We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place in a breathtaking setting”
Review of Hotel Grones

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Grones
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We absolutely loved our stay at the Grones and wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel is modern but cosy, the service was superb (a special thank you must go to the girls in the restaurant who were wonderful with our daughter Sofia). It ain't cheap but if you want to treat yourself, I couldn't recommend it more highly. The walks in the surrounding area are great too, although be careful not to overstretch yourselves like we did on Day 1!
Lots of other people have mentioned the food and we have to agree - the food is top drawer!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deepster24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2009

wonderful hotel...be certain to eat dinner there....the food is superb...and unbelievably reasonably priced...the chef could stand up to the french laundry and gary danko ...and take the chairlift that you view from the hotel and when you arrive you can walk 40 minutes to a refugio/hut that has the best apple struedel ever! . and the indoor pool is large , light, and well maintained...perfect after hiking...

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trekandtreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Stayed here last year - sorry it's taken so long to write a review, but I feel the Hotel needed a review as we had a wonderful stay here.
I dealt direct with the Hotel, all emails were answered promptly & they had no problem dealing with our unusal arrival day (Tuesday - most Hotels prefer a Staurday to Saturday.) The Hotel had recently been refurbished to a VERY high standard.
The location is good (views lovely.)You can get the bus right outside the door or conditions permitting ski on the footpath down to the travelling walkway that takes you up to the gondola.
The room was very spacious with a large balcony looking towards the valley & the mountains. It had every mod- con you could think of, the bathroom was particularly impressive.
The Hotel has an absolutley GORGEOUS spa/ swimming pool area. It had 2 saunas, 1 steam room (maybe two I can't remember) a quiet lounge area & a lovely swimming pool with wonderful views. All brand new & very tastfully done.
Now, to the food. I could write a whole review on just the food. We stayed (as most people do) on a Half Board basis. The food was beyond all expections it was SUPERB. We had our own little menu written in English every day (everybody had their menu in their own language - I checked) & although sometimes the direct translation sounded a bit odd, what came out was exceptional. The dining experience was faultless. Infact the whole experience was faultless.
The Hotel is run by the Family Grones who you see everyday & are very friendly, especially the daughter who appers to be the General Manager & on the premises every hour of the day. Their personal service is also exceptional.
Overall this was a first class experience at a reasonable price. A real gem of a find.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clairebeariom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2008

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JS200862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Alias34632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Skendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2008

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank wurdguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
2.5 mi away
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
0.5 mi away
Hotel Angelo Engel
Hotel Angelo Engel
#3 of 45 in Ortisei
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Mondschein
Hotel Luna Mondschein
#6 of 45 in Ortisei
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpin Garden Wellness Resort - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grones

Address: Via Stufan 110, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
#3 Family Hotel in Ortisei
#5 Spa Hotel in Ortisei
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range: £199 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grones 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, cosy, Family-run 4stars Hotel in a very quiet and central Position of Ortisei! High Quality cuisine with homemade specialties! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grones Hotel Ortisei
Hotel Grones Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing