don't be put off by the name! .... the Hotel is named after the proprietors.

Room Tip: If you want a bath in your bedroom, make sure you state this on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetcaudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Hell (German for "bright", not the English variety) is a four star hotel in one of the prettiest valleys in in the Italian Dolomites. It is a modern hotel efficiently run, equipped with an excellent kitchen. The service was courteous, the amenities more than sufficient, and the price adequate. The room we occupied was spacious and quiet, although in the middle of the village, not far from a motorway (double glazing). All in all it was a pleasant holiday and we enjoyed it thouroughly. We highly recommend Hotel Hell to your readers.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShlomoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
0.1 mi away
Classic Hotel am Stetteneck
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Mondschein
Hotel Luna Mondschein
#11 of 46 in Ortisei
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#28 of 46 in Ortisei
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#14 of 46 in Ortisei
220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grien
Grien
#12 of 46 in Ortisei
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpenhotel Rainell
Alpenhotel Rainell
#30 of 46 in Ortisei
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hell

Property: Hotel Hell
Address: Promenade 3, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Ortisei
#20 Spa Hotel in Ortisei
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hell 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the splendid setting of Val Gardena, the city of Ortisei is home to the cozy 4-star Hotel Hell, your ideal Dolomites vacation hotel all year round. Offering top-quality comforts and services, Hotel Hell is ideally located downtown on the promenade to Piazza Sant’Antonio and between the two ski lifts to the snow-covered Siusi Alps. The blooming summer fields surrounding the hotel serve is the starting point for excursions and walks along the most breathtaking and enchanting itineraries in the Dolomites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hell Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing