We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel ever in the Italian Dolimites”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Grones

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Grones
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence
Longcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best hotel ever in the Italian Dolimites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We have just returned from a family holiday at Hotel Grones. I have to say this is the best skiing hotel we have ever stayed in. Michelin star type food, wow it was tasty. Great bedroom. Fantastic spa, sauna and steam room. The kids loved the pool. All the staff and owners could not have been more hospitable. Highly recommend this newly updated hotel. There isalso a hotel minibus which delivers and takes you to the ski lift. All you do is telephone Peter the driver, wait 5 minutes and is there helping you.

Skiing and village also lovely. This hotel should be 5 star, the facilities are good enough. And the food should be Michelin 2 star. Breakfast also an amazing gastro delight. Wow what more can I say hotel fantastic highly recommend

Room Tip: We stayed in room 406
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GeorgeP284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    55
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
175
177
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

This hotel is very good generally but there are some drawbacks. First and foremost the public areas are all on one joined level. The issue is that any very young children could be and were running around in the dining room in the evening, their play area is near to the bar and if you are unfortunate to stay in a week when parents do not wish to control their children, then your stay may be less than relaxing. Food is of a high standard but is often complex and with no choice on two of the four courses, you may find it not ideal. Otherwise, a friendly helpful attentive family service appreciated by all.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freshmuesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

I cannot say enough about the Grones. The facility is recently renovated and the owners must have spent a fortune. It is beautiful and spotless. The quality of the facilities, the furnishings and the woodwork are top notch. The hotel gives a very comfortable feel and is very welcoming. From the time you enter you are greeted and feel like a guest. Although it has a small hotel, B&B feel you are never bothered by the owners. We also really appreciated the focus on energy conservation and sustainability within the design of the hotel.

The hotel is run by a family. They along with their small staff have looked after every detail to make your stay perfect. There are signs identifying the amenities, rooms and direction in 3 languages. For those who have travelled in other places in Europe, you will understand how this signage is extremely helpful. In this part of Italy, the local language is Ladin. The locals speak three languages: Ladin, Italian and German. We did find it helpful to have an Italian or German speaker in your party. Although the staff, especially the front desk person spoke perfect English, we found just getting around the area was easier with an Italian speaker.

With half board you receive a very well stocked European style breakfast. Made to order eggs or omelets are an option. Each morning you choose your dinner which is also part of the board and served in the spacious dining room. Your family has an assigned table for your stay. The view from the dining area is wonderful. Lunch is on your own.

The Family’s son in law is the head chef. As a self-proclaimed foodie, I must say the meals are excellent. The quality, preparation and sauces are worth a visit just for the food. Additionally, they have a nice cellar of local wines on site and the wait staff is extremely knowledgably about the wines and suggested pairings. One final word about the food is the service. The staff could not have been more helpful and attentive when needed.

From a meal selection perspective, my wife and I enjoyed it, but beware if you have any picky teenage Americans. Some of the dish selections were “creative” for some American pallets. During the first night we went to town for dinner as our girls (17 and 14) did not find the choices to their likings. The staff clearly told us they would make something special if we did not like anything or had any dietary restrictions, and I believe they meant it. The other two nights the found something and very much enjoyed it.

One evening during the week, the owners hosted an evening cocktail and dinner party which was focused on the local region including their foods, music and culture. We were all invited down for gratis local cocktails and hors d'oeuvres while being serenaded by a local gentleman on an accordion. The owners made the rounds toasting and welcoming every person and family. The meal which followed also had plenty of local flavors and did not disappoint.

There is a Pool and various Saunas at the Hotel converting this primarily winter destination into a very relaxing summer retreat. The Sauna’s were well marked and your room is already stocked with robes and slippers for your use. BEWARE Americans. Saunas in this part of the world are normally used Nude. The Sauna’s are great and well maintained. One other hint. At the front desk there are small piggy banks labeled for the staff so you can leave gratuities. They All deserve them.

The town of Ortesei is very charming. Great shopping, good restaurants and plenty to see and do from a nature perspective. A very short walk down the hill from Grones and you can jump on a number of very exciting Gondolas, cable cars and a veniculars to the top of many of the Dolomite Peaks. Hikers love the place but even my family who “hike” in tennis shoes enjoyed many a stroll. We recommend you pay the one price for cable rides. Taking 3 rides makes it worthwhile. They are exhilarating and breathtaking. We also spent a day horseback riding though some foothills with a local guide about 15 mins drive away. The driving is challenging due to the mountainous conditions. Some day we would love return to region and if we do, we WILL return to Grones.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the mountain are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We just came back from a visit to La Garda Lake and the Dolomites. On the way we stayed at hotel Grones 2 nights and there is nothing that we can add to all the recommendations and praise of travellers who stayed there before . It is a gem of hotel and the the hotel deserve tripadvisor certificate of excellence. One thing that we could add is that the family who runs the hotel is so nice and warm that you feel as if you were their own personal visitiors. They take care of all your requests and try that your stay in their hotel and your visit to Ortisei and surroundings will be perfect and it was!

Room Tip: We liked the superior room with the big bakcony but we were shown other rooms and they were all good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFrankel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
447 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

I travel a great deal for both business and pleasure, and it is rare that I encounter a hotel that is 100% perfect in every sense. Such is the case with Hotel Grones, which I booked for three nights in October, having read all the TripAdvisor positive reviews. It's all been said by other reviewers, but I will offer my comments as well.

Hotel Grones is family run hotel who pay a great deal of attention to details, from welcoming guests upon arrival, to cleanliness of public areas, decorations and special events which focus on regional foods and wines. I truly felt welcomed though out my entire stay and the staff was always ready to assist in any way possible. We wanted to attend a local concert which featured local folk music and the staff made calls and obtained all the information we needed and provided directions to the event.

Our room, a superior double, was spacious, nicely decorated and spotless. Everything seemed to very new. The bed was comfortable and topped with down-filled comforter and fitted with quality linens. We had a balcony overlooking the town of Ortisei and it was nice to sit outdoors and take in the breathtaking mountain scenery. The flat screen television and free Internet access was top quality. The bathroom featured a good shower and was equipped with all the amenities one would expect to find in a four-star hotel.

On our first evening, Hotel Grones provided a complimentary Happy Hour, complete with drinks and a fine selection of finger foods that focused on local cuisine. We had not planned on dining at the hotel, though we changed our minds after sampling the skillfully prepared finger foods. I am glad that we did because the hotel's restaurant was excellent, from food quality to the very attentive service provided by Tatiana, Stephanie and Angelo. The price for dinner was impressively reasonable (15 euro). We missed the second night's diner due to our attending the concert, however, we enjoyed our meal on Sunday, which was a special, multi-course, Gala Dinner.

The hotel's indoor swimming pool and spa were delightful to enjoy after a day of hiking on the surrounding mountains. The spa was nicely decorated with illuminated candles, soft music in the background and featured a Finnish sauna, a Bio sauna and a Turkish bath. All were very clean as were the showers. (Try the bucket of water rinse in one of the showers. A suspended wooded bucket of water empties on you when you pull the chain.)

The breakfast buffet was well stocked and you could also order eggs (fried, scrambled or an omelet.) Breakfast was a great way to start the day before going out to explore Val Gardena and Ortisei.

There was ample indoor, underground parking, which was free of charge. There were several outdoors-sitting areas on the property where you could either sunbathe or enjoy pre-diner cocktail. My compliments go out to the entire family and staff at Hotel Grones and I highly recommend this hotel when visiting Ortisei.

Room Tip: Our room was a superior double, overlooking Ortisei and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirto56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Just came back from a perfect stay at Hotel Grones. We upgraded to superior room which had gorgeous views. Everything from gracious staff, charming decor and upscale amenities made our stay wonderful. Food was amazing from the tremendous salad bar to delicious and beautifully garnished 5 courses. service outstanding. We also enjoyed some special touches such as a visiting Austrian acapello group staying at hotel which broke into beautiful songs while eating, also we experienced their "Austrian night" on Fridays where they have accordion player, appetizers and their special drinks free for guests in their bar/lobby before dinner. They also had a special touch for me when they had found out it was my birthday. It was our favorite stay of our 3 week trip. One day it rained all day and just enjoyed hotel all day with their gorgeous views thru out hotel and enjoyed the wonderful spa.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior room as view was excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lg2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I agree with all the praise for Hotel Grones from other posters; Hotel Grones and family deserve it! They want you to have a perfect vacation in Ortisei and that is what we had thanks to them and their attentive care. We booked a Superior room which was large with a balcony overlooking the valley and mountains above. The interior was fresh and clean and decorated in the local style with lots of natural wood.
Before we arrived we were concerned that we would be eating all of our meals there. I can't imagine dining anywhere else. Chef Roman prepares a very high level cuisine, and is a creative chef who offers a great variety of dishes to choose from each night.
Monica at the front desk mapped out suggested hikes for us down to the tiniest detail for each day, taking into consideration our limitations that we shared with her. We were very pleased with all of them. They have bikes and hiking poles for guests' use. The large indoor pool is a delight.
The hotel is perched on the mountainside but there is a pedestrian path right below the hotel that leads you to a series of escalators to the village below. Everything in Ortisei is well thought out and pleasant.

Room Tip: The Superior room was large and included a sofa and easy chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuQue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
2.5 mi away
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Angelo Engel
Hotel Angelo Engel
#4 of 48 in Ortisei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpin Garden Wellness Resort - Adults Only
1.3 mi away
Hotel Digon
Hotel Digon
#11 of 48 in Ortisei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grones

Property: Hotel Grones
Address: Via Stufan 110, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
#3 Family Hotel in Ortisei
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ortisei
#5 Spa Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grones 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grones is a recently built 4-star hotel located in Ortisei in Val Gardena, surrounded by the famous Dolomite Mountains. The family-run Hotel Grones offers tranquil accommodation and spa services such as swimmingpool, whirlpool, saunas and steam bath in an ideal setting: panoramic, quiet and sunny, only 5-6 minutes walking from the center of Ortisei town! 23 spacious rooms, all with balcony or garden. Garage parking place included in price. Try our gourmet kitchen: various and elaborated menus with high quality products and homemade specialities will surprise you day by day! We look forward to meet you! Fam. Grones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Grones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grones Hotel Ortisei
Hotel Grones Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing